We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Atlantis Copacabana
Ranked #89 of 283 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 23, 2013

This unique and great property is situated in a very convienent location between Copacabana and Ipanema beaches. you can literally walk to all sights in both areas easily from your hotel. The area around the hotel is safe and very tourist friendly. There are many restaruants and unique shops to browse Of course the beaches are the main attraction and people watching is a delight in this diverse enviroment. Reservations are easily made electronically and English is spoken. Hotel staff were very helpful with directions etc Rooms on the small size but were comfortable and adequately equipped. The cost of accomodation was a good value for this location.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 482fredb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,362)
There are newer reviews for Atlantis Copacabana
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

140 - 146 of 1,362 reviews

Reviewed November 13, 2013

This hotel has clean simple rooms, helpful staff and a superb location right next to both Copacabana and Ipanema. Busses to Corcovado and Sugerloaf runs one block away.
Perfect pricing if you are not planning on spending a lot of time in your room.
A small pool and a seaview from the roof.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank yourstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013

Me and my friend booked the superior sea view room on the 11th floor. The room was basic and at first we were happy with it. The second day we were hit by rain, the room floor was filled with water due to gaps in the window, in addition the wind was making the windows shake pretty loudly. When we asked the hotel reception to change rooms they refused and accused us that the window was left open. Nevertheless, they advised the manager will be in the next day. So we had no choice but leave our room full of puddle and go out to avoid the noise from the wind. The next day we asked the manager to kindly fix it, but for some reason the lady manager Maria (short light brown hair) decided to shout at us for no reason in Portuguese and left us speechless. We asked for our money back to Change hotels, the whole staff laughed at us. The manager said I have no interest in this and the other guy said in Brazil we have not such thing as compensation whilst laughing as well. On our last day they charged us extra for telephone calls we did not make!! When we refused the manager again started shouting at us in Portuguese so I ended up paying just to avoid the stress. It's a shame because I thought rio was getting ready for World Cup... Clearly no tourists are welcome in this city.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nazanin N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Location is great, you can walk even during the evening to many restaurants and nice places and Both Ipanema and Copacabana beaches (5 min each from the hotel)
Residential quite neighborhood, taxi and bus available very close, stores, restaurants etc very close. A bike rental store 4 minutes away.
The hotel itself is a cheap, uncharming 3 star that would cost 40-50 € in Spain, so its very expensive actually, (>150 $ the cheapest room) but this is Rio.
Room was small and very noisy, A/C was noisy, and if you turn it off trying to sleep, you can hear the one from neighbor´s rooms, unbeliavable!! Clean and comfortable bed.
Breakfast nothing special.
I would only consider to come back at this hotel because of price, since prices in Rio are outrageous.
Overall it was not a bad experience, since the location is great and you do not spend a lot of the time at your hotel in Rio !!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank noctiluca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

We stayed for three nights in this centrally situated hotel, which was a good starting point for discovering Rio de Janeiro. The room was spacious and clean - although the shower may have needed some refurbishment. We had a quiet room looking to the backyard. Breakfast was very rich and there are just some simple things which left unpleasant memories. The 220-V socket in the room did not work (although present) and we were sent to the kitchen for charging the mobile phone battery. For the first time during all our journeys the Reception refused printing our boarding passes (although WiFi was for free) and sent us to an Internet shop. The large TV screen was of no use because there was no one single station in English.
However, the site of the hotel is extremely practical because the beaches of Ipanema and Copacabana are in walking distance. There are plenty of restaurants close to the hotel. And there is public transport to the main attractions of Rio: Take bus No. 511 or 512 to the Sugar Loaf and bus No. 584 to the monument of Jesus Christ at the Corcovado. This transport is comfortable and safe and the ride costs just 2.75 Reals. The bus stop is just one block away from the hotel (Reinha Elisabeth). Why to buy an expensive excursion for tourists?
Very nice is the idea to decorate trees along the street with orchids - this gives the right exotic flair.

Room Tip: Ask for a room to the backyard - it is quiet but the view is not very attractive.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank choerig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

I booked this hotel for a week going by the reviews on TA but was highly disappointed. Okay it is a reasonable one but service was not at all up to the mark. Location was convenient and our cab dropped us in no time. The building was well maintained from outside but we were shocked by the interiors. It was a smooth check in and we got the keys for a room on second floor. Room was clean but just can’t ignore the size. It was a discomfort for both my wife as well as me. There was wi-fi (free of cost) but equal to nil. I couldn’t send a single mail from the room. After a cat nap we took to the reception and asked for an upgrade but they just ignored it saying no big room was available. It is the costliest hotel I must say but service don’t match our expectations. Only relief was the breakfast which was good. We cut short a week’s plan to 3 nights and left early morning. It is 3 star hotel but still look for some better option around.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank elia a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

We chose this hotel for our honeymoon after reading all of the reviews on Tripadvisor, so here I go with the ups and downs!

Positives:
*Really excellent location
*Copacabana and Ipanema are both a 5 minute walk
*A number of restaurants in the vicinity
*Zona Sul Supermarket just a 2 minute walk at the end of the street
*Excellent selection at breakfast - including fruit, cereal, meat, eggs, breads, pastries and cheeses
*Excellent price
*Most of the staff are lovely and very happy to help with any queries
*Seems like a safe neighbourhood, there was a police car at the end of the street most days
*The Tours you could book through reception
*Very good sized powerful shower
*Good sized fridge you can store food in

Negatives:
*Every morning we were woken up either by the cleaners in the hallway or by other guests - from 6 am onwards, you could hear their alarms going off in the morning and this was frustrating. As it was our honeymoon it would have been nice to have a bit of a lay on as we are up at 5 am every morning for work at home. The noise probably would not have been a problem if we had not booked this place for over 2 weeks.

*The Deluxe Room didnt seem like anything special for the additional price, the bed consisted of 2 single beds put together - which seems to be the norm in most foreign countries - but this does not constitute as deluxe to me.

*The lifts were a bit slow from time to time

*The WiFi was very up and down - it was impossible to get a constant signal from it.

*Bar on roof - this was not open throughout our time here, but perhaps it only opens in a certain season?

Overall this is a decent hotel but I wouldn't recommend for a long stay if you are fond of a good sleep!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 1007 which was a deluxe seaview room, in my opinion it wasn't worth the extra...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank L G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Copacabana
Orla Copacabana Hotel
Orla Copacabana Hotel
#81 of 283 in Rio de Janeiro
1,410 reviews
Copacabana
Copacabana Rio Hotel
Copacabana Rio Hotel
#73 of 283 in Rio de Janeiro
1,052 reviews
Copacabana
Copacabana Sol Hotel
Copacabana Sol Hotel
#139 of 283 in Rio de Janeiro
488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Copacabana
Windsor Copa Hotel
Windsor Copa Hotel
#43 of 283 in Rio de Janeiro
1,046 reviews
Copacabana
Hotel Mar Palace Copacabana
Hotel Mar Palace Copacabana
#46 of 283 in Rio de Janeiro
855 reviews
Copacabana
Copacabana Suites by Atlantica
Copacabana Suites by Atlantica
#93 of 283 in Rio de Janeiro
829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantis Copacabana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantis Copacabana

Address: Rua Bulhoes de Carvalho 61, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22081-000, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana , Lagoa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#43 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#46 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range: $60 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Atlantis Copacabana 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Atlantis Copacabana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantis Copacabana Hotel Rio De Janeiro
Atlantis Copacabana Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing