We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand, old-fashioned luxury in this iconic hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Belmond Copacabana Palace
Ranked #3 of 282 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Grand, old-fashioned luxury in this iconic hotel”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

There are few occasions when you get the chance to stay in one of the world's great hotels. I can highly recommend the Palace. The location, service, surroundings, pool, quality of room... All perfect. The staff were excellent and room service was not only delicious but quite reasonably priced! We stayed for our honeymoon and the staff at the palace made it really special. If you're going to Rio, why stay anywhere else?

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danhux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,441
    535
    149
    48
    38
See reviews for
532
1,436
177
424
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (397)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

By far the best hotel in Rio, according to Trip Advisor, our expectations were high and these were certainly met on arrival in terms of location and exterior first impressions.

I am sorry to say, however, in my strong opinion, this hotel has been much over-rated by reviewers, and I cannot understand why. On entry, the lobby is uninspiring and bland, but worse still, it is also very dirty. By the check-in desk there is a seating area with a floor rug which was covered in stains and a sofa similarly so. As I sat there observing while my spouse went through an interminably long check in, I was already disappointed with standards.
Eventually, we were accompanied to our rooms, but when I saw that the carpet in the lift was again thick with marks and stains, I began to dislike this hotel and had that sinking feeling that our stay would not be all that we had expected.
The rooms - and we had supposedly "deluxe" ones - were in the category of acceptable, nothing special and by no means luxurious. The original windows of the entire seaward facing side of the building have been double glazed with cheap and ill-fitting frames. In one of our rooms the outside window would not close. Also, the art works on the walls were poor quality local views which had been badly hung in terms of art work size to wall space ratio.
But the most annoying thing about the rooms was the maid service. Each morning all our clothes and other items were tidied away in such a way that it was impossible to find things. Our chargers were unplugged and put in drawers, clean items of clothing were folded and put in the wardrobe with items due for laundry etc., and, worst of all, my spouse could not find any socks for a couple of days. These came to light stuffed into our shoe bags, inside an empty suitcase!
Pubic areas of the hotel were again under-whelming and had echoes of old fashioned four star hotels in Italy, albeit with the addition of the unecessary and dirty rugs everywhere.
Guest staff ratio was normal for a five star hotel, but only more senior members speak English. When comis waiters fail to understand requests, these more senior members intervene to help only if called for by the guest. There is an air of complacency and one is left with a feeling that staff do not care about the guests.
Nowhere was this more evident than in the Cipriani restaurant. Borrowing heavily on the Venetian brand for authenticity, no one from the Maitre downwards speaks Italian and staff are unable to pronounce the items on the menu (correctly written) in Italain. After seating us, we never saw the Maitre again and no one asked us if we were enjoying our meal at any stage. The air of neglect was manifest further by lengthy discussions amongst the waiters who seemed uninterested in giving good service. Our food was tolerable.

My final comment on the Copacabana concerns dress code, or lack of it. Anything, or lack of anything goes here, in all public areas. Whilst I appreciate management must walk a fine line in Rio, where even in winter it is hot, and where the relaxed culture prevails, I would have thought at least in the Cipriani restaurant, for dinner, there would have been some sort of dress code. Shorts, t shirts, beach dresses, flip flops etc, are ubiquitous, Even in the Cipriani. We found this disconcerting.

After we left the hotel, we heard from a friend that there is a superior floor at the top of the building with a granite swimming pool and on this floor the atmosphere is very different. Clearly, we had been designated as second class, but no one offered any other possibility of better rooms on check-in. We would gladly have up-graded had we thought our experience could have been improved.

Under its current management, this is not a hotel I would recommend and when I return to Rio, I will stay elsewhere.

Room Tip: As there is a hotel within a hotel at the Copacabana, it is essential you understand this. The spec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Top_cat_travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adriano S, Assistant to General Manager at Belmond Copacabana Palace, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Dear Guest,
First of all, we would like to express how concerned we are by reading your comments. Although the matters are quite unusual comparing to the several previous positive reviews that were already posted, we assure you that we will check each aspect you highlighted due to their relevance. In addition, accept our sincere apologies for the inconveniences. It is our constant effort improving our services and all the feedbacks are valuable and analysed.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

Very safe, staff really friendly and polite. Always there to help. Beach service really handy and safe.
The restaurant have a great breakfast buffet.
Reception and Door man are really efficient. My second time round and really recommend this place.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 87MGT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

The Copacabana Palace is a fantastic, iconic hotel. The location is excellent for exploring different parts of Rio and right on the beach too. Rooms are lovely, facilities can't be faulted, service is excellent and the breakfast is especially good. We didn't try the hotel restaurant as it was a bit pricy but there are a variety of restaurants within walking distance. We stayed here for our honeymoon and it was an excellent treat.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Cat P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
49 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

This hotel reminds me greatly of European hotels.....until I look out and see the grand beach and ocean. This hotel is top of the line in every way.....from the clean rooms and common areas....to the courteous staff.....and the beautiful way this hotel is decorated. During my stay, there was always someone to answer my questions and help in any way possible. If you go to Rio, staying here is a must.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WorldTraveler55711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

This is a real majestic property located in front of the Copa Cabana beach. Rooms are very spacious, food is excellent, and the staff is very friendly. Special thanks to Orient Express for their magical properties, with great locations and outstanding service. We stayed at their 4 properties namely: Miraflores in Lima, Monasterio in Cuzco, Das Cataratas in Iguassu, and Copa Cabana in Rio. We had the best experience and would love to stay at their other properties.

Room Tip: Book a room with ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anandatraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Basel-Stadt, Switzerland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We came from Hotel das Cataratas in Iguazu to Copacabana Palace, both Hotels belong to the Orien-Express chain. They did fast check in to us and had in our room a refreseshment to welcome us, that was a very pleasant surprise. Breakfast bufffet is fastastic, it's international breakfast with wide variaty of chices, including local fruits and breads. Localltion is very good and breach service in Copacabana uncomparable. We will definitely come back to this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Noelia_Silvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Copacabana
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
#2 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
2,353 reviews
Copacabana
Hilton Rio de Janeiro Copacabana
Hilton Rio de Janeiro Copacabana
#14 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
2,614 reviews
Ipanema
Hotel Fasano Rio de Janeiro
Hotel Fasano Rio de Janeiro
#5 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
1,454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jacarepaguá
Hilton Barra Rio de Janeiro
Hilton Barra Rio de Janeiro
#1 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
1,239 reviews
Copacabana
JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro
JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro
#19 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
2,116 reviews
Copacabana
PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel
PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel
#16 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
2,303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Copacabana Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Copacabana Palace

Property: Belmond Copacabana Palace
Address: Avenida Atlantica, 1702, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22021-001, Brazil
Phone Number:
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#1 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#1 Spa Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#1 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#3 Luxury Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Copacabana Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 239
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the famous Copacabana Beach, the Belmond Copacabana Palace is known as the most luxury hotel in Brazil. A symbol of sophistication and refinement, the Belmond Copacabana Palace offers an impeccable service, excellent cuisine and luxurious accommodation, confirming its tradition of ideal place to stay in Rio de Janeiro. The Belmond Copacabana Palace offers three restaurants inside its facilities; the Italian Cipriani, the Pergula Restaurant, with Brazilian and international cuisine, located next to the pool and the new Pan-Asian restaurant awarded with a prestigious Michelin Star, Mee. Apart from being a landmark in one of the most beautiful areas of Brazil, the hotel is also a center of wellbeing. It offers one of the main spas in the country, with different types of treatments, as well as a beauty salon, both open to the public. It also has a boutique with national and international brands and exclusive pieces. The exclusive Beach service offers sun loungers, umbrellas and water for the guests. The personalized treatment enchants the guests and provides a family atmosphere, making everybody feel at home. The hotel is also known as one of the most sort after venues for parties and Rio´s social events. It has a convention center with ten different rooms and salons of different sizes and shapes, to suite the various needs of the clients. For parties, the hotel offers the luxurious Golden Room, the Nobre Room and the Copacabana Rooms, which can be used for cocktails, dinners, wedding receptions, business meetings and other large parties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Belmond Copacabana Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copacabana Palace By Orient-Express Hotel Rio De Janeiro
Copacabana Palace Rio De Janeiro
Copacabana Palace Hotel
Belmond Copacabana Palace Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing