We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,658)
Filter reviews
3,658 results
Traveler rating
2,813
584
164
52
45
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,813
584
164
52
45
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscipriani restaurantmain buildingiconic hotelpoolside restaurantgrand damepiano barpool areacity viewpool staffguest relationsbeautiful poolturn down serviceluxury hotelconcierge deskhotel guestsbeach serviceoverlooking the beach
Filter
Updating list...
1,176 - 1,181 of 3,658 reviews
Reviewed October 23, 2012

This is the Grand Dame of Rio and while hotels in Rio are not great this is the exception. Still under renovation when we stayed, i had a lovely suite and was looked after very well. The pool is fun to hang out at and the location while 10 minutes ca ride from more trendy Ipanema is very good for feeling the pulse of Rio.
Breakfast is average and could be better, but Brazil is not big on breakfast. That said you won't go hungry.
The spa is not so great, but I am fussy.

Room Tip: Ocean Pool Suites are great
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ioveit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adriano W, Assistant to the General Manager at Belmond Copacabana Palace, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your response. We are very glad to know that your experience at our Hotel was remarkable. Regarding to the breakfast, we will analyse your comments promptly.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

This review is based on our visit in March 2011. A truly iconic hotel that exudes elegance and great service. Must be one of the most famous in the world. Our room at the front of the hotel and overlooking Avenida Atlantica and Copacabana beach was perfect. Spacious, tastefully decorated and a very comfortable well appointed bathroom, it was a delight.
Breakfast is served in the Pergula Restaurant which also has tables adjacent to the pool. A la carte or buffet, take your choice. We went for the buffet, which had an excellent variety of fruits, cold meats breads etc.
The pool is probably the most famous in Rio too and certainly before the massive refurb of the hotel and slight reduction in the size of the pool undertaken by Orient Express when they acquired it, was the largest in Rio. Service and food at the Cipriani restaurant was perfect too. Pre dinner drinks at the piano bar were a perfect end to the day and a great start to the evening.
Hotel accommodation is split into two, the main hotel building and the annex, accessed via the pool area and comprising of a series of suites, about sixteen I think. All the ones at the front have their own balconies overlooking the pool and towards the beach.
If there's a downside to the hotel, it's the location. Copacabana is not the best surburb of Rio, even if it is the most famous. But run down and a little seedy in places, this should not deter you from staying at this great hotel. One that has enjoyed famous guests from around the world over the past decades. From Frank Sinatra and Bing Crosby to Prince Charles and Lady Di. If you don't believe me, visit the Copa's gallery on the second floor and look at the photos of all their famous past guests!! Even John Wayne hitched his horse up at the Copa!!
Would I stay here again? You bet!!

Room Tip: Book well in advance and ask for a room at the front or a suite in the annexe. These are much more expensive though than rooms at the back and which overlook Avenida Nossa Senora de Copacabana, a dirty noisy street.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RobertMegs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adriano W, Assistant to the General Manager at Belmond Copacabana Palace, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2012

Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for posting your comments. You made an emotional and amazing description of the Hotel. We are very glad to know as well that you've got an impressive experience with us.
Concerning to the District of Copacabana, improvements have been done related to security, traffic and infrastructure.

Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

great old school style hotel, pretty expensive but very helpful and polite staff. Getting a little tired, a bit like Rio itself! The buffet is fantastic and if you're hungry very good value. Pool area very nice but not much sun. Rooms need a refurb as well.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Drew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adriano W, Assistant to the General Manager at Belmond Copacabana Palace, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your response. It is very grateful to read that you've got a remarkable experience and impression of our hotel.
We also would like to add that the refurbishment of the main building is in progress since July, some parts of the hotel are already renovated and the its total conclusion will take place in December.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Stayed 5 nights over Christmas. Amazing swimming pool and it's in a great spot looking over Copacabana. The breakfast is a little disappointing considering the range of produce available in Brazil (particularly the fruit).

Room Tip: Ask to stay in the old part of the building looking over Copacabana.
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adriano W, Assistant to the General Manager at Belmond Copacabana Palace, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your response. We are glad to know that you've enjoyed your stay.
Concerning your comment about the breakfast, we would like to add that we serve a variety of seasonal fruits such as pineapple, kiwi, watermelon, strawberries, guava, mango, etc but feel free to suggest more types.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

5 nights here , service was excellent - very friendly staff - excellent front desk .
Old world charm with a great pool and restaurants .
Minor complaints is room service food is a bit ropey and Copacabana itself seems quite run down - great Hotel though !

Room Tip: Sea View - back og hotel is noisy
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lee K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adriano W, Assistant to the General Manager at Belmond Copacabana Palace, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2012

Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for sending your comments. It is a pleasure to provide excelent service and pleasant locations like the restaurant and pool. Concerning to the District of Copacabana, a number of improvements has been made and we will be very gratefull if you provide more details about the room service meal.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews