We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel at a prime location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Belmond Copacabana Palace
Ranked #3 of 283 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Totally enjoyed my stay in late April/early May. Was traveling on business and the location couldn't have been better. The city view room was a tad small, but fine for a single business traveler. Everything was spotless and the bathroom was plenty roomy. Loved having my breakfast by the pool every morning.. your choice inside or out. WiFi worked without a hitch, which is important when conducting business. Staff was always friendly and courteous. Didn't get a chance to have dinner at the hotel, but was told the food in the Italian restaurant was very good. It is situated right across the street from Copacabana beach (no hotels are right on the beach, but they are steps away), although since on business I didn't have time to enjoy the beach.

Will definitely make this my hotel of choice when doing business in Rio. I have stayed at other hotels, and was not pleased half as much. Great value for the money....

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ranunculas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adriano S, Assistant to the General Manager at Belmond Copacabana Palace, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2013

Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you very much for sending your kind message and very positive feedback. Your words reinforce that we are in the right way in order to provide excellent service and accomodations to our guests and clients.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,307)
There are newer reviews for Belmond Copacabana Palace
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

936 - 942 of 3,307 reviews

Reviewed May 19, 2013

My husband and I have visited Rio numerous times over the past several years, but have never stayed at the Copacabana Palace until last month What a lovely surprise! First Class all the way!
The hotel retains its splendor, glamour and charm. It has a wonderful style and has been beautifully maintained
We stayed in a pool suite overlooking the pool and beach and was more like a luxury apartment than a hotel room. The Pergula restaurant by the pool was just a delightful place in terms of atmosphere
But it's the Copa's flawless service that makes it a world class hotel. From the moment we walked in, the staff was warm, attentive and always smiling . Thanks to Rafaela Pereira and Fernanda from Pergula restaurant
The location isn’t the best, but what it lacks in location it makes up for in hospitality and charm. One suggestion: improve the wifi signal
We thoroughly enjoyed every moment of our two day stay at the Copa and we would not hesitate to suggest this hotel to anyone

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mkm4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adriano S, Assistant to the General Manager at Belmond Copacabana Palace, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for sending and sharing your comments. We are very happy to know about your remarkable stay with us. Regarding to your sugestions, we will verify carefully.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

I booked, requested a particular room in advance (highest floor, ocean view WITH a Balcony!!)
And..... I GOT IT!!!
That is just the starters!! but actually MADE the trip, so for you out there who think "Room" doesn't matter, it does!!! On Many levels... Like, I looked at the suite next to my room, it had NO balcony (VERY Few rooms do in the main building) and it didn't have an extra half bath, so it was dead "extra room" and I made out totally on the room I had!
ALL rooms in the main building, as you may know, were totally renovated as of just earlier this year!
Bathroom- To Die for... DOUBLE SINKS (HUGE with me) as well as a great tub and separate shower.
TOP notch on all.... I never ever saw room service and my room was attended to every time I left!!
OK- I wish I could just BOTTLE THE SMELL of the Lobby which heads into the gorgeous Outside Breakfast Area..... Entering this place is feast amoung the senses..... can't explain it and it is something I miss so much.
Bottom Line, there is NO OTHER PLACE TO STAY except the Palace; is is History; Circa 1923
It is on the BEST BEACH!!! I can't believe what others say about Copacabana... it was SPOTLESS and SAFE and MUCH MUCH nicer than Ipanema!!!
Beyond a doubt the best place ever to stay!!!!!!!!!! I CAN'T wait to go back!!!!!!

Room Tip: Well, besides the Penthouse, the best room is 506...... top floor, ocean view and.... WITH A BALCON...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MagicalTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adriano S, Assistant to the General Manager at Belmond Copacabana Palace, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2013

Dear guest,
Thank you very much for posting your valuable and amazing comments about the hotel and the district of Copacabana. We are glad that we are succesfull in providing a memorable experience.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

The hotel is beautiful! The rooms are perfect and the service also very good.
People from the hotel is very helpful.
The swimming pool is great! I love to stay there. It was my second time.
You can walk to Arpoador in the afternoon to see the sunset. After this you can go to Colombo in
Copacabana Fort. It's amazing!
I recomend this hotel!

Room Tip: The best rooms have a beach view.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Remilano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adriano S, Assistant to the General Manager at Belmond Copacabana Palace, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2013

Dear Guest,
It is so amazing to read nice and emotional comments about your experience and stay with us. Thank you very much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

The best hotel in Rio is in the image of its city: gorgeous location, iconic building, beautiful rooms (especially those in the back building), inefficient and lackadaisical service. By international standards, the location and building are 5-star+, the service is (barely) 4-star. Great breakfast and week-end buffets.i

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lam N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adriano S, Assistant to the General Manager at Belmond Copacabana Palace, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2013

Dear guest,
Thank you for posting your personal message about your stay with us. Although it is amazing read the positive impressions related to the city and the hotel, we are really concerned of your observation regarding to our service. We truly would like to check better what happened because it is not detailed.

Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

For the price we paid the least I expected on arrival and departure was somebody to help us with our luggage but nobody did, 4 members of security staff even watched us struggle out past the pool area on our departure.

We had a number of issues with the hotel during our stay including noise from the bar downstairs which we were promised would cease at midnight but there was no let up at 1am so we had no choice but to take another room for the night if we wanted to sleep. Pool service was inconsistent, we only received turndown 1 night out of 4 and when we ordered poached eggs at breakfast they arrived as we were leaving. I could go on and on however we took the opportunity to speak to the Duty Manager to discuss this and he waived our bill however, I would much rather pay for my food and drinks and have good service. My husband even emailed the Duty Manager directly, soon after our stay with constructive advice but he never received a reply which was disappointing but they do have a lot of famous guests so maybe they are just very busy.

Yes, it's a very iconic hotel within the Copacabana area and at the moment it is the only 5 star (accredited) hotel in that location. Rio, however is a fantastic city and the local people are very welcoming, we never felt unsafe.

Room Tip: Take a high floor for sleep quality
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank HerRubyship
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adriano S, Assistant to the General Manager at Belmond Copacabana Palace, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2013

Dear Guest,
Firstly we were extremely concerned to read the detailed content of your message. We apologize most sincerety for all the unpleasant incidents you and your husband may had. We will check all the matters you highlighted in order to avoid situations as mentioned.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Excellent boutique-type hotel with spacious rooms and a stone's throw from the world famous Copacabana beach. Service was above par, the breakfast spread was simply scrumptious and they even flew the Malaysian flag during my stay - truly amazing!

Room Tip: The rooms are not cheap but I wished I had paid slightly more for sea facing rooms.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ed R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adriano S, Assistant to the General Manager at Belmond Copacabana Palace, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013

Dear Sir,
We would like to express how grateful we are after read your kind comment. It is truly amazing that you noted the flag. It is a way to honor the nationality of our guests.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Copacabana
Hilton Rio de Janeiro Copacabana
Hilton Rio de Janeiro Copacabana
#15 of 283 in Rio de Janeiro
2,698 reviews
Copacabana
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
#2 of 283 in Rio de Janeiro
2,421 reviews
Copacabana
PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel
PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel
#17 of 283 in Rio de Janeiro
2,354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Copacabana
JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro
JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro
#19 of 283 in Rio de Janeiro
2,202 reviews
Ipanema
Hotel Fasano Rio de Janeiro
Hotel Fasano Rio de Janeiro
#4 of 283 in Rio de Janeiro
1,478 reviews
Copacabana
Arena Copacabana Hotel
Arena Copacabana Hotel
#20 of 283 in Rio de Janeiro
1,897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Copacabana Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Copacabana Palace

Address: Avenida Atlantica, 1702, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22021-001, Brazil
Phone Number:
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#1 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#1 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#1 Spa Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#3 Luxury Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range: $270 - $785 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Copacabana Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 239
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the famous Copacabana Beach, the Belmond Copacabana Palace is known as the most luxury hotel in Brazil. A symbol of sophistication and refinement, the Belmond Copacabana Palace offers an impeccable service, excellent cuisine and luxurious accommodation, confirming its tradition of ideal place to stay in Rio de Janeiro. The Belmond Copacabana Palace offers three restaurants inside its facilities; the Italian Cipriani, the Pergula Restaurant, with Brazilian and international cuisine, located next to the pool and the new Pan-Asian restaurant awarded with a prestigious Michelin Star, Mee. Apart from being a landmark in one of the most beautiful areas of Brazil, the hotel is also a center of wellbeing. It offers one of the main spas in the country, with different types of treatments, as well as a beauty salon, both open to the public. It also has a boutique with national and international brands and exclusive pieces. The exclusive Beach service offers sun loungers, umbrellas and water for the guests. The personalized treatment enchants the guests and provides a family atmosphere, making everybody feel at home. The hotel is also known as one of the most sort after venues for parties and Rio´s social events. It has a convention center with ten different rooms and salons of different sizes and shapes, to suite the various needs of the clients. For parties, the hotel offers the luxurious Golden Room, the Nobre Room and the Copacabana Rooms, which can be used for cocktails, dinners, wedding receptions, business meetings and other large parties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Belmond Copacabana Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copacabana Palace By Orient-Express Hotel Rio De Janeiro
Copacabana Palace Rio De Janeiro
Copacabana Palace Hotel
Belmond Copacabana Palace Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing