We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
9 people are viewing this hotel
Sheraton.com
$1,009
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/07/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Hotels.com
$984
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/07/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
FindHotel
$777
View deal
Booking.com$1,069
Expedia.com$984
travelup.com$1,350
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,489)
Filter reviews
2,489 results
Traveler rating
1,363
716
203
95
112
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,363
716
203
95
112
Show reviews that mention
All reviews private beach tennis courts bene restaurant the club lounge casa da ipanema beach pool area free shuttle top floor concierge desk hotel is great an amazing view christ the redeemer leblon etoile cachaca rio
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
749 - 754 of 2,489 reviews
Reviewed January 7, 2015

it is the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff at the Sheraton in Rio that makes this a perfect place to stay. Without exception the staff were excellent. We were lucky enough to have access to the Exec lounge where the staff once again exceeded all expectations. The lounge receptionists breakfast staff and lounge host deserve a special mention for their hospitality, it was the first time in a hotel anywhere in the world I have had the chef come to our breakfast table to check that everything was OK and did we need anything else.
All Bedrooms are spacious with excellent beds and linen, they all have great sea views .....try to get one overlooking Leblon and Ipanema beaches. The hotel is a short walk from Leblon beach but have a complimentary shuttle service to Leblon, Ipanema and Copocabana. This was very useful to position you for exploring Rio.
Head for the small beach in front of the hotel and you will not even have to place your towel on the sun lounger, the pool attendants are so attentive.
Dining Al fresco at the fishermans restaurant was a pleasure, food was tasty and reasonably priced, service is again excellent, Jonathan deserves a special mention for his outstanding welcome and happy disposition. We did not get a chance to sample the other restaurants on site.
My reviews are usually short but on this occasion an extra bit of detail was warranted to underline this great choice of resort hotel for a stay in Rio.
Rio was outstanding and is on my list for a return visit!

Room tip: All rooms have great sea views
Date of stay: December 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Isabel S, Quality Manager at Sheraton Grand Rio Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2015

Dear CC4008,

Thank you so much for the nice words about our hotel and our team! That certainly pays off all the hard work that we face every day!

Be sure that I have already shared your review with all the staff involved and it is a huge motivation for us all to receive compliments like that. We really appreciated you having taken your valuable time to share about your experience with us.

It was a pleasure for us to have you here and we will be looking forward to welcome you back many other times.

On behalf of the Sheraton family, I wish all the best in this New Year starting and we are at your entire disposal for any assistance you need for your future stays.

Cordially yours,
Isabel Soares dos Santos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2015

Our family spent a week at the Sheraton Leblon over Christmas and New Year’s and had a really great stay. As a family of six, we had two connecting rooms – 1926 (suite with King bed) and 1927 (two double beds). Both rooms had great views. For families looking for connecting rooms, I think the same connection room option is available on other floor as well (i.e. 2426 and 2427). For SPG Platinum guests, there is a special check-in on the twenty-sixth floor where the club lounge is located. The staff there was very attentive to our many special requests during our stay. Yara, in particular, was very helpful to us in making sure we could have the same connecting rooms for the duration of our stay during this high peak season.
The breakfast buffet on the pool level is excellent – made to order omelettes, great selection of fresh fruits (passion, goiba, mango, papaya, pineapple, etc,) and many other hot and cold dish offerings.
About the location – it is true that the hotel is about a 15 minute taxi ride away from Ipanema and Copacabana but taxis are readily available and quite reasonable ($6-8 each way). Without exception, the taxis were also willing to squeeze us all in one car so we didn’t have to split up. We also made use of the complimentary hotel shuttle to Rio Sul shopping and Copacabana. What the Sheraton offers over the hotels in Copacabana, Ipanema and Leblon is its direct beach access. This made going to the beach very convenient with the kids. Because the sun was so strong during the day, we generally hit the beach in the early morning and then enjoyed a leisurely buffet breakfast at the hotel before heading out for the day.
Livia and her team at the concierge desk were fantastic. They were immensely valuable to us in making all kinds of special arrangement (car rental for pick up at the hotel, dinner plans, trip planning, etc.) including a private taxi hire from Copacabana back to the hotel following the fireworks on New Year’s Eve. Thank you!
If I could make one suggestion to the hotel to improve, it would be to improve its wifi/internet connectivity. Sometimes it worked great, othertimes not to much.
Overall, we were very happy with the property, location and especially the excellent service from the hotel staff.

Room tip: 1926 is a suite facing the ocean
Date of stay: December 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank David_Kemp
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Isabel S, Quality Manager at Sheraton Grand Rio Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2015

Dear Mr. David K,

Be sure that was a pleasure to have you and your family here for this unique time of the year. Especially as a SPG Platinum, our most loyal members, your feedback is especially appreciated.

We are honored to know that we provide you with an excellent service during your stay, and with the help of Yara, Livia and other staff from the hotel, we were able to achieve our biggest goal: exceed you expectations.

We also thank you very much for your constructive criticism about our internet connection, as we can act based on this comments to improve our services.

We hope to welcome you all back in a near future and once again, share with you special moments.

At last, I would like to, on behalf of the Sheraton Rio family, wish you all good things for this New Year beginning!

Cordially yours,
Isabel Soares dos Santos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2015

My partner and I stayed in the Sheraton after a two week cruise of South America. It would be incredibly difficult to match the service we received onboard, but the Sheraton fell so far short of our (reasonable) expectations. Our checkin was delayed by an hour, with very little effort being made to accommodate my partner's 90 year old grandmother who we were travelling with. Our room was damp and appeared to have been recently painted (possibly to hide mould). Upon complaining, we were moved to a much better (drier) room. Every time we deal with the reception, which was frequently as our keycards had to be reprogrammed to open our doors on 3 separate occasions, they were very polite (which much be applauded given how overwhelmed they appeared). More of the same at dinner; my partner had to take her own pizza from the kitchen as the waiter failed to serve it. All-in-all, the Sheraton is perfect if you want a predictable American chain hotel, that is stolid and soulless in so many different ways.

Date of stay: January 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank HippoPig
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Isabel S, Quality Manager at Sheraton Grand Rio Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2015

Dear HippoPig,

First of all, we would like to apologize for not providing you with the experience expected! At the same way, we thank you for sharing with us the issues encountered that help us monitor our performance and find improvements to our services.

I am really sorry to hear about your welcome experience and would like to explain that we were running a full occupancy which makes us unable to check-in the guests ahead of time. Unfortunately during these busy days we depend on guest´s checking-out in order to clean the rooms and prepare for the arrivals.

I am happy to know that our team was able to help you with a room change for a better room.

Be sure that we´ll be acting on your feedback and if we have a chance to welcome you back in the future, you´ll be able to feel the improvements!

We remain at your entire disposal for anything else you need and kindly ask you to contact me in case exists something we can do to change your impressions.

On behalf of the Sheraton team, I would like to wish all the best in 2015!

Cordially yours,
Isabel Soares dos Santos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2015

My husband and I stayed at the Sheraton over New Years. The rooms are clean as are all of the facilities, which are quite impressive, with a pool, kiddie pool, jacuzzi and tennis courts. For lunch we ate at the restaurant by the pool and had incredibly disappointing service. The waiter forgot our drinks among other things and brought us the wrong bill. Our only other complaint would be that it took 30 minutes to check in, although the clock had just turned midnight on new years so understandably things were slow. The hotel is on a nice beach called Leblon away from the madness of the larger beaches.

Date of stay: January 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Isabel S, Quality Manager at Sheraton Grand Rio Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2015

Dear CBTraveler524,

Firstly, we thank you for having chosen our hotel to spend New Year´s Eve. It was a pleasure to have you here and we hope to have a chance to welcome you again, in the future.

We are happy to know that you enjoyed our rooms and leisure facilities and would like to apologize for the inconveniences experienced regarding our services. Not trying to justify, just to clarify that we were running a 100% occupancy in the busiest time of the year. We are already investigating the issues encountered and will be working full time on fixing that for the future peak seasons. That is the reason why, we appreciate so much, your time on this feedback. Be sure that corrective action will be taken based in your comments.

I remain at your disposal for any further assistance you may need or if you have additional information about your stay. I´ll be more than glad to receive it.

Wish all the best in 2015!

Cordially yours,
Isabel Soares dos Santos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2015

A hotel with a nice pool area, a beach of its own ( although not private), four good restaurants next to Ipanema, but still relaxed and safe. We first thought that we should stay close to Copacabana, but having seen that area we are pleased to be be within reach but not in that area... We can recommend Sheraton Rio!

Date of stay: January 2015
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Calle47
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Isabel S, Quality Manager at Sheraton Grand Rio Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2015

Dear Calle47,

Thank you so much for staying with us and for having taken your precious time writing this nice review about our property.

We are happy to know that you enjoyed our location and especially that you recommend our hotel!

We will be hoping to welcome you back in a near future and once again help share with us special moments.

We also take the opportunity to wish you a wonderful 2015 full of joy and happiness!

Cordially yours,
Isabel Soares dos Santos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews