We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Never paid so much for so little” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pestana Rio Atlantica Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Pestana Rio Atlantica Hotel
Ranked #55 of 280 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
80 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Never paid so much for so little”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

The location is great,. the pool and rooftop has an amazing view, but all that is good stops there.
The service has good intentions, but poorly trained. In the middle of a conversation a front desk answers the phone and starts taking information from somebody else after I had been waiting to check in for a while. The room I stayed had a partial ocean view, and was the smallest room I ever saw. It was also so poorly designed that it was borderline claustrophobic. No attention to detail at all, no US or international outlets and commonly seen in other hotels in Brazil, the internet was intermittent, and when tried to call to see what was going on, realized that the phone in the room was broken! The shower was actually dangerous to get in since you have to enter the tub with curved sides that could be very slippery. Overall the hotel could use some major upgrading, and I hope it does before all the major events to be hosted in Rio.

Room Tip: If you cannot get a suite, go elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Palomo55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pestana, Manager at Pestana Rio Atlantica Hotel, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Dear Guest,
Firstly, we would like to take this opportunity to thank you for choosing the Pestana Rio Atlantica Hotel as your destination, and for sharing your opinions with us. We are sorry to learn that you experienced certain inconveniences during your stay. Our Department Heads have been informed, and the necessary improvement measures will be taken. We remain grateful for your understanding, and look forward to welcoming you back at the Pestana Rio Atlantica Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Erico Guedes de Souza
Oparation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,023
    704
    233
    120
    81
See reviews for
564
674
94
444
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Marilia, SP
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

Pestana is a nice, confortable and well located hotel.
Employees are polite and everything works well. The hotel was remodelled recently. The only inconvenience are the prices too expensive for what the hotel offers. I recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms deluxe, with the windows facing the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tanuri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pestana, Manager at Pestana Rio Atlantica Hotel, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Google Translation
Prezado Hóspede,
Agradecemos pela escolha do Pestana Rio Atlantica Hotel e pelo feed back sobre sua última estada. Ficamos satisfeitos em saber que nossos produtos e serviços fizeram com que sua viagem fosse positiva. Iremos partilhar as suas simpáticas palavras com os nossos colaboradores. Em sua próxima viagem a cidade do Rio de Janeiro, estaremos inteiramente à disposição para o que for necessário.

Cordialmente,
Erico Guedes de Souza
Gerente Operacional
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermosillo, Mexico
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2012

I stayed with my wife 2 nights on an ocean view room. We actually didn't pay for the room because we were invited by one of our bussines partners so I can't comment on the price or value. But what I can say the ocean view rooms are great, very spacious and with a great terrace overlooking Copacabana. The location of the hotel is very good, just in front of the beach and very near restaurants and bars. The staff is very friendly and speak both Spanish and English very good. I'd stay there again. The pool is very cool too!

Room Tip: Go ocean view if you don't mind the price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gonzz_x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pestana, Manager at Pestana Rio Atlantica Hotel, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Google Translation
Prezado Hóspede,
Agradecemos pela escolha do Pestana Rio Atlantica Hotel e pelo feed back sobre sua última estada. Ficamos satisfeitos em saber que nossos produtos e serviços fizeram com que sua viagem fosse positiva. Iremos partilhar as suas simpáticas palavras com os nossos colaboradores. Em sua próxima viagem a cidade do Rio de Janeiro, estaremos inteiramente à disposição para o que for necessário.

Cordialmente,
Erico Guedes de Souza
Gerente Operacional
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sao paulo
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2012

This hotel has some redeeming features, but it's a bad value and I'll never stay there again. The view from the roofdeck pool/bar area is nice, but the pool is teeny and feels cheap. the elevators take FOREVER, and are tiny...check-in and check-out took FOREVER. I asked for them to send up some toothpaste and it took 25 minutes. Gym is terrible. Service overall is terrible. Rooms are fine, nothing special. All in all it's not worth the price. I was there for work so wasn't the end of the world but when I saw the bill I was shocked. First night was a Wednesday and was R$850 including tax (US$425) and the second night was R$1,000. I know Rio is expensive, (I spend a lot of time there) and you have to pay up for beachfront, but this place was a disappointment and if it was my personal money I'd be more bitter.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank randall l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pestana, Manager at Pestana Rio Atlantica Hotel, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Google Translation
Prezado Hóspede,
Primeiramente agradecemos pela escolha do Pestana Rio Atlantica Hotel e pelo feedback após a sua última estada. Aceite as nossas desculpas pelos inconvenientes causados. As informações referentes a serviços foram analisadas e providências já estão sendo tomadas para melhorar a qualidade e serviço da nossa unidade. Em sua próxima viagem a cidade do Rio de Janeiro, gostaríamos de tê-lo conosco novamente para poder desfrutar de uma nova e positiva experiência.

Cordialmente,
Erico Guedes de Souza
Gerente Operacional
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

My room was small, clean, nicely renovated. The ocean could be seen by standing on the small balcony and looking sharply to the right - no direct view. The bathroom was fine but not memorable at all. Definitely not a 5-star experience. My I-phone charger could not be used in the wall outlets nor could the adapter I brought. To charge my phone I would have to bring it to the front-desk every day and leave it there. Very annoying as I was using the one device for email, phone, and camera. The rooftop bar and pool is quite nice. The service was adequate but not personal. I felt comfortable walking around the area on my own. The taxi I got in the front of the hotel (there is a dispatcher at the entrance) to go to the Fashion Mall on a rainy Saturday charged five times what the regular cab charged on the return trip. If I return I would probably look elsewhere for a hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank georgemocha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pestana, Manager at Pestana Rio Atlantica Hotel, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Dear Guest,
Firstly, we would like to take this opportunity to thank you for choosing the Pestana Rio Atlantica Hotel as your destination, and for sharing your opinions with us. We are sorry to learn that you experienced certain inconveniences during your stay. Our Department Heads have been informed, and the necessary improvement measures will be taken. We remain grateful for your understanding, and look forward to welcoming you back at the Pestana Rio Atlantica Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Erico Guedes de Souza
Operation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

The only thing worthwhile about this hotel is its rooftop terrace and pool, which overlooks the Copacabana beach. The view is truly magnificent, That said, the rooms are highly overpriced, I had an oceanfront suite that was more expensive than any of the Four Seasons Hotel deluxe room yet the size and set up of that suite was far inferior and similar to a two star hotel suite room. The only thing I truly enjoyed about the room, other than it's beach facing terrace, was the water pressure in the shower. It seems like Rio has no problem with water.

Upon checking in, I was given a complimentary massage coupon to be used at the hotel spa. It was a mistake to wait till the last day of my stay to redeem that coupon. There was only one lade who was working. Of course, she was in the treatment room most of the time and no one was available to schedule my massage session, despite my effort to catch someone for over two hours. Finally, I had to give up.

The roof terrace and the hotel pool area were nice. But the food was overpriced. I would not recommend eating at the hotel other than the complimentary breakfast. There are numerous other choices nearby, except the one right in front/next to the hotel, another overpriced location with mediocre quality.

Overall, I would have chosen other 4 star hotels, had I been able to find vacancies. When you consider the service that is below average, overpriced rooms, dated gym equipment and mediocre restaurant food, I think this hotel should be rated as barely 3 star and that would be generous. The terrace view is worth it but you can have that by having lunch there. Don't waste your money on rooms.

Room Tip: Rooms with the ocean view...only two per floor available. Others have partial views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pestana, Manager at Pestana Rio Atlantica Hotel, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear Mr. Brian ,
Firstly, we would like to take this opportunity to thank you for choosing the Pestana Rio Atlantica Hotel as your destination, and for sharing your opinions with us. We are sorry to learn that you experienced certain inconveniences during your stay. Our Department Heads have been informed, and the necessary improvement measures will be taken. We remain grateful for your understanding, and look forward to welcoming you back at the Pestana Rio Atlantica Hotel in the near future.
Kind Regards,
Erico Guedes de Souza
Operation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
São Paulo, São Paulo, Brazil
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

The renovation is nearly complete, and the redo is creating a contemporary classic in Copa! I am a frequent guest - several times each month - and I appreciate the staff remembering me by name upon arrival and departure.

Pestana Rio Atlantica is now my preferred hotel in Rio. Previously, my preferred hotel a JW Marriott but when the hotel was unavailable I stayed at the nearby Pestana. Though the nightly rate is about half that of the JW Marriott, it was not my primary motivation for switching to the Pestana. I prefer the Pestana today because the staff are genuinely friendly and their service consistently excellent.

Room Tip: The rooftop bar offers best views - day and night - of Copacabana beach! Linens are equal to those...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pestana, Manager at Pestana Rio Atlantica Hotel, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Google Translation
Prezado Sr. Jim,
Em primeiro lugar agradecemos pela escolha do Pestana Rio Atlantica Hotel e pelo feedback pós sua estada no hotel. Tomamos a liberdade de compartilhar com nossos colaboradores as suas simpáticas palavras. Estaremos inteiramente à disposição em sua próxima viagem a cidade do Rio de Janeiro.
Cordialmente,
Erico Guedes de Souza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Copacabana
Arena Copacabana Hotel
Arena Copacabana Hotel
#15 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,784 reviews
Copacabana
Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel
Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hote...
#11 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,228 reviews
Copacabana
Rio Othon Palace Hotel
Rio Othon Palace Hotel
#47 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Copacabana
JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro
JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro
#16 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,008 reviews
Copacabana
Windsor Excelsior Hotel
Windsor Excelsior Hotel
#31 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,325 reviews
Copacabana
Tulip Inn Rio Copacabana
Tulip Inn Rio Copacabana
#73 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,058 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Rio Atlantica Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Rio Atlantica Hotel

Property: Pestana Rio Atlantica Hotel
Address: Avenida Atlantica 2964 | Copacabana, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22070-000, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#12 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#13 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#14 Spa Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#17 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#27 On the Beach Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#31 Luxury Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pestana Rio Atlantica Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 217
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Hotels.com so you can book your Pestana Rio Atlantica Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Rio Atlantica Hotel Rio De Janeiro, Brazil
Pestana Rio Atlantica De Janeiro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing