We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Belmond Copacabana Palace
Nearby Hotels
$200
JW Marriott
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Miramar Hotel by Windsor(Rio de Janeiro)(Great Value!)
$206
$112
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel(Rio de Janeiro)
$148
$120
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$245
$231
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Ipanema Inn(Rio de Janeiro)(Great Value!)
$110
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$230
$184
Sheraton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$173
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Rio Othon Palace Hotel(Rio de Janeiro)(Great Value!)
$103
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Arena Copacabana Hotel(Rio de Janeiro)(Great Value!)
$119
$85
Official Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
$500
$451
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Reviews (3,553)
Filter reviews
3,553 results
Traveler rating
2,720
575
161
52
45
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,720
575
161
52
45
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscipriani restaurantmain buildingiconic hotelgrand damepoolside restaurantpool areapool staffcity viewguest relationsbeautiful poolturn down serviceluxurious hotelfive star hotelour honeymoonconcierge deskhotel guestsbeach service
Filter
Updating list...
1,382 - 1,387 of 3,553 reviews
Reviewed February 19, 2009

We stayed here for 3 nights on our honeymoon, but couldn't help being a bit disappointed. The hotel was fine and we didn't experience any problems (we were in an ocean view room in the old building), but the place just feels like it's lost something since its hayday. For the price, I was expecting old school glamour, but instead it all felt a bit faded.
Compared to the Porto Bay Rio Internacional (about 2 doors down) where we stayed at the end of our trip, I don't feel like the CP offers good value for money. Great breakfasts though!

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 007Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2009

This is an absolutly perfect hotel: old charm, great view, cosy rooms, perfect pool, and above all: an excellent staf. Again many thanks to Samuelo for all the assistance when we had problems.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank friedaschlusmans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2009

This hotel is old and the rooms show their age with musty carpets,old television sets, and some dirty tiles in the bathroom. That can all be forgiven as this hotel lives on its past and when you stay there you don't expect designer furniture. What you do expect however is to be treated with respect as a guest paying a lot of money to stay there. When we were there Tom Cruise was staying in the hotel. All other guests including ourselves were told not to hang around in the reception(we were only wating for our tour guide). My mother who is 77 years old was denied a chair in the reception even though she was feeling unwell because of the heat and was told to go outside the hotel as she was obviously regarded as a security threat to Mr Cruise by the hotel management. We were not even allowed to take pictures in the hotel in case Mr Cruise accidently popped his head around the corner when we were taking photos.
To the management of the Orient Express group. Your hotel in Rio has a low occupancy rate already because of the global crisis . This week your management will have reduced the popularity of the Copacabana Palce further through their rudeness towards any guest apart from Tom Crusie and his entourage.The money from normal tourists who stay at this hotel secures your long term future and not the stars.who check in and out. My money is a good as any superstars but you can be sure I will not be spending it the Copacabana Palace hotel when I next visit Rio.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
10  Thank melita1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2009

In general I had a very pleasant stay at this hotel but the reception lobby is too small and we waited at least 15 - 20 minutes at check-in and another 20 or more to check out.

While wating to be attend at the reception you can however amuse yourself by watching how the porters manage to get all shapes and sizes of luggage down the large flight of stairs leading from the elevator landing to the front door. Hats off to the porters.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank 2A-1C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2009

My Husband and I, stayed at this hotel for 4 nights, as part of a three centre holiday. We really wanted to stay at this hotel, because of it's age (1930's) and history. I love Fred Astaire / Ginger Rogers, and apparently, they danced on the ballroom of the hotel, in the film "flying down to Rio". The other reason for wanting to stay at this hotel, is that we loved the Nacional de Cuba hotel in Havana, and thought it would have the same appeal, which it did !! Both have a hall of fame, showing the famous people, who have stayed there over the years. Our room, was more like an apartment, it was huge ! We had a sitting room, bedroom, bathroom and a lovely walk in wardrobe. Everywhere in the hotel was so clean, and the beautiful marble floors were polished until they shone. The pool area was lovely. The buffet breakfast was really nice, with a good choice of food. All of the staff at the hotel, were friendly, helpful and very attentive. In particular, the waiters at breakfast. They even took the time, to explain what some of the local exotic fruits were, and "how to eat them!" (sounds daft, but sometimes you're not always sure, which bits to eat or not eat, so you avoid them!) We really enjoyed trying something different, eg. we didn't know what a cashew fruit was, and that it was so juicy and tasty, and it was interesting to learn, that each fruit only produces one cashew nut (no wonder they cost so much !) Anyway, back to the review... The hotel is in a good position, overlooking the beach. If you are not fortunate enough to have a sea facing room, then you can go up to one of the higher floors, on to a balcony, to get a wonderful view of Copacabana beach, with some excellent photo opportunities! We enjoyed the local, friendly restaurants close to the hotel. We did have one unfortunate experience, involving my Husband having his (rolex) watch snatched from his wrist, but this was at night, and we had been warned not to wear jewellery etc. Don't be put off, because it's a wonderful place, this could happen in any City, just don't wear expensive jewellery / carry expensive camaras etc. The highlight of our visit to Rio, was visiting Corcovado and Sugarloaf mountain, breathtaking scenery, and Christ the Redeemer was incredible! Another interesting trip to do, is a tour of the Fevelas, a real insight into local housing / life. We used a tour company, who give part of the proceeds, to projects within the community eg. after school schemes etc. Overall, we had a brilliant time in Rio, and at the beautiful Copacabana Palace. We would recommend everyone to stay there.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LOVEPRINCEANDTRAVEL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews