We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pure Pleasure”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Belmond Copacabana Palace
Ranked #3 of 286 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 31, 2013

We arrived on a Saturday morning after a 9 hour flight. The hotel is approximately 30 minutes from the airport and located directly across the road from the Atlantic Ocean. An absolutely stunning art deco facade awaits as you pull into the drop off area.

Unfortunately, our reservation was lost, but Catarina did a terrific job of problem solving and had us in a beautiful ocean view room on the fifth floor within an hour. The room was exquisite. Abundant closet space and tasteful decor. A terrific bathroom with spacious tub, walk in shower with large rain head, dual sinks, and granite everywhere. This bath is tasteful and functional. The bed was extremely comfortable with perfect linens. The windows open to the sound of a busy street and the wonderful roar of the ocean. In short, this room was as nice as one would find at any five star hotel in the states.

Breakfast is served in a restaurant which overlooks the pool. Indoor and outdoor seating abounds. The buffet is full of fresh fruits and pastries. Scrambled eggs are served as well as waffles and french toast. Eggs to order are available from the kitchen. Brazilian coffee is terrific.The fare is good but not great. I'm told by the new food and beverage manager that change is coming.

Lunch was average. The caesar salad was a disaster. Pasta dishes were better. A wrap of crab meat and cheese stunk. The menu is unwieldy and the kitchen slow. Change is hopefully coming soon.

The staff at the restaurant is beyond terrific. Santos oversees the operation and does a great job. The servers are super friendly and attentive and more than make up for the average food. I am unable to adequately express in words how warm and friendly the restaurant staff is, but rest assured you will leave loving them.

The setting surrounding the pool is lovely. The bar inside the hotel is small but well staffed. Drinks are well executed and the bartenders are also first class.

The gym is adequate. Several treadmills and other aerobic equipment are available, as well as free weights and machines.

The front desk staff is beyond compare. Juliana, the front desk manager, is a total pro who goes the extra mile to make each guest feel valued. She personifies grace and class. Her staff closely follows her example.

The property is located right on the beach. A four kilometer multi use path borders the beach and is used by runners and bikers. The beach is wide and well used day and night. The surf is rough and requires caution.

This is by any measure a terrific property. The hotel is beautiful and well maintained. The staff is beyond compare and the rooms in the main building as one would expect from a five star property. Don't stay anywhere else in Rio.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OhioMaranello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adriano S, Assistant to the General Manager at Belmond Copacabana Palace, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2013

Dear guest,
We would like to thank you for posting your comments. We are very glad in knowing that you got a remarkable and unforgetable experience with us as well as your compliments related to our front office and restaurant teams and remarks of some positive aspects of the hotel like our pool, room, bar, and spa and surrounding area. Regarding to what you highlighted about the restaurant, we will verify carefully each topic in other to make the necessary improvements.
Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,375)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

990 - 996 of 3,375 reviews

Reviewed March 31, 2013

We stayed at the Copacabana Palace on our last day in the Argentina/Brazil. We heard that Ipanema was the place to stay (they were right!) but we wanted to at least stay one day in Copa so the Palace was the place :)

The location was great, with a few bars and restaurants but truth be told, Ipanema is better. Ipanama is filled with bars and restaurants and seemed to be in a better /"safer" location.

The hotel is beautiful. It stands out from the rest of the street and truly looks like a palace. Check-in was very easy and the front desk was able to check-us in 3 hours early (yes!)

The hotel and our hotel room was older but we found this to be endearing. The hotel was a majestic, old feel to it. We spent a few hours later that night going through abandoned halls and doors, finding a number of old dining halls and sitting rooms. It was quite fun.

Room
Finally! A hotel with high quality pillows, sheets and towels. Felt so good after over a week of less than par. The couch and the pillows were older but again, we found this endearing. The TV was located in one of those weird hydraulic machines where if you push a button, the TV pops up right in front of your bed.

Havanians were included in two sizes, which is a very cute gesture.

The cleaning service was on point. Everything was incredibly clean and the staff was very attentive. We booked a package deal that included champagne, truffles and a late check-out and the staff was great with it all.

We had breakfast in the Purgula (sp?) Restaurant and it was the best one yet. Upwards of 20 different fruits, egg choices, meats and breads. The fresh juices were better here than anywhere else.

We had a lucky break and were in the hotel when Tom Cruise stayed. It was very entertaining to watch all the crowds and screaming fans as he exited the hotel to his car.

Room Tip: Ask for a pool view or beach view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelbuglove83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adriano S, Assistant to the General Manager at Belmond Copacabana Palace, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2013

Dear guest,
We are very grateful after read your valuable and kind comment. It was a pleasure to have you as our guest.

With best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

I have stayed here on business and did a romantic Holy Week stay this time. Great as always and this time I had time to enjoy the hotel. I was assigned Room 414 in the main building, very comfortable, partial sea view, view of pool. We had lunch and breakfast at the hotel restaurant. We went on the terrace over the lobby to watch Tom Cruise depart the hotel today - huge crowd of screaming fans were outside awaiting him and he took time for photos and autographs with hotel guests.

Swimming pool is great. When we went to the beach club, no more chairs, but we took two towels and went to a public beach area and rented an umbrella and chairs which turned out to better. Hotel beach area is far from the sea and all the chairs are next to each other, The public area was right on the sea and appropriate space was between us and our neighbors and of course the public area was more folkloric and fun that the stuffy hotel area (and we had better cocktails in the public area.) I hope no chairs are avilalbe when we return tomorrow again. Look forward to my next stay at this hotel

Room Tip: Easy to walk to the Ipanema and Rio is much safer today than it was a few years ago - at least if fe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Happy_on_the_road
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

We very much enjoyed our 4 nights at this hotel. We had a de luxe room with a beach view. It was spacious, and worth paying for. We enjoyed the hotel swimming pool. It is very large, and never seemed to be crowded. We thought the breakfast buffet was one of the best we have encountered anywhere else. Service at the desk was helpful. We would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: De luxe beach view room in main building was spacious and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Passerby-TA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Location and facilities are simply great. Room which was in the connecting building and not in the main one is nice, quiet, big bed, big bathroom so all great. Airport pick-up by hotel is responsible and comfy, you can charge it on the room. Staff in the hotel very friendly.

Just some highlights on some fields how it could be even better:

- service in the restaurant during breakfast and other occasions was friendly but kind of slow
- there is no ATM within the building, would be more handy to have one especially that some international cards are still not working properly at many places in the country so only "rescue" is cash if you want e.g. to use a regular cab (normally they don't accept cards). security is good in the surroundings of the hotel and there are some ATMs but would be nicer to take it inside hotel in some circumstances
- tomatoes for breakfast :) apart from this selection is nice, especially from fruits!!
- staff at reception is really friendly, they show they care but check-out took around 25 minutes and just needed the company name published on the final invoice. this could have been done in 3 minutes

Overall stay was very pleasant and positive, I hope that I can return one day!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kofia99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adriano S, Assistant to the General Manager at Belmond Copacabana Palace, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Dear Guest,
We really appreciate your comments and it is a great pleasure to know that you enjoyed your stay. Regarding your valuable highlights, we will verify them carefully.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

This place is really extra class. The rooms are finely decorated. It gint a huge swimming pool with a great restaurant. Only on the road is the most famous beach in the world. Those who spend their holidays here can enjoy from the first second.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

We have had the good fortune to stay in many classic hotels and I was delighted to see that this hotel has retained every shred of the 1920's era classic decor and attention to detail that one would hope for. Its a five star property in every way...on the inside. Unfortunately, the surrounding area isn't what it must have once been. Since we have everything we need here, we don't really need to venture into the neighborhood other than to the ATM, but its unfortunately a run down area around the hotel. That wouldn't stop me from coming back to this world class classic hotel, run with attention to old world style. Its a work of art.

Room Tip: The rooms in the new building with balconies, numbers ending in 51 and 52 are amazing with views ove...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeff w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Copacabana
Hilton Rio de Janeiro Copacabana
Hilton Rio de Janeiro Copacabana
#17 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
2,769 reviews
Copacabana
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
#1 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
2,489 reviews
Sheraton Grand Rio Hotel & Resor...
#24 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
1,631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ipanema
Hotel Fasano Rio de Janeiro
Hotel Fasano Rio de Janeiro
#7 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
1,513 reviews
Ipanema
Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Ipanema
Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Ipanema
#45 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
1,767 reviews
Copacabana
JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro
JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro
#16 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
2,272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Copacabana Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Copacabana Palace

Address: Avenida Atlantica, 1702, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22021-001, Brazil
Phone Number:
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#1 Spa Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#1 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#1 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#3 Luxury Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range: $269 - $825 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Copacabana Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 239
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the famous Copacabana Beach, the Belmond Copacabana Palace is known as the most luxury hotel in Brazil. A symbol of sophistication and refinement, the Belmond Copacabana Palace offers an impeccable service, excellent cuisine and luxurious accommodation, confirming its tradition of ideal place to stay in Rio de Janeiro. The Belmond Copacabana Palace offers three restaurants inside its facilities; the Italian Cipriani, the Pergula Restaurant, with Brazilian and international cuisine, located next to the pool and the new Pan-Asian restaurant awarded with a prestigious Michelin Star, Mee. Apart from being a landmark in one of the most beautiful areas of Brazil, the hotel is also a center of wellbeing. It offers one of the main spas in the country, with different types of treatments, as well as a beauty salon, both open to the public. It also has a boutique with national and international brands and exclusive pieces. The exclusive Beach service offers sun loungers, umbrellas and water for the guests. The personalized treatment enchants the guests and provides a family atmosphere, making everybody feel at home. The hotel is also known as one of the most sort after venues for parties and Rio´s social events. It has a convention center with ten different rooms and salons of different sizes and shapes, to suite the various needs of the clients. For parties, the hotel offers the luxurious Golden Room, the Nobre Room and the Copacabana Rooms, which can be used for cocktails, dinners, wedding receptions, business meetings and other large parties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Belmond Copacabana Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copacabana Palace By Orient-Express Hotel Rio De Janeiro
Copacabana Palace Rio De Janeiro
Copacabana Palace Hotel
Belmond Copacabana Palace Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing