We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A dump”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Aeroporto Othon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Aeroporto Othon
Ranked #257 of 281 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A dump”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2011

We booked this reluctantly as there was very little choice during carnival. My expectations weren't high so I was hardly surprised at what I found - dirty, dirty rooms (broken bed base, ancient bedspreads, a/c falling apart, chipped bathroom fixtures) and lucky if you can get hot water. Forget the endless wait for the lift - I took as an opportunity to work off a few calories on the stairs. To sum up, we put up with it because of no other choice.
The breakfast was reasonable though.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JAFSaudiArabia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gerenciaaeroporto, Manager at Aeroporto Othon, responded to this review, April 27, 2011
Dear traveller,

Thank you for your comments posted on the web Trip Advisor. We would like to apologize for any inconvenience that might have been caused during your stay with us. All you observations were shared with our Managers who are taking the necessary steps to improve our services.
We also inform you that improvements are being planned for next year, as well as the modernization of the elevators. In any case, we apologize for what happened and we appreciate your comment, because this way we have the opportunity to optimize our procedures and services.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

517 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    116
    191
    103
    75
See reviews for
106
84
50
183
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Queens NY
Level Contributor
106 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2010

I booked with Viator for my airport pick up and back and was good. Arrived at the hotel early and waited for few hours. What a surprise.. I have the view of the Sugar Loaf and Christ the redeemer. It was room 808. The hotel is situated downtown and if you like to walk, then this is it. Very close to Cinelandia metro stop where you can see the teatro national. Went to Niteroi and back and did my cultural tour by walking. Most of the museums and cathedral is in downtown. It cost $10 for a taxi ride to Copacabana. The hotel is a walking distance to a park with the marina. The front desk people are very helpful and willing to answer all your questions. The buffet breakfast is super.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ernestoqueensny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
Level Contributor
71 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2010

Location wise it is in downtown Rio, which does contain some interesting places to see, but the prime beach areas (Atlantic beaches) are not close at all. It is in close proximity to the Santos Dumont airport. The hotel is pretty old and if you arrive at night it's a little bit scary if you have never been to Rio before. The hotel rooms are not that great since the building is quite old. Breakfast was included and that was actually pretty good. I wouldn't recommend this hotel to the inexperienced traveler and for those with plenty of travel experience under their belt, stay here when out of other options.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chepalma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gerenciaaeroporto, Manager at Aeroporto Othon, responded to this review, September 15, 2010
Dear traveler,
thanks for choosing the Aeroporto Othon Travel during your visit to Rio de Janeiro, and for sharing your views about our facilities in Trip Advisor. We regret, however, that some of our products did not reach your expectation. We should remind the hotel´s main feature, its proximity to downtown Rio, the heart of business center in the city, and to the airport of Santos Dummond.
Certainly all your comments are very important for us and we hope to welcome you in your next stay in the city.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campo Grande, MS
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2010

I was in that hotel for two terrible days, even the hotel is no alowed to smoke, our room neighbor smoked the entire all days of the stay, the smell stayed in all room.
It's very noisy on the night in the streets around the hotel and we are gifted with a two parties inside closest rooms with high music and laughs.... When i said that to attendant to change my room he answered that can do nothing for that, because is very embarrassment disturb the guests...

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marcelo_guerson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gerenciaaeroporto, Manager at Aeroporto Othon, responded to this review, September 21, 2010
Dear guest,
thanks for choosing the Aeroporto Othon Travel during your visit to Rio de Janeiro. We truly regret that those unexpected and unacceptable troubles have happened during your stay in our hotel. We take this opportunity to give our sincere apologize and say that all the corrective actions are being taken with our management and staff crew in order to avoid similar problems from happening again. Please be noted that our non-smoking policy is being strictly supervised, as well as the whole inside facility conditions. Despite of what happened, we hope to welcome you in your next visit to the city.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rio de Janeiro hotels

Mal. Floriano
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2010

I know this review is a little late.... I am bringing a group back to this place because when I was there last year, it was a perfect location for being able to walk and explore the beauty of the old buildings nearby. There were plenty restaurants around, at least for our taste buds they were fine. I had already been in Rio before and know that the streets just aren't safe at night. For the most part, the service was fine, I agree that the internet access was a little expensive. It is very close to both major airports and that is a definite plus. We did not have any problems with the breakfast, just had to wake up early to enjoy it. With that parking lot in the back part of the building, it did tend to get noisy. But once everyone left which was a decent hour, no problem. i would recommend this place.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Psalm981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
153 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2010

This Hotel has a very old forniture, elevetor and decoration.
The price is convinent, but you spent a lot of money if want to go to Copacabana or Ipanema.
Breakfast is OK.
Beds and pillow awful.
It´s a walking distance from Santos Dumont Airport.
I booked two nigths but stayed just one

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claudio-1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Floreat, Western Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2010

Aeroporto Othon is at the outer edge of the CBD. We happened to stay on a weekend and there was nowhere to eat anywhere within walking distance. Nothing. And we felt most insecure walking near deserted streets at night trying to find somewhere to eat.

Also the air-conditioning did not work. It was clean enough, but dilapidated (pieces of floor parquetry missing). Internet was only available on the ground floor

One staff member spoke English, but not well. A couple tried inefftually.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnOfFloreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Centro
Ibis Rio de Janeiro Santos Dumont
Ibis Rio de Janeiro Santos Dumon...
#110 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,953 reviews
Centro
Hotel OK
Hotel OK
#151 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
3.5 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
Centro
Itajuba Hotel
Itajuba Hotel
#190 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
3.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Pompeu
#224 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
3.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
Centro
Hotel ibis budget Rio de Janeiro Centro
Hotel ibis budget Rio de Janeiro...
#154 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,907 reviews
Centro
Hotel Galicia
Hotel Galicia
#263 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
3.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aeroporto Othon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aeroporto Othon

Property: Aeroporto Othon
Address: Avenida Beira-Mar 280, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 20021-060, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Centro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #257 of 281 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Aeroporto Othon 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aeroporto Othon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aeroporto Othon Travel Hotel Rio De Janeiro
Travel Travel
Aeroporto Othon Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing