We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nothing good about this hotel except for the location” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Atlantis Copacabana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Atlantis Copacabana
Ranked #89 of 280 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Nothing good about this hotel except for the location”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

Dont book this hotel if you are getting a room more than 100 USD. Although the location of the hotel is nice, the room and servicer were terrible and not worth paying more than 100USD. We reached the hotel 1hr early (after a long 10hr flight) before the 2pm checkin time and the front desk told us to wait till 2pm (which is fine as its stated in their policy). Right after us another couple were checking in and they were given the room right then and there. When we questioned the front desk told us that they had booked a superior room. SERIOUSLY!!! Their 2pm policy is same for all the rooms. They could have been polite or offered us atleast a glass of water for waiting or even just said that our room is getting ready rather than just saying that we were in a less superior room! When we got our room at 2pm we were really angry seeing what we got after paying 220 USD for 1 night. The room was terrible with below average bed sheets and an unclean bathroom. All i would say to my fellow travelers is to avoid this hotel and stay only if you have low budget and can get a room less than 100 USD here

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank M S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    692
    263
    41
    32
See reviews for
280
479
78
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Haugesund, Norway
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

The hotel location is a few blocks from Copacabana and Ipanema beaches (thus between). The view was close to nothing, even though my room was almost at the top. Just stayed a couple of nights, but the service did not impress. The room was good standard for a three-star Rio hotel. Breakfast was limited, but a huge plus for having real scrambled eggs, and not the horrible powder which some hotels have.

All in all it was a good hotel for a three star Rio hotel (a city of which you normally can deduct a star), but the price was so high that I decided to go with the average rating.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1V1VVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

This hotel was ok - rooms were basic but fine and breakfast was ok also. Unfortunately the staff were terrible - devoid of any personality. My sister had an accident while we were staying there - she was hit by a wave on Copacabana beach and ended up in hospital for 4 days. The first night I returned from the hospital around midnight and explained what had happened - no comment whatsoever and when I asked if there was anywhere I could get something to eat I was told "Restaurant is closed". Until I checked out two nights later there was no query about my sister or if there was anything they could do to make my stay any easier. I never encountered such rude behavior in my life.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank valuable186600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

The location of this hotel is great for visiting both Ipanema and Copacabana.
The reception and staff was so helpful. They even called and reserved a table for us at the restaurant we want to eat at, drew directions etc. Good breakfast. We were a big group of friends staying together so the roof terrace was great for having a few beers in the evening and deciding on where to go/what to do.

Room Tip: Our room faced inwards so no view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank srwatson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
143 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

Apart from a longish wait in the lobby before or room was ready, with no offer to look after our bags (we had to ask for a drink and a snack) the hotel ticked all the boxes.

I was a little concerned about the condensation dripping from the air conditioning units (? Legionella risk).

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank petermbenglish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niles, Ohio
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

I recently attended a seminar in Rio de Janeiro. I did not pick the hotel that we stayed in, but I was very pleased with the hotel. Atlantis Copacabana was conveniently located near both Copacabana and Ipanema Beaches. They are both within a few blocks walking. The area also was very safe. I did try to avoid looking like a tourist, but I never felt unsafe at night. The staff were also very friendly and able to speak English if you are not fluent in Portuguese. They were very helpful with opening a wine bottle, storing luggage the day we left the hotel, giving directions and more. The rooms are pretty basic, but get the job done. The air conditioning in my room was not the best, but I was in it for such a short period of time that it was not an issue. The rooms did include a fridge. In addition a grocery store is just a block away. The included breakfast has a range of options including eggs, an assortment of breads/pastries, yogurt, cereal, breakfast meat, coffee, tea and more. The rooftop view of the ocean is AMAZING!

Room Tip: Ask for a room that has a view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank socgrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

After reading some reviews , I was expecting our room to be dated . I was pleasantly surprised it was lovely. Rooms were cleaned and towels changed everyday.
Breakfast was ok if you like fruit for breakfast there was a wide variety, yogurts were available . The bread wasn't too my taste. Juices available and cereal . On the hot breakfast scramble eggs and some Frankfurt sausages .

We stayed in 708 which had wifi box outside the room, so the connection was excellent and FREE.

staff were helpful and always greeted us entering and leaving the hotel.if you can't speak Portuguese use google translate and show them the translation worked wonders .

Views from the top of the hotel rooftop were excellent

Location is perfect in between Impanema and Copacabana .
Felt very safe in the area. Taxi to Gigi airport from Hotel 50real

At the end of the street 20 steps from hotel , is a local bar friendly and do great Caiprinhas a nice place bar a night cap.

Great place overall

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Curlywhurly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Ipanema
Hotel Arpoador
Hotel Arpoador
#18 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 786 reviews
Ipanema
Ipanema Inn
Ipanema Inn
#10 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,304 reviews
Copacabana
Copacabana Praia Hotel
Copacabana Praia Hotel
#87 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
3.5 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Copacabana
Mercure Rio de Janeiro Arpoador Hotel
Mercure Rio de Janeiro Arpoador ...
#107 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
3.5 of 5 bubbles 721 reviews
Ipanema
Aparthotel Adagio Rio de Janeiro Ipanema
Aparthotel Adagio Rio de Janeiro...
#125 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
3.5 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
Copacabana
Orla Copacabana Hotel
Orla Copacabana Hotel
#79 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantis Copacabana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantis Copacabana

Property: Atlantis Copacabana
Address: Rua Bulhoes de Carvalho 61, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22081-000, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Ipanema , Lagoa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#43 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#46 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Atlantis Copacabana 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Atlantis Copacabana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantis Copacabana Hotel Rio De Janeiro
Atlantis Copacabana Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing