We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pestana Rio Atlantica Hotel
Ranked #59 of 282 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A great hotel”
Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here on a two night business trip to Rio. Had a wonderful room facing the beach with good facilities - especially the bathroom. The wifi was rather flaky. Well located for the beaches and restaurant - not so great for the business district, but it isn't too expensive to get there by taxi. Fantastic views from the roof bar. Also stayed here a year ago, when I had a rather small room at the back of the hotel - still fit for purpose however.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Michael N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pestana, Manager at Pestana Rio Atlantica Hotel, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your preference, thank you for sharing your opinion with us and future travellers. I´m very glad that we manage to achieve your expectations and that you´ve considered our / your´s hotel to be a great hotel.

Looking forward to welcome you again,

Sunny Regards from Rio de Janeiro,

Álvaro Aragão
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,061
    730
    243
    123
    84
See reviews for
590
707
96
455
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
128 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

stayed here 2 nights. let me make it simple: the good and the bad
the GOOD:
= location- on the beach. in the middle of everything overlooking copacabana.
= clean and modern hotel
= roof top pool with amazing view
= no carpeting on hallway and in the room

the BAD:
= reservation- they do not give you the room you reserved. we called few days before going to Rio to make sure they give us the "glass bathroom," and also mentioned the picture they have on the web (the room we wanted) . we were assured that they already blocked the room for us (NOT!) upon arrival, we were told that they have 10 rooms of that kind and that they don't have anymore left!

= staff- very few speaks english. breakfast area, housekeeping, etc. the only place you could find someone who understands english is the front desk staff. i asked decaf coffee, the wait staff gave me "cold coffee." i think, he took a tap water and pour instant coffee.

= housekeeping- after cleaning our room the first day, they did not give us hand towels, no wash cloths. just 2 bath towels! no replacement of tissue paper as well! we had to call the front desk. they do show up to bring right away but, in the first place they shld. replace it automatically.

= no front desk clerks after midnight- we came back after midnight and we needed something. we didn't see anybody at the front desk. we decided, we'll call from the room just in case the person on duty was in the back office. after calling several times, we gave up. we let that phone ring for so long but, nobody picked it up. come to think of it, they advertised 24 hours room service! how can u order when nobody answers the phone????

minibar= few small bottled water and cartoon fruit juice. not alcoholic beverage

for the price they charge a night (over $400/night ++), i won't be back

Room Tip: higher floor and we were on corner room with partial sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mahleen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pestana, Manager at Pestana Rio Atlantica Hotel, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you very much for your preference, thank you for posting your review after your recent stay at Pestana Rio Atlântica Hotel.
I deeply regret that we´ve failed to meet your expectations this time, you can be sure that the Pestana team work hard every day to provide to all our guests the best possibile experience, I took good notice of your remarks, concerning our departments , all of them will be discussed and analysed in our Operational meeting.

I hope you can give us the opportunity to welcome you back again, please contact me directly on your future reservation.

Sunny Regards from Rio de Janeiro,

Álvaro Aragão
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 14, 2013

The Pestana sits quietly on Copacabana awaiting only to erase all one concerns except to delivery a perfect Brasilian introduction.The Hotel itself is a dream, Beautiful, elegant, fun, accommodating, abundant in all services, but it is the nature of the the people in the hotel, that will make your mouth drop open. Here you see the Brasilian nature in full force, and always delivered with a smile, Wow! Family needs, business needs, excursions, nothing is a problem. The extras include a roof top view with sound of the thunder of the beach, feel the fresh brasilian breezes, with a soft background of music.Beach service includes chair, umbrellas,towels and someone to watch over your personnel items so you can stroll the entire beach if you care to do so. And if that is not enough the luxury of having a lighted cross walk 10 paces to the left of the hotel, for a quick and easy access to the beach. The main blvd is closed to traffic on Sundays, to encourage, walks, bike rides, jogs and skateboarding on one of brasils most famous avenues. (Avenida Atlantica) Retire to a rm with soft brilliant white cotton bedding. The proper word here is OTIMO !

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aguagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pestana, Manager at Pestana Rio Atlantica Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your preference.
Thank you for sharing your review with us and other travellers. Your comments made us proud and happy, knowing that we manage to achieve your expectations is , without a doubt , our biggest award. Our dedicated team thanks you very much for your mention.

Looking forward to welcome you again, we ´ll always have a friendly smile for you and a memorable moment.

Sunny Regards from Rio de Janeiro,

Álvaro Aragão
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
320 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Only one shampoo for two people, one shower gel for 3 days, no complimentary water in the room, no service at breakfast, had to wait a lot for one tea, no slippers for dirty bath ground..... When i left, i ask es for a taxi And after ten meters, went down as no taximeter And charging doble for Same car as a taxi. It Was not a limo..... A real shame for this brazilian hotels chain.

Room Tip: Take care about the view because they put you face to a wall if you do not complain
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank b0nstanislas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pestana, Manager at Pestana Rio Atlantica Hotel, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your preference, thank you for posting your review after your recent stay with us. Your remarks were already discussed with our team leaders, I regret to know that we´ve failed to achieve your expectations. You can be sure that our guests satisfation is our main goal and your comment was trully analysed in order to prevent this situations to happen again.

Please accept our sincere appologies,

Kind Regards,

Álvaro Aragão
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights in July 2013. We have 2 children (9 and 11). We had a connecting room - parents with a large sea-facing balcony and kids with aside view of copacabana. The roof-top bar and restaurant had great views for a sunset beer or two. Price was very reasonable for the quality / location.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank JonclareSP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pestana, Manager at Pestana Rio Atlantica Hotel, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Guest,
On behalf of Pestana Rio Atlântica Hotel, thank you very much for your preference.
Thank you for posting your review after your recent stay. I´m very glad that our / your´s hotel suits you the best.

Looking forward for your next visit,

Sunny Regards from Rio,

Álvaro Aragão
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nassau, New Providence Island
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I stayed at the Pestana Rio Atlantica in June. The hotel is an a wonderful location, the views from the rooftop bar are astounding. The breakfast included in the club rate was fresh, delicious and first class. I booked a beachfront king deluxe suite. Other friends I was traveling with booked an ocean view room. The difference in the suite is absolutely huge. If you can afford it, do the suite. Incredible views, huge terrace all overlooking Copacabana beach and the ocean.
The Spa is a bit of an after thought, otherwise a brilliant hotel and the best choice in Rio in my opinion for value for luxury.

Room Tip: Beach front king deluxe suite is worth the extra $
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GlobalH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pestana, Manager at Pestana Rio Atlantica Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear valued Guest,
Thank you very much for posting your review after your recent stay with us.
Thank you for considering our / your´s hotel a brilliant hotel and the best choice in Rio de Janeiro.
I´m very glad to know that our facilities and services suits you the best.

Looking forward to welcome you again,

Kind Regards,

Álvaro Aragão
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

This hotel was not a 5 star hotel in my world. The hotel is very 'tired' and scruffy round the edges. The room was very small and noisy (walls are very thin). It's location is good however. Breakfast is mediocre at best and we didn't eat any other meals in the hotel.. Staff were friendly but not particularly efficient. There is no kettle in the room and wifi is not free. The doors to the bathroom are sliding doors that don't quite fit...
The 2 'seaview' rooms we had booked afforded us a peek of the sea round the corner of a balcony.

Room Tip: A room towards the back of the hotel rather than Copacabana-facing. A lot of road noise, sirens etc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DimskiDimsum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pestana, Manager at Pestana Rio Atlantica Hotel, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for posting your review after your recent stay with us.
I regret that we didn´t manage to achieve your expectations , this time.
Our guests satisfaction is our number one priority.
The Pestana Rio Atlântica Hotel has plenty of room typologies that I´m sure will be suitable for a confort stay, on your next visit please let us recommend you the one that I´m sure will suit you the best.

Kind Regards,

Álvaro Aragão
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Copacabana
Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel
Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hote...
#15 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,288 reviews
Copacabana
Rio Othon Palace Hotel
Rio Othon Palace Hotel
#39 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 984 reviews
Copacabana
Arena Copacabana Hotel
Arena Copacabana Hotel
#21 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Copacabana
Windsor Excelsior Hotel
Windsor Excelsior Hotel
#31 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,360 reviews
Copacabana
JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro
JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro
#19 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,083 reviews
Copacabana
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
#3 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Rio Atlantica Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Rio Atlantica Hotel

Property: Pestana Rio Atlantica Hotel
Address: Avenida Atlantica 2964 | Copacabana, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22070-000, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#12 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#13 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#16 Spa Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#17 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#31 On the Beach Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#32 Luxury Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Pestana Rio Atlantica Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 217
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Pestana Rio Atlantica Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Rio Atlantica Hotel Rio De Janeiro, Brazil
Pestana Rio Atlantica De Janeiro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing