We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,661)
Filter reviews
3,661 results
Traveler rating
2,816
584
164
52
45
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,816
584
164
52
45
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscipriani restaurantmain buildingiconic hotelpoolside restaurantgrand damepiano barpool areacity viewpool serviceguest relationsbeautiful poolturn down serviceluxury hotelhotel guestsoverlooking the beachlate checkvisit rio
Filter
Updating list...
1,168 - 1,173 of 3,661 reviews
Reviewed November 16, 2012

I visit other top hotels in Rio, with excellent rooms, structure, location and etc, but Copacabana Palace is unbeatable in terms of glamour and tradition. It’s the most famous hotel and very 20s style.
The rooms are very good and spacious, high ceiling and very comfortable beds. We stayed at beachfront suite at fourth floor of the main building (now closed due to renovations), with a sitting room, bedroom and bathroom. Very good size and perfect view. Since it’s was our wedding night and low season, we asked to a special room and we got an upgrade to fifth floor, our suite was amazing and huge! There’s a wonderful bathroom with two sinks, tub and shower separated, closet. The room is circled by a beautiful balcony.

We ordered breakfast at room and they take too long to deliver. It’s was good, but consider ordering in advance, next time I will try the breakfast at Pergola restaurant which has a great view of beach and hotel pool.

The location of hotel is perfect, in front of Copacabana’s beach and close to a lot of options of entertainment and dining. We had access to a private pool, shared with the other suites of fifth floor, but we loved the atmosphere of the main pool in the first floor.

Copa, as Copacabana Palace is called by local people, is beautiful and the staff makes you feel like royalty. The hotel is now under renovation, but you will not regret staying here.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
2  Thank MarianaCCS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

The hotel is being renovated with the main building closed. The operation is confined to the annex which is a fine block set back from the Avenida Atlantica so you will not get wonderful sea views even if your room faces the beach and ocean.

The reception area was at the rear of the premises, but as expected luggage was whisked away from us as soon as we got out of the taxi. The room was large with a big bathroom having separate bath and shower. A small plumbing problem was dealt with very quickly.

A light meal by the pool was just what was needed after a four hour internal flight but the service was almost too good! I really wanted a beer put on the table and replaced immediately I had drunk it; but we went through the waiter serving half the bottle followed by the remainer being put on ice in an ice bucket, tantalisingly out of reach! However, the service was impeccable and the two light dishes pleasant and tasty.

The restaurant at the front of the hotel is fine for breakfast but rather utilitarian, bright and soulless for evening meals. We ate by the pool which was pleasant and relaxing. The Italian restaurant looked comfortable and efficiently operated but we did not eat there. The small bar was a very nice place to finish the day with a cocktail or glass of wine.

The breakfast was very good as regards quality and choice although many of the staff seemed new to the operation. We had to repeatedly ask for more coffee or an extra piece of cutlery; the request was politely acknowledged but then the staff member seemed to wander off to do something else like clear a table or tidy the buffet! The manager did the same too! You should not have to ask two or three times every time you want your coffee topped up! Our breakfast was not included so for the other two mornings of our stay we went out and found a small café.

Difficult to get a view of the whole hotel at the moment, but the part operating is a first class operation. Very good place to stay in line with other top iconic establishment round the world.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greenpen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

We wanted a special experience and boy did we find it here! Exquisite room, great bed, best ever towels, the havannas by the bed lovely touch. We ate twice at the restaurant, not planning too but on our first night we wanted a light meal and we had lovely omelettes. The next niight after all day tour we wanted a good meal and had a fabulous meal. my husband wants me to try and make the chicken, grapes, parsnip and ginger when we get home! Highly recommend! do try the beach, great service, loungers and water. For a heavenly experience in Rio think you should spend a Night here if you can! We are glad we did.

Room Tip: Try and get a view or partial view of the fabulous and famous beach! Love the haviannas by the bed!
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KiwigirlNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

We spent four nights in Rio de Janeiro at the Copacabana Palace and loved it. Our room was spacious and had a great view of the famous beach. Its location is superb and is easy walking distance to many of the must-see sights. The service was above average and very helpful. If we return to Brazil we will certainly stay in the Copacabana Palace and will recommend it highly to anyone.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JimStLouis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

The Copacabana Palace is good place to be. Everything is in good shape and of high quality. The staff is friendly and helpful. A part of the hotel is under construction, but it's no problem. If you are arriving at sunday and with your car, then be aware that one lane of the road in front of the hotel is closed for cars, it's transformed in a walkway. Only with one direction, it's hard to get to the hotel. The location is good for excursions. The area around the hotel and also the copacabana beach is very poor. It's more quality to stay in the hotel facilities than to walk nearby. Be sure what you are booking. We booked with breakfast inclusive, but we were asked to pay the breakfast. We needed little time to explain our package at the front desk. But after that, the bill was correct. The guests are very international of all ages. Overall, the hotel is expensive but worth every penny. You will have a nice time there like in the good old times. The beach area is the opposite and a dissapointment.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hotbath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews