We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely time, just some recommendations for further improvement”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Belmond Copacabana Palace
Ranked #3 of 282 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
Budapest
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely time, just some recommendations for further improvement”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Location and facilities are simply great. Room which was in the connecting building and not in the main one is nice, quiet, big bed, big bathroom so all great. Airport pick-up by hotel is responsible and comfy, you can charge it on the room. Staff in the hotel very friendly.

Just some highlights on some fields how it could be even better:

- service in the restaurant during breakfast and other occasions was friendly but kind of slow
- there is no ATM within the building, would be more handy to have one especially that some international cards are still not working properly at many places in the country so only "rescue" is cash if you want e.g. to use a regular cab (normally they don't accept cards). security is good in the surroundings of the hotel and there are some ATMs but would be nicer to take it inside hotel in some circumstances
- tomatoes for breakfast :) apart from this selection is nice, especially from fruits!!
- staff at reception is really friendly, they show they care but check-out took around 25 minutes and just needed the company name published on the final invoice. this could have been done in 3 minutes

Overall stay was very pleasant and positive, I hope that I can return one day!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kofia99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adriano S, Assistant to the General Manager at Belmond Copacabana Palace, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Guest,
We really appreciate your comments and it is a great pleasure to know that you enjoyed your stay. Regarding your valuable highlights, we will verify them carefully.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,463
    546
    149
    48
    38
See reviews for
538
1,449
179
429
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (400)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

This place is really extra class. The rooms are finely decorated. It gint a huge swimming pool with a great restaurant. Only on the road is the most famous beach in the world. Those who spend their holidays here can enjoy from the first second.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

We have had the good fortune to stay in many classic hotels and I was delighted to see that this hotel has retained every shred of the 1920's era classic decor and attention to detail that one would hope for. Its a five star property in every way...on the inside. Unfortunately, the surrounding area isn't what it must have once been. Since we have everything we need here, we don't really need to venture into the neighborhood other than to the ATM, but its unfortunately a run down area around the hotel. That wouldn't stop me from coming back to this world class classic hotel, run with attention to old world style. Its a work of art.

Room Tip: The rooms in the new building with balconies, numbers ending in 51 and 52 are amazing with views ove...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeff w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orinda
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

This is a beautiful hotel with lovely decorated rooms. High ceilings in the rooms, very clean and crisp looking. The beds and sheets and pillows were so lush and comfortable. Our room had a lovely view of Copacabana Beach. With the double doors it was very quiet. Staying here was a special treat.

Room Tip: Splurge and get a room with a view of the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nricks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Ended up being upgraded to a suite and was the on a business trip so did not face any of the normal tourist issues about price or room quality. The hotel is of an older style but is a classic. The short walk over to the beach in the morning was bliss and a swim in the pool after my run made you feel very special. Seemingly the Stones made a documentary about their concert in rio and they were based in the Palace - sitting next to Jagger in the bar would have been the only thing that would have improved this experience for me.

Room Tip: Try, by hook or by crook, to get a corporate rate - this is about half the rate that a member of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flying_scotsman888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013 via mobile

Having qualified for an incentive trip with my employer, my partner and i were fortunate enough to stay here. The rooms were big and plush, the bathroom was spacious and the service was excellent.

However there are a few things that they do need to address. At breakfast time at times they couldn't cope with the number of people coming down all at once. They cant control the size of the restaurant, but they could have had more places available. This did lead to a number of small waits for seats.

Other people I was travelling with also had some issues with leaking rooms - due to the tropical rain, and some toilet flooding as well. In my view this can be forgiven as it is a fairly old building and things like this are bound to happen. By all accounts the issues were sorted quickly.

The hotel was overall a nice place to stay, but without knowing what the others are like in this area is is hard for me to make a judgement about if this was the best, but from staying at places in the UK I would say it is worth the money.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnD1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bray on Thames, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

I was really disappointed by the Copa on every level - apart from the staff and concierge who were truly excellent.
OK the outside is stunning and impressive as is the reception and other communal areas but the "cheap" rooms at around £350 per night are small, dated, shabby and reminiscent of my Nan’s bedroom. I understand that only the rooms in the main building have refurbished recently. We also had a late flight that evening and a late check-out was dismissed immediately – I wonder if that would have been the same for the higher rate paying guest. We were however allowed to use the spa to shower where the facilities were very nice.
The pool area is nice - but the loungers aren't really that great and certainly not like the decent cushioned ones you get in a really good hotel.
The breakfast was a total let down to be honest, we stayed at a 3 star hotel in Ipanema earlier in our trip that was better, and this hurt as breakfast is £25 per person! Often you had to wait for eggs or other items, jugs of water and juice remained unfilled and you have to beg to get a coffee re-fill.
We only at lunch by the pool once, again this was average at best and very overpriced. Similarly the cocktails in the evening at the pool bar were not to a good standard and very expensive, they didn’t even have the items to make some of the cocktails they had on the menu. Another thing not particularly pleasant about the pool bar in the evenings are the pairs of young girls who arrive and sit by the pool bar without purchasing any drinks and sit eyeing up the single men! Read whatever you want into this but I am surprised the management let it go on so blatantly! One thing to mention also is the area the hotel is in – it’s not great; full of homeless people sleeping on the beach and other people looking wasted, there are pigeons and rubbish in the street. We didn’t really find any nice places to eat or drink close by – even the concierge recommended places far away from the hotel and the other times we headed back to Ipanema area which in our opinion was a nicer place to be all round.

Room Tip: If you can't afford the good suites stay somewhere else or be dissapointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Maniacnumber1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Copacabana
Hilton Rio de Janeiro Copacabana
Hilton Rio de Janeiro Copacabana
#14 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
2,638 reviews
Copacabana
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
#2 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
2,377 reviews
Copacabana
JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro
JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro
#20 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
2,147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Copacabana
PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel
PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel
#17 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
2,320 reviews
Ipanema
Hotel Fasano Rio de Janeiro
Hotel Fasano Rio de Janeiro
#5 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
1,461 reviews
Copacabana
Arena Copacabana Hotel
Arena Copacabana Hotel
#21 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
1,869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Copacabana Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Copacabana Palace

Property: Belmond Copacabana Palace
Address: Avenida Atlantica, 1702, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22021-001, Brazil
Phone Number:
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#1 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#1 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#1 Spa Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#3 Luxury Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Copacabana Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 239
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the famous Copacabana Beach, the Belmond Copacabana Palace is known as the most luxury hotel in Brazil. A symbol of sophistication and refinement, the Belmond Copacabana Palace offers an impeccable service, excellent cuisine and luxurious accommodation, confirming its tradition of ideal place to stay in Rio de Janeiro. The Belmond Copacabana Palace offers three restaurants inside its facilities; the Italian Cipriani, the Pergula Restaurant, with Brazilian and international cuisine, located next to the pool and the new Pan-Asian restaurant awarded with a prestigious Michelin Star, Mee. Apart from being a landmark in one of the most beautiful areas of Brazil, the hotel is also a center of wellbeing. It offers one of the main spas in the country, with different types of treatments, as well as a beauty salon, both open to the public. It also has a boutique with national and international brands and exclusive pieces. The exclusive Beach service offers sun loungers, umbrellas and water for the guests. The personalized treatment enchants the guests and provides a family atmosphere, making everybody feel at home. The hotel is also known as one of the most sort after venues for parties and Rio´s social events. It has a convention center with ten different rooms and salons of different sizes and shapes, to suite the various needs of the clients. For parties, the hotel offers the luxurious Golden Room, the Nobre Room and the Copacabana Rooms, which can be used for cocktails, dinners, wedding receptions, business meetings and other large parties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Belmond Copacabana Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copacabana Palace By Orient-Express Hotel Rio De Janeiro
Copacabana Palace Rio De Janeiro
Copacabana Palace Hotel
Belmond Copacabana Palace Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing