We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“welcome on Copacabana beach ;0)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Pestana Rio Atlantica
Ranked #63 of 286 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed August 7, 2014

comfortable rooms with micro balconies on the side walls of the building, large balconies on the front of the better rooms / apartments
we stayed on the 10th floor and unfortunately it was loud from the fans on the roofs of other buildings but we slept with the window open at night, the sound of the waves drowned out everything, great view of the Copacabana beach
rooms clean and comfortable although quite cramped, the bathroom very comfortable
not enough of a big pool as that is on the roof - great view
Internet in the rooms works well
service excellent, breakfast good, a lot of local fruit, good coffee, dining room very nice but the weekend was very crowded - a lot of guests

5-10 min to the metro and bus stops in many directions
very close to the airport with local flights to international very far

in the streets behind the hotel a lot of bars and restaurants

you have to go to Carioca da Gema on Lapa in city center - samba club - live music, drinks and good food, you will always find a little place for you to dance and listening music

Room Tip: we stayed on the 10th floor and unfortunately it was loud from the fans on the roofs of other buildi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Erbinio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pestana, General Manager at Pestana Rio Atlantica, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2014

Responido by Gefferson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,356)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

325 - 331 of 2,356 reviews

Reviewed August 7, 2014

Our family stayed at this hotel from Aug.3-5. I made the reservation straight with the hotel because we had specific requests to get joining rooms. This was request was not met. When I spoke with the front desk about this problem, I might as well have been ignored. Just overall very unorganized and unresponsive to emails. This is a newer "trendy" hotel, and they had just hosted various Budweiser parties for the World Cup. I guess after they got all the sponsor money they really didn't care about guests there after.

One thing I did like that sort of made up for the frustration of my stay, had to be the view from the rooftop bar. It is beautiful and the location is excellent - but thats all they have to offer!

Also bad experience with the reservation department which I guess is in SP. Need more qualified workers - especially when it comes to your international guests! Overall - will not be staying here again! We wanted to try something new, but sometimes its better to stick to our usual!

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jordana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pestana, Gerente geral at Pestana Rio Atlantica, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2014

Dear Mrs. Jordana S,

Thank you for choosing the Pestana Rio Atlantica Hotel and for your comments regarding your stay. We are sorry to learn about the inconveniences you experienced whilst staying with us.

Your information’s regarding our levels of services were worthy of our utmost attention and we can assure you that the experience mentioned on your evaluation does not reflects our standards.

I would appreciate if you could contact our Rooms Division Manager, Mr. Gefferson Alves, on his e-mail: Gefferson.alves@pestana.com as we are really would like to better understand how was your stay in order to take the proper actions.

With over 40 years experience, currently the largest Portuguese hotel chain with over 90 Hotels & Resorts worldwide, Pestana Hotels & Resorts has won several worldwide awards due to our highest level of excellence in services and to be part of a World Cup as an Official Budweiser Hotel was a huge honor for our Hotel Chain and especially to our Hotel in Rio de Janeiro.

Looking forward in hearing from you at your earliest convenience,

Kind regards,

Paulo Dias
Director of Operations
Pestana Hotels & Resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2014

This hotel exceeded my expectations in ways I cannot explain. I stayed there from July 21 - July 25, and wish I could have stayed another week. The service to value is second to none, as this hotel is the best choice to stay when in Rio. You're right on the beach with a perfect location, and the staff could not have been more helpful. I speak about 70% Portuguese, but even if I didn't, that wasn't an issue as all of the staff in the lobby speak English. If you need towels, room service, or any other amenity for your room, they are there in 5 minutes. The best part of the whole hotel experience was the "Deck Lounge Bar" on the roof...it is a MUST visit. This bar is so chic, and has the best bartenders around. When you're there, you get the best views of The Copacabana...North and South. I can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Anything above the 4th Floor has better views of the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank GatoJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pestana, Gerente geral at Pestana Rio Atlantica, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2014
Google Translation

Estimado Sr. Gato Jim,

Ficamos honrados por recebê-lo em nosso hotel e por vosso feedback! Agradecemos ainda por vossas simpáticas palavras acerca do nosso time! Repassaremos os comentários e temos a certeza de que o time será ainda mais encourajado.

Estamos muito felizes em constatar que em vossa recente hospedagem pode notar que a personalização e o tratamento diferenciado fazem parte da nossa identidade e estamos cada vez mais focados na superação das expectativas na prestação de serviços.

Pestana Rio Atlantica é o lugar onde o tratamento genuino e singular, além do conforto dos nossos hóspedes é a nossa principal Missão.

O nosso Hotel passou por uma profunda renovação em toda a estrutura física que finalizada em 2013, e agora estamos investindo fortemente em serviços, apanágio dos Hotéis & Resorts Pestana.

Gostaria de colocar-me juntamente ao meu time ao vosso total dispor para cuidar da vossa próxima estada. Desta forma, por favor, não hesite em contatar-nos através do Sr. Gefferson Alves, nosso Gerente de Hospedagem, através do e-mail: gefferson.alves@pestana.com. Sem dúvidas, será um prazer tê-lo em breve oportunidade!

Conheça o nosso Programa de Fidelidade PPG – Pestana Priority Guest e aproveite o mundo de vantagens e ofertas exclusivas! É mais uma forma de encantar e agradecer ao nosso hóspede pela fidelidade aos Hotéis & Resorts Pestana.

Ademais, aproveitamos a oportunidade para apresentá-lo o site Pestana.com para a realização da vossa próxima reserva! Além de rápido, fácil e seguro, existem diversas promoções que somente estão disponíveis através deste!

Esperamos recebê-lo em breve para mais uma estada memorável em um dos Hotéis & Resorts Pestana.

Com os nossos melhores cumprimentos,

Paulo Dias
Diretor de Operações Sul e Sudeste

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2014 via mobile

Pestana rio atlantica is one of the most ideally located hotels on copacabana rio de janeiro. I stayed here for one week and my stay was one of the most comfortable stay i gave ever had in rio. The hotels roof top restaurant is awesome. The rooms are comfy and ideal for a business trip. I recommend this hotel to everyone planning to stay in rio

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Flagman2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pestana, Gerente geral at Pestana Rio Atlantica, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2014

Dear Mr. Flagman2011

Thank you very much for choosing the Pestana Rio Atlantica Hotel, and for sharing your feedback with us.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay!

We pledge to provide the finest personal service and facilities for our guests who will always enjoy a warm and relaxed ambient and consequently turn your stay into Memorable Moments.

I would like to personally take care of your next stay and due to that, I would kindly request you to contact our Hotel Rooms Division Manager, Mr. Gefferson Alves via e-mail: Gefferson.alves@pestana.com and we will prepare a very special suite in order to indulge you into a breathtaking view of Copacabana beach.

We also encourage you to check out Hotel Site at Pestana.com to check the best rates available. There are also great offers only available on it!

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Paulo Dias
Director of Operations
Pestana Hotels & Resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2014

Beautiful view, nice pool, entertainment area and location, but reception service is still a problem, since main of the receptionists were very rude. Also, one of our rooms was not tidy enough and we had to ask for another.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gabriela F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pestana, Gerente geral at Pestana Rio Atlantica, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2014

Dear Mrs. Gabriela F,

Thank you for choosing the Pestana Rio Atlantica Hotel and for your comments regarding your stay. We are sorry to learn about the inconveniences you experienced whilst staying with us.

Your information regarding our levels of service were worthy of our utmost attention, and the necessary actions will be taken to improve our guest experience!

The information’s on your comments are of our high interest and I would appreciate if you could contact our Rooms Division Manager, Mr. Gefferson Alves, on his e-mail: Gefferson.alves@pestana.com as we are really would like to better understand how was your stay.

Pestana Hotel Rio Atlantica is a place where the genuine care and comfort of our guests is our highest mission.

Looking forward in hearing from you at your earliest convenience,

Kind regards,

Paulo Dias

Director of Operations
Pestana Hotels & Resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

I live in Rio and I can say this: Pestana Rio is a very nice hotel in Copacabana Beach. But it is expensive compared to good hotels overseas.

I have found the same or better service and rooms in 4 stars hotels around Europe and The US. The 5 stars are probably because of the Spa and the Superior Rooms. But for me, a 5 Star hotel should be so to every room. I stayed at a Deluxe Room that's good. But not memorable.

To those who have never been to Rio:

LOCATION: the most appreciated quarters in Rio (for people from Rio) are Leblon, Ipanema and Arpoador. Pestana is at Copacabana Beach: the oldest beach in town and the most visited by tourists. It's near every place you want to visit. In 10 minutes or less by Car, you can enjoy Lapa, Ipanema, Leblon,Arpoador, Lagoa and the Sightseens.

BEACH: Copacabana is the city's oldest quarter. If you're young and want to see younger people, take a taxi and in 5-10 minutes you can enjoy Ipanema beach by day and Lapa by night.

ROOM: clean and modern. The bed could be more confortable. The wi-fi works ok. TV has few internacional channels.

SERVICE: Brazil is a nightmare when it comes to service. I'm brazilian, have always lived in Rio and I can say this: Do not expect excepcional service. To brazilians, if there's no big problem, the service is good. Pestana is good. No problems so far...

Stayed: July 2014
2  Thank kfmcardoso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pestana, Gerente geral at Pestana Rio Atlantica, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2014

Dear Mrs. KfmCardoso,

We would like to thank you for staying with us at the Pestana Rio Atlantica Hotel and for taking the time to send us your detailed and valuable comments.

It´s always gratifying to receive feedbacks, and your kind comments will be shared with all the staff members, whom I am certain will be encouraged with your remarks.

We do hope to have the opportunity in the near future to welcome you back at our Hotel in order to enjoy a warm and relaxed ambient.

Thank you again for having shared your experience with us and looking forward in receiving your new reservation request!

Cordially,

Paulo Dias
Director of Operations
Pestana Hotels & Resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2014

Hi guys, I recommend you guys that if you looking for excellent services and a want to experience a good holiday while staying on Copacabana beach , this hotel will be good choice for you.

You will never forget this experience. :)

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thekamran10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pestana, General Manager at Pestana Rio Atlantica, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2014

Dear Mr. thekamran10

We would like to thank you for staying with us at the Pestana Rio Atlantica Hotel and for taking the time to send us your valuable comments.

I am so glad to read your comments in which I appreciate your information’s.
It´s always gratifying to receive feedbacks, and your kind comments will be shared with all the staff members, whom I am certain will be encouraged with your remarks.

We do hope to have the opportunity in the near future to welcome you back at one of our Hotels & Resorts;

Thank you again for having shared your experience with us and looking forward in receiving your new reservation request!

Cordially,

Paulo Dias
Director of Operations
Pestana Hotels & Resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Copacabana
PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel
PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel
#18 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
2,381 reviews
Copacabana
Arena Copacabana Hotel
Arena Copacabana Hotel
#23 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
1,926 reviews
Copacabana
Rio Othon Palace Hotel
Rio Othon Palace Hotel
#32 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
1,352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Copacabana
Windsor Palace Hotel
Windsor Palace Hotel
#37 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
753 reviews
Copacabana
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
#1 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
2,450 reviews
Copacabana
Golden Tulip Rio Copacabana
Golden Tulip Rio Copacabana
#53 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
2,007 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Rio Atlantica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Rio Atlantica

Address: Avenida Atlantica 2964 | Copacabana, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22070-000, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#12 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#13 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#17 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#18 Spa Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#35 On the Beach Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#36 Luxury Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range: $117 - $317 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pestana Rio Atlantica 4*
Number of rooms: 217
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pestana Rio Atlântica is a hotel located on Avenida Atlântica, on the famous Copacabana beach, with quick access to Galeão International Airport and Santos Dumont Airport. Perfect for both business and leisure travellers, the hotel sits only minutes from tourist attractions such as the Corcovado (Christ the Redeemer), Pão de Açucar (Sugar Loaf), Lagoa, the Botanical Gardens and the beaches of Ipanema and Leblon. In addition, it is only 8 km from the city centre and 600 m from an underground station. With a lively atmosphere, the Deck Bar is the known as the place to start your night, having welcomed some of the best international and Brazilian DJs. The hotel’s rooftop swimming pool offers fantastic views of the beach. To make sure nothing is missing, the restaurant and the gym will compliment your stay in the marvellous city. With views of the sea or the city, all rooms are comfortable and have balconies, air conditioning, free Wi-Fi and plasma TVs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, PESTANA MANAGEMENT - Servicos de Gestao S.A., Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Hotwire so you can book your Pestana Rio Atlantica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Rio Atlantica Hotel Rio De Janeiro
Pestana Rio Atlantica De Janeiro
Pestana Rio Atlantica Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing