We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“location location location”
Review of Hotel Arpoador

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Arpoador
Ranked #23 of 282 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
netherlands
Level Contributor
123 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“location location location”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

The rooms are clean and the beds are nice. The breakfast is quite satisfying and the shower as can be expected.......the best feature however is the view. If you can then book a sea view room. Of course not the cheapest one but you are ON the beach which is not an everyday thing in Rio. Ipanema and Copacobana are within waling distance...........hence the title.........

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hansNetherlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel G, Manager at Hotel Arpoador, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your preference and for the amazing comments regarding your recent stay with us.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

My kindest regards,

Daniel Gorin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

794 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    307
    335
    111
    21
    20
See reviews for
160
322
79
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Reception was very welcoming and English speaking. Room was clean and comfortable and included free wireless connection, TV and a fridge. Had air conditioning but unit was relatively noisy. However since AC could be switched off and windows could be opened this was fine. The hotel is unique for Ipanema (where it is located) or Copacabana, in that it is located directly at the beach front. All other hotels are behind the main road and further away from the beach. This means that one can have breakfast and dinner looking directly at the sea (while surfing on the free wireless connection...) which is very pleasant. The breakfast was included in the price and was buffet style with a variety of standard and Brazilian food options, very good value. I had dinner there once. The restaurant is specialised in Brazilian seafood, and of very good quality and good service, but it is not cheap. However I found it was worth it.

So all in all a hotel I can highly recommend particularly for travelers who want to be right on the beach.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank debjar111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel G, Manager at Hotel Arpoador, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for recommending ARPOADOR INN to travellers all around the world.

It is great to learn how much you have enjoyed our high level of services in this idyllic setting that the Arpoador neighbourhood is - a peninsula sticking out of famous Ipanema beach.

We hope to welcome you back again soon.

My kindest regards,

Daniel Gorin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

Amazing location and great service. Great breakfast and strong wifi (both included). The rooms are slightly small and I found the laundry service extremely over-priced, but we will absolutely stay here again. Highly recommend this venue.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank UDenver20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel G, Manager at Hotel Arpoador, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your preference and for recommending ARPOADOR INN to travellers around the world.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed our courtesy breakfast buffet, served in the restaurant facing the beach, and the courtesy wifi internet throughout the hotel.

If you are looking for even more space, we are happy to recommend you one of our Deluxe rooms, larger, next time you visit Rio. Thank you for your compliments to our location and service.

My very best wishes,

Daniel Gorin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Distrito Federal, Mexico
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2013

The location is the best! And the breakfast buffet is really good but the price is a little expensive for the rooms, thay are a bit old and it's terrible that you have to leave the key when you leave every time.

Room Tip: Choose a room with ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AdrianaSSP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel G, Manager at Hotel Arpoador, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your enthusiastic review regarding your recent stay with us at ARPOADOR INN.

I would be thankful if you could clarify what was mentioned about the key, as this is not our procedure. At check in, each guest is given an individual key card.

Thank you also for suggesting our Deluxe rooms to travellers around the world. Staying there is, in fact part of the experience, as you can see the amazing beaches of Ipanema and Leblon from your room window.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

My kindest regards,

Daniel Gorin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2013

A very nice hotel with superb views of Ipanema and the lookout point at Arpoador. The location is great not only for the beach but both Ipanema and Copacabana neighborhoods are within walking distance. The room was very clean and updated and the service was excellent. Breakfast was also very nice with various hot and cold selections and the dining room overlooks the beach.
2 Negative points were that there is no swimming pool and late checkout is not permitted unless you want to pay 1/2 day room rate.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LawrenceM0763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel G, Manager at Hotel Arpoador, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for the great comments regarding your recent stay with us, at ARPOADOR INN.

We are delighted to hear how joyful you found our location, walking distance from Ipanema and Copacabana neighbourhoods, and literally on Arpoador beach. Thank you very much for the amazing compliments to our housekeeping and restaurant teams. Your compliments were transmitted to them, who look forward to welcoming you back again at ARPOADOR INN.

My kindest regards,

Daniel Gorin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jablonec nad Nisou, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2013

That hotel is really excellent. It is not so big, we prefer smaller, and it was really this. Excellent is service, staff, location, breakfast.... For us the more important thing was the staff talks and understands english, beceause it is not so usually in Rio. They could recommend where to go, to stay, how to catch buses, how much it is, how to get there.....they were prepared to help us. Of course, there was Wi-Fi and it was really working. As we arrived late after midnight, there was any problém to accomodate us, cards for our rooms were prepared, we just signed forms and we could go to the room. No delay. The saff was very polite at that late time as well.
Every morning we could start a day with breakfast and to see to the ocean, to sid in front the hotel on the ocean side. It was really beautiful to see it.
Our room was not so large, but we didn´t need it just for overnight sleeping, there was nice bathroom and also a fridge. Both beds were good, we slept there as at home. The room was cleaning every day and it was also in order.
For swimming in the ocean you get towels at the desk, you don´t have take your owner or from the room. Just ask there. The beach is really near...several steps and you are there.
As I have already written, the location is really good advanced value for this hotel. Copacabana and Ipanema is only a few steps and other sights are available by metro or bus and it is not so far from there.
The another good thing is that there is not any major roads between the hotel and the beach, there is only a small local road where you can meet only a few cars per a day.
We stayed there for 7 nights.
Of course, there is not any swimming poll, large lobby or others thing what are usually in hotels with more stars, but as I have already written we didn´t need them, we didn´t wanted to stay at the hotel for during days, we wanted to have a good room with service, breakfast, location and everything this we had.
Go there and stay there as well. We recommend it to you.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sonka1404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel G, Manager at Hotel Arpoador, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear guest,

We are very honoured by your comments, regarding your recent visit to Rio de Janeiro.
Thank you very much for your preference at staying at ARPOADOR INN.

Your compliments to our staff were transmitted to them, who were very happy to be able to assist you while you were a guest with us. It is fantastic to our Front Desk team to be able to help shaping our guests holidays and stays in Rio de Janeiro, by providing them with as much information as needed.

I am glad that you noticed that most of our staff is fluent in English, as the hotel management has recently started offering classes to them. Thank you for your rich description of our rooms and services, such as the beach service: umbrellas and towels are courtesy to our guests.

We hope to welcome you back soon at ARPOADOR INN, when you will be able to enjoy our prime location, literally in front of the beach, and just a few steps from the ocean.

My kindest regards,
Daniel Gorin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easterton Uk
2 reviews
Reviewed October 31, 2013

We have stayed at Arpoador on both our visits to Rio. It was recommended by friends and we have recommended it to others. We liked a room with a sea view, we liked the food and in particular we liked the location with no major road between hotel and beach. If you want spas, swimming pools and the extravaganza of a 5 star hotel, this is not for you. If you like the simpler things done well, this is for you.

Room Tip: Get a room with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keith J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel G, Manager at Hotel Arpoador, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for the fantastic comments about our hotel ARPOADOR INN, recently posted after your visit to Rio de Janeiro.

I am personally very happy to hear how much you and your friends enjoy the warm simplicity offered here. In fact our Deluxe rooms, which overlook the iconic beaches of Arpoador, Ipanema and Leblon are fantastic.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

My very best wishes,
Daniel Gorin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Ipanema
Ipanema Inn
Ipanema Inn
#12 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,351 reviews
Ipanema
Arena Ipanema Hotel
Arena Ipanema Hotel
#60 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
Ipanema
Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Ipanema
Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Ipanema
#36 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Copacabana
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
#3 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,345 reviews
Ipanema
BEST WESTERN Premier Arpoador Fashion Hotel
BEST WESTERN Premier Arpoador Fa...
#5 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
Ipanema
Hotel Fasano Rio de Janeiro
Hotel Fasano Rio de Janeiro
#6 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Arpoador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Arpoador

Property: Hotel Arpoador
Address: Rua Francisco Otaviano 177 | Arpoador, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22080-046, Brazil (Formerly Arpoador Inn)
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Ipanema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#27 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Arpoador 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the most beautiful neighbourhood in the whole of Rio de Janeiro, HOTEL ARPOADOR is the only hotel in town literally located on the beach. This idyllic area, located in the intersection of the famous Ipanema and Copacabana neighborhoods, is a peninsula with its own beach and park. The hotel offers comfortable suites, decorated in a simple sophistication, with plenty of Brazilian hardwood and white walls. Our teams are always ready to assist you in every means. HOTEL ARPOADOR Where the City meets the Sea ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Arpoador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arpoador Hotel Rio De Janeiro
Hotel Arpoador Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing