We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,660)
Filter reviews
3,660 results
Traveler rating
2,815
584
164
52
45
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,815
584
164
52
45
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscipriani restaurantmain buildingiconic hotelpoolside restaurantgrand damepiano barpool areacity viewpool staffguest relationsbeautiful poolturn down serviceluxury hotelconcierge deskhotel guestsbeach serviceoverlooking the beach
Filter
Updating list...
1,184 - 1,189 of 3,660 reviews
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Our group of 10 people stayed at this luxurious hotel from sep 17-19th 2012. We were disappointed as we had hoped that the renovations would have been completed by the time of our arrival. So we were given beautifully furnished apts in the annexe block but were VERY disappointed as we had requested for high floors with view of Copacabana beach. Instead some of us had the lowest floor rooms overlooking the road and bar. Extremely noisy as the sound proofing is very poor. We complained but had no response from the staff even though they promised to revert. This is not the first time we experienced such service from E and O hotels.

Chia, Singapore

Room Tip: Ask for higher level rooms overlooking the beach is staying the apts in annexe block. As the main building was undergoing renovations we were unable to secure those rooms.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chia1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

My wife and I spent several nights here during our Honeymoon. The hotel is fabulous. Service was top-notch. Just sitting by the pool and ordering drinks was wonderful. Copacabana itself isn't quite what it used to be. Ipanema is a much better neighborhood, but no hotel in Ipanema compares with the Copacabana Palace.

Room Tip: Stay in one of the suites!!!
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank swcullinan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

I was lucky to have been given the opportunity to visit Rio for work and slept at the Coapacabana Palace. What a good decision , as this is such a beautiful, vintage and majestetic hotel with a attentive staff. The coffee at the pool restaurant was great (I was jet lagged and needed the caffeine dose regularly) and the swimming pool great. Lucky I was there before the renovation started.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MTG010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Gorgeous hotel opposite the beach and within walking distance of many good restaurants and bars. Friendly and professional staff. Take the ocean view option, although the windows are tiny due to the age of the building, the views are great and you can watch the surfers. Great pool area as well as bar and restaurants. Really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ontheroadsince73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

The hotel is a little outdated (From 1923) but still mintained very good, rooms are very big and nice. Stayed there for 5 days with our two little ones. We enjoyed the hotel, beach in front of the hotel and pool so much. Also concierge was a great help, lots of accurate advice. Highly recomend the hotel if you are planning to stay in Copacabana. Unfortunately Ipenama is much cooler.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Giobull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews