We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best location on Ipenema beach” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Arpoador

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Arpoador
Ranked #18 of 280 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
bucks
Level Contributor
227 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Best location on Ipenema beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

Great location with only a walkway between hotel and beach, unlike all other hotels that have a busy rood between them and the beach. We had a nice big sea view room which was clean, although bathroom could do with a refurb. Breakfast good with a really nice fruit salad. Reception staff all very helpful.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank loobyBucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel G, Manager at Hotel Arpoador, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for the lovely comments regarding your recent stay with us, at ARPOADOR INN. It is great to hear how much you have enjoyed the view from your apartment's window.
To stay in a Deluxe Sea View apartment is, in fact, a unique experience.

We hope to be able to welcome you again soon, while we plan the renovation of some parts of the hotel, including the bathrooms, for an even greater comfort.

My very best wishes,

Daniel Gorin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

786 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    301
    334
    110
    21
    20
See reviews for
158
320
79
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moncton, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

The hotel was in a perfect location right on Ipanema Beach, and just a few minutes away from great food and shopping. The rooms were bright and clean, the staff were incredibly courteous and helpful. The experience was great overall.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank MentalWhale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel G, Manager at Hotel Arpoador, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your comments regarding your recent stay with us.
We were thrilled to hear how much you have enjoyed our location and level of services and hope to welcome you soon at ARPOADOR INN.

My kindest regards,

Daniel Gorin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

It's a great location on Ipanema (which I prefer personally to Copacabana). The staff that this hotel are very friendly and helpful. Two thumbs up for Diego! The rooms are small but were clean. The restaurant was OK. A bit overpriced, but the breakfast buffet prepared each morning with fresh bread and juices was very good.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Patsy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel G, Gerente at Hotel Arpoador, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your superb review about ARPOADOR INN.

I am glad that you have enjoyed our location as much as you enjoyed our great level of services.
Your compliments were transmitted to the teams at the hotel, who look forward to welcoming you back soon in Rio de Janeiro.

My kindest regards,

Daniel Gorin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is in the best location. The hotel staff were friendly and very helpful. Stefano was always willing to assist us, thank you for your hospitality. The rooms were clean and well equipped. The restaurant staff were not very friendly. I would definately recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Loretta V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel G, Gerente at Hotel Arpoador, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for the preference and for the kind comments regarding your recent stay with us, at ARPOADOR INN.

We are indeed located in an incredibly special location, literally in front of the sea.
Your compliments were transmitted to our staff, who look forward to welcoming you back to Rio de Janeiro soon.

My kindest regards,

Daniel Gorin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

We spent a week at the Arpoador Inn and it was fantastic! By far the best location in Rio, its literally right next to the beach. The service was great and the breakfast was delicious. It is absolutely worth it to spend the extra money for the ocean view room.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank spencer h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel G, Gerente at Hotel Arpoador, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear guest,

We were very honoured by your review and we look forward to welcoming you back to ARPOADOR INN along this year.

Thank you for recommending our Deluxe Sea View apartments to other travellers. The view from it is, in fact, breathtaking, while it is unique.

My very best wishes,

Daniel Gorin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

Very nice place and very helpful people, and its just about on the beach. There's a surfing place just outside with people that can teach you. Good fish in the restaurant. And 5 minutes walk to many other restaurants. It's also in a good location between Ipanema and copacabana.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Emil139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel G, Manager at Hotel Arpoador, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your fantastic review regarding your recent stay with us, at ARPOADOR INN. It is very rewarding learning how much our unique location combined with a high level of service have made your stay in Rio de Janeiro a special one.

We hope to host you back here again soon.

My kindest regards,

Daniel Gorin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

Great location, helpful staff, good breakfast, very expensive restaurant.
The bill was put under our door the night before check out which was good so we could review it. It was about €200 extra for the rooms for the 4 nights. I had a copy of the reservation from when we originally booked. They said they they were the old prices but they corrected the bill without much hassle. So make sure u have a copy of original quote. Not sure if it was a genuine mistake or not.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Alcampbell09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel G, Gerente at Hotel Arpoador, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear guest,

Many thanks for your preference and for your great review regarding your recent stay with us.
I am happy to hear you enjoyed our location, services and breakfast.

Your compliments were already passed on to our staff, who look forward to welcoming you soon to ARPOADOR INN.

My very best wishes,

Daniel Gorin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Ipanema
Ipanema Inn
Ipanema Inn
#10 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,308 reviews
Ipanema
Arena Ipanema Hotel
Arena Ipanema Hotel
#43 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
Copacabana
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
#3 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ipanema
Caesar Park Rio de Janeiro Ipanema Managed by Sofitel
Caesar Park Rio de Janeiro Ipane...
#34 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,611 reviews
Ipanema
Hotel Fasano Rio de Janeiro
Hotel Fasano Rio de Janeiro
#5 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,410 reviews
Copacabana
BEST WESTERN Premier Arpoador Fashion Hotel
BEST WESTERN Premier Arpoador Fa...
#2 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Arpoador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Arpoador

Property: Hotel Arpoador
Address: Rua Francisco Otaviano 177 | Arpoador, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22080-046, Brazil (Formerly Arpoador Inn)
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Ipanema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#12 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#27 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Arpoador 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the most beautiful neighbourhood in the whole of Rio de Janeiro, HOTEL ARPOADOR is the only hotel in town literally located on the beach. This idyllic area, located in the intersection of the famous Ipanema and Copacabana neighborhoods, is a peninsula with its own beach and park. The hotel offers comfortable suites, decorated in a simple sophistication, with plenty of Brazilian hardwood and white walls. Our teams are always ready to assist you in every means. HOTEL ARPOADOR Where the City meets the Sea ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Despegar.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Arpoador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arpoador Hotel Rio De Janeiro
Hotel Arpoador Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing