We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"THE" Hotel to be in Rio!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Belmond Copacabana Palace
Ranked #3 of 283 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 3, 2014

Copabana Palace always was and still is a landmark in Brazil!
All staff was really amazing! From Reception, Concierge, pool atendants to f&b team at Pergula were attentive and noticing in all details.
The Hotel is marvelous and the service flawless!! This is THE Hotel to be in Rio!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank FSLisbonSM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adriano S, Assistant to the General Manager at Belmond Copacabana Palace, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2014

Dear Guest,
it is amazing when we receive such a positive review like yours.
We are very glad to be informed about your stay and that you've gotten a remarkable impression.

All the best,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,312)
There are newer reviews for Belmond Copacabana Palace
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

788 - 794 of 3,314 reviews

Reviewed March 28, 2014

Stayed here for 3 days and although expensive in the end we were glad to have paid the money. The hotel scene in Rio is not very great but this hotel is pretty good. We opted to get a room facing Copacabana beach and it was great. The room itself was not really 5 star and we actually looked into changing rooms because the carpet was damp/wet. The staff were very helpful and actually offered us the top end room on the top floor. The breakfast is excellent but be careful on your eating times because depending on hotel occupancy the room may be full.

Hotel is located in a decent location that is also safe for easy strolls to the beach and nearby shopping street. There is also a grocery store about two blocks away. There is also a business center in hotel that has computers for use. Staff were friendly and very helpful. The only downfall of the location of this hotel is it is really not near the restaurants and drinking venues of Rio. Not a problem though, hotel are always out front and relatively cheap. There is also a bike rental about a block away. I would consider staying here again, no major issues with our stay.

Room Tip: room with balcony facing beach, pool views are not very good.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Leslie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adriano S, Assistant to the General Manager at Belmond Copacabana Palace, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2014

Dear guest,
We were really very happy to have received your comments. Although resolved by the team, we would like to apologize for the initial incident in your room. Still on what you have observed about the neighborhood of Copacabana, one of its advantages is being close and via to various other parts of Rio, where they can also be found other restaurants and shopping centers.
All the best,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2014

A World famous landmark with a high price tag to match the prime location in Rio. Reception staff very false/unhelpful throughout stay which started with being given an older room located in the Annex building separate from the main, original Palace. Complaint at 1am eventually resulted in a change of room to a newly renovated option back in the Palace building. This was finally excellent but took numerous visits to Management at reception to arrange. Coffee was served cold at breakfast similar to the overall atmosphere of the hotel, which is also generally very cold. The hotel's Italian restaurant (said to be one of the best in Rio!) is a disaster from service all the way to the tiny servings and the over-priced menu. The only helpful staff to be found were the maids and the Concierge. A nice place to stay for a once-in-a-lifetime moment but a significant overhaul of staff and training needed to make this place really special for everyone. Will avoid in the future.

Room Tip: Insist on a new room in the main Palace building - not in the Annex (different building).
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank baoluo8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adriano S, Assistant to the General Manager at Belmond Copacabana Palace, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2014

Dear Guest,
First of all, we would like to express our apologies for the episodes occured in your last stay. Indeed It will be very difficult to clarify what happened because you have posted your report quite recently and, according to your report, you stayed here in June of 2013, around ten months before. But I assure that your feedback will the transmitted to the teams in order to avoid situations as mentioned.
All the best,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

Rio, for us, was probably a once in a lifetime destination so there was no way "how much" came into the equation when we were choosing a hotel. We wanted the best and in the best location and the Copacabana Palace was our first choice and daylight second. For our 3 night stay we booked a beach view room in the original classic building rather than in the newer addition. From memory we were on the 5th floor and our room and view were fabulous. Great bed, nice furnishings, luxury bathroom - and fantastic service from house-keeping. Security is pretty hot in Copacabana Palace and security guys are discreetly everywhere which is very reassuring. We had a couple of lunches and a dinner at the more relaxed poolside dining area and the meals were excellent and pretty good value for money. Breakfast was included in our rate and things do get pretty hectic on weekends with service staff rushed off their feet and sometimes missing in action - we were there to relax so we just enjoyed the view and the coffee eventually turned up. This is a very historic hotel that was originally built as a casino and its transition into a hotel has been accomplished spectacularly well. Staff are all brilliant and very friendly -- nothing is too much trouble. If you are only going to be in Rio once you have to come here!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank yungkara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adriano S, Assistant to the General Manager at Belmond Copacabana Palace, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2014

Dear Guest,
thank you for sharing your experience at our hotel. We have much joy in being able to provide for everyone who stayed with us and use our services the very best in customer care.
All the best,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2014

Beautiful classic hotel in great location offering excellent service overall. Couldn't fault our room (2nd floor suite overlooking beach), it was very well equipped and maintained, spacious, efficient air-con and extremely comfortable bed.
Also, really appreciated the lovely touch of the sparkling wine in our room - many thanks!
Only slight criticism was the pool bar. It didn't really have a proper designated area where you could comfortably sit and enjoy a relaxed drink during the day. Only place was in the outside section of restaurant, but it didn't feel right sitting amongst the diners in casual pool gear, plus at mealtimes you couldn't get a table.
Having said all that, would definitely stay again as overall we had a wonderful and memorable week there!

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Anne_elizabeth41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adriano S, Assistant to the General Manager at Belmond Copacabana Palace, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for posting your comments. We are very glad to know about your remarkable stay. Concerning what you pointed out at the pool, indeed, we have set a bar service point which provides drinks to the all the surrounding area during the day. At night we also have our Cipriani Bar that is very cozy.

Thank you very much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2014

We picked this Hotel for one night stay only to close or Brazil trip and to relax a little bit after "hard times" during carnaval and then traveling through Brazil. It was really worth it. I am not going to compare 5 stars here with 5 stars somewhere else....just our impressions and experience:
you get attention all the time, from the first moment you arrive. All our requests were met. Everbody is very friendly, efficient and helpful. Whole facility is shows its past and current luxury.
The bedroom is big enough, bathroom huge. We did not care much about the pool as beach is in front of the hotel.
The breakfast was excellent, staff freindly serving all request they could read in our eyes.
The hotel has an excellent spa. We tried Italian restaurant. Everything is clean and stunning...ready for Football Worldcup and Olympics.

Room Tip: We did not have Chance to select the rooms as we were late with booking and also checked-in very lat...
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 7maco7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adriano S, Assistant to the General Manager at Belmond Copacabana Palace, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2014

Dear Guest,
We are very grateful to receive your positive feedback concerning your last stay with us. World Cup and Olimpic Games will be a very exciting moment that we are eager to come.

All the best,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2014

Absolutely love this place. Unsurpassed location on copacabana beach. Great staff that could not be more helpful. Rooms are beautiful and upgraded. Pool scene and restaurants are first rate. Great hotel in any city. Even better in Rio.

Room Tip: Pool and ocean view suites in new building are amazing
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patrick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adriano S, Assistant to the General Manager at Belmond Copacabana Palace, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for posting your comments. We are very glad to know that you've got a remarkable and unforgettable stay with us.

All the best,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Copacabana
Hilton Rio de Janeiro Copacabana
Hilton Rio de Janeiro Copacabana
#15 of 283 in Rio de Janeiro
2,704 reviews
Copacabana
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
#2 of 283 in Rio de Janeiro
2,425 reviews
Copacabana
PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel
PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel
#18 of 283 in Rio de Janeiro
2,357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Copacabana
JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro
JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro
#19 of 283 in Rio de Janeiro
2,205 reviews
Ipanema
Hotel Fasano Rio de Janeiro
Hotel Fasano Rio de Janeiro
#4 of 283 in Rio de Janeiro
1,478 reviews
Copacabana
Arena Copacabana Hotel
Arena Copacabana Hotel
#21 of 283 in Rio de Janeiro
1,906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Copacabana Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Copacabana Palace

Address: Avenida Atlantica, 1702, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22021-001, Brazil
Phone Number:
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#1 Spa Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#1 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#1 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#3 Luxury Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range: $269 - $760 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Copacabana Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 239
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the famous Copacabana Beach, the Belmond Copacabana Palace is known as the most luxury hotel in Brazil. A symbol of sophistication and refinement, the Belmond Copacabana Palace offers an impeccable service, excellent cuisine and luxurious accommodation, confirming its tradition of ideal place to stay in Rio de Janeiro. The Belmond Copacabana Palace offers three restaurants inside its facilities; the Italian Cipriani, the Pergula Restaurant, with Brazilian and international cuisine, located next to the pool and the new Pan-Asian restaurant awarded with a prestigious Michelin Star, Mee. Apart from being a landmark in one of the most beautiful areas of Brazil, the hotel is also a center of wellbeing. It offers one of the main spas in the country, with different types of treatments, as well as a beauty salon, both open to the public. It also has a boutique with national and international brands and exclusive pieces. The exclusive Beach service offers sun loungers, umbrellas and water for the guests. The personalized treatment enchants the guests and provides a family atmosphere, making everybody feel at home. The hotel is also known as one of the most sort after venues for parties and Rio´s social events. It has a convention center with ten different rooms and salons of different sizes and shapes, to suite the various needs of the clients. For parties, the hotel offers the luxurious Golden Room, the Nobre Room and the Copacabana Rooms, which can be used for cocktails, dinners, wedding receptions, business meetings and other large parties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Belmond Copacabana Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copacabana Palace By Orient-Express Hotel Rio De Janeiro
Copacabana Palace Rio De Janeiro
Copacabana Palace Hotel
Belmond Copacabana Palace Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing