We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel in Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pestana Rio Atlantica Hotel
Ranked #61 of 281 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Newark, Delaware
Level Contributor
136 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Great Hotel in Great Location”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

We exchanged to Pestana Rio Atlantica through our RCI timeshare. We were there to celebrate our 25th anniversary and when Amanda heard this she upgraded us to a partial ocean view which was great. We had a one bedroom suite which had a bedroom with a king sized bed and a separate sitting room with a table on the 3rd floor. The free breakfast was amazing as not only did it have the usual continental breakfast items but also a choice of a hot item such as eggs or waffles. The location was excellent with many restaurant choices nearby, close to metro and buses and the nightly street fair. It is true that the locks on the balcony doors do not lock but we had both small and big towels and wash clothes everyday and they replenished the toiletries without us asking. The only other complaint I had was that they did not have a separate concierge so sometimes we needed to wait to talk with someone at the front desk. Overall a great place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eva P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pestana, Manager at Pestana Rio Atlantica Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for staying with us at the Pestana Rio Atlantica Hotel, and for taking the time to send us your valuable comments. It´s always gratifying to receive positive feedback, and your kind comments will be shared with all the staff members, whom I am certain will be encouraged with your remarks. We do hope to have the opportunity in the near future to welcome you, your friends and family back at our hotel, as we look forward to being of service.
Thank you again for having shared your experience with us.
Yours Sincerely,
Erico Guedes de Souza
Operation Manager
________________________________________
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,060
    730
    243
    123
    84
See reviews for
590
706
96
455
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
267 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012 via mobile

I have been at the recently renovated Pestana Rio de Janeiro. Located right in the middle the Copacabana beach, this hotel is very well located, I recommend to visite the beautiful terrace and order a caipirosca at the swimming pool bar

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HugoD33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pestana, Manager at Pestana Rio Atlantica Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear Mr. Daniel,
Thank you very much for your detailed review following your recent stay at the Pestana Rio Atlantica Hotel. Your comments are most appreciated. We always strive to provide a warm and welcoming experience to our guests, and we are happy that you enjoyed the hotels services and facilities. Please do not hesitate to contact me next time you visit us. We look forward to welcoming you back in Rio de Jamerio.
Yours Sincerely,
Erico Guedes
Operation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
78 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Stayed here for 8 nights. Had an ocean view room and it was wonderful. The rooftop is amazing.
It is close to good shopping, banks, and restaurants. It was great for walking out in the evenings along the beach - felt very safe and comfortable. I enjoyed the street vendors offering their wares - they were not assertive at all - once they understood you weren't interested, they left you alone.
There is a lot of traffic on the main street, but that is the same all over Rio.
Loved Copacabana beach soccer and volleyball. The ocean was nice and warm although a bit rough at times.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank philbert415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pestana, Manager at Pestana Rio Atlantica Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear Mr. Philbert,
We would like to thank you for staying with us at the Pestana Rio Atlantica Hotel, and for taking the time to send us your valuable comments. It´s always gratifying to receive positive feedback, and your kind comments will be shared with all the staff members, whom I am certain will be encouraged with your remarks. We do hope to have the opportunity in the near future to welcome you, your friends and family back at our hotel, as we look forward to being of service. Thank you again for having shared your experience with us.
Yours Sincerely.
Erico Guedes
Operation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We stayed in a renovated room. Purchased a "scenic ocean view room" but got a "scenic" next building wall view. Ocean was only visible from a 90 degree angle, when i turned my had out of a french balcony, sharply to the right. Renovated room is tastelly decorated in a modern style, but very small - don't expect to be able to fully stretch open a standard-size Samsonite suitcase and walk around it. Balcony door don't look. When in locked position, anyone can easily open them from outside. For a property advertised as a 5*, there is just too many small mistakes: no windows with sound proofing, traffic/street noise coming thru to the room all night. Bedding comes with holes, cleaning service does not daily replace toiletries, unless reminded to do so. Only one shower towel per guest provided, no small towels offered, unless specially requested. WiFi Internnet connection in rooms reliable, costs 35BRL per 24-hour, per device. If guest wants to connect a laptop and a smart phone, two internet passes need to be purchased. Breakfast is nice, but too modest for a 5* hotel (they only offer three sorts of bread). On a positive side, breakfast choice includes a small corner of healthy options. Front desk and restaurant staff does speak good english.
It was my first stay in Pestana hotel. As a regular Hilton family hotels guest, i was dissapointed and realised Pestana is not reaching similar level of quality. I hope other Pestana properties in other countries perform better.

Room Tip: if you want the real scenic view, book suites, only two per floor available. Quiter rooms as far awa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Nomadus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pestana, Manager at Pestana Rio Atlantica Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing the Pestana Rio Atlantica Hotel, and for your feedback regarding your stay. We are sorry to learn that your experience at our hotel did not meet your expectations. Your comments are being analyzed, and the necessary improvement measures will be taken regarding the services,
We look forward to welcoming you and to being of service.
Kind Regards,
Erico Guedes de Souza
Operation Manager
________________________________________
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

I booked a $300+ room for a weekend. The lobby is nice but checking in lasted forever. I got in to my room and heard some weird, strong noise. This was especially disturbing in light of the fact that in my reservation I emphasized that I wanted a quiet room. I checked what it was and it turned out that there was a hole in the wall. The old air conditioner was removed and they put a plywood plank in to plug the whole. Of course the wind on the 12th floor blew right through it causing the noise. I called the reception desk, they picked it up and told me they were very sorry and then they put me on hold forever. I went down, waited another 30 min in line and then asked them to give me another room. They took me to another one with a hole in the wall. It turns out, most of the rooms are like that. I went back to the reception desk and asked for a quiet room. They told me the hotel was full and I should wait because people were checking out and there might be an empty room. So I went to the business center and paid 6 dollars for 20 min of internet usage, because there was no wifi in the reception area. I booked another hotel and then went back to reception to let them know. They brought out the manager who begged me not to leave and offered me a luxury suite. Of course I declined. DO NOT STAY HERE.

Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
4 Thank Cool M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pestana, Manager at Pestana Rio Atlantica Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear Guest,
Firstly, we would like to take this opportunity to thank you for choosing the Pestana Rio Atlantica Hotel as your destination, and for sharing your opinions with us. We are sorry to learn that you experienced certain inconveniences during your stay. Our Department Heads have been informed, and the necessary improvement measures will be taken. We remain grateful for your understanding, and look forward to welcoming you back at the Pestana Rio Atlantica Hotel in the near future.
Kind Regards,
Erico Guedes de Souza
Operation Manager
________________________________________
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Basically, right on Copacabana beach. Lovely roof terrace with sweeping views and lively cage/bar area round the corner. Location therefore great.

Rooms small-ish but bearable, probably better than comparators given other reviews, but seems like south america has different norm. Facilities all ok and shower great. Condiiton good not great.

Breakfast - basic - think 3-4 meat options inc cheap protein i.e luncheon type meat. Restaurant is v small.

Service - reasonable but you get the feeling its not really big enough to pull off anything ambitious.

Next time I'd try another hotel just to see if there is better, this is ok, you wont go wrong but it wont elave you with that spring in your step about the really shrewd hotel choice you made that time you went to Rio.

Room Tip: Get a room at the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank boz1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pestana, Manager at Pestana Rio Atlantica Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for staying with us at the Pestana Rio Atlantica Hotel, and for taking the time to send us your valuable comments. It´s always gratifying to receive feedback, and your comments will be shared with all the staff members. We do hope to have the opportunity in the near future to welcome you, your friends and family back at our hotel, as we look forward to being of service. Thank you again for having shared your experience with us.
Yours Sincerely,
Erico Guedes
Operation Assistent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norwalk
Level Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012

ON business trip to Rio with Colleagues, we chose Pestina Rio Atlantica, Copa Cabana is the place to stay,, though there are alot of tourists, it has an easy /safe feel.. Regarding this outstanding hotel, were very impressed with the modern rooms, this hotel offered top notch service, staff more than happy to speak in English, or Portugese.. The rooftop lounge/pool is outstanding.. Towel service, bar service, breakfast, lunch and dinner poolside or in the main dining room,
Though internet will cost you 35 dollars a day,(24 hour period)... The rooms are amazing, and it seems that all of them have a view.. Breakfast is Buffet, and Lunch, Buffet, -very high end selections, artistry, bravo to the Chef... surprised to see Foi Gras on the Buffet selection!

The waitstaff is outstanding, and we felt very comfortable, in that the hotel is right across from the beach... they have towel service at the pool, and you are able to bring the pool towels to the beach, and the hotel also offers lounge chairs. (though we decided it is better to just pay the fee for the chair vendors on the beach, if you want to not look like a tourist lounging on an upscale chair.
We will be returning to this hotel again and again. THough it may be a little pricey, it was well worth it..
Bravo Pestana .. It is a Gorgeous hotel! with all the amenities! The best feature is the rooftop pool/lounge!

Room Tip: If you request ocean view/ you will get a terrace, but side view with the smaller terrace is a wonde...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nutmeggers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pestana, Manager at Pestana Rio Atlantica Hotel, responded to this review, August 18, 2012
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for staying with us at the Pestana XXXX Hotel, and for taking the time to send us your valuable comments. It´s always gratifying to receive positive feedback, and your kind comments will be shared with all the staff members, whom I am certain will be encouraged with your remarks. We do hope to have the opportunity in the near future to welcome you, your friends and family back at our hotel, as we look forward to being of service. Thank you again for having shared your experience with us.
Yours Sincerely,
______Manager__________________________________
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Copacabana
Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel
Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hote...
#15 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,286 reviews
Copacabana
Rio Othon Palace Hotel
Rio Othon Palace Hotel
#40 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 976 reviews
Copacabana
Arena Copacabana Hotel
Arena Copacabana Hotel
#20 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Copacabana
Windsor Excelsior Hotel
Windsor Excelsior Hotel
#31 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,359 reviews
Copacabana
JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro
JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro
#17 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,081 reviews
Copacabana
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
#3 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Rio Atlantica Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Rio Atlantica Hotel

Property: Pestana Rio Atlantica Hotel
Address: Avenida Atlantica 2964 | Copacabana, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22070-000, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#12 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#13 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#16 Spa Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#17 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#33 Luxury Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#33 On the Beach Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Pestana Rio Atlantica Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 217
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Pestana Rio Atlantica Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Rio Atlantica Hotel Rio De Janeiro, Brazil
Pestana Rio Atlantica De Janeiro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing