We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice hotel, bad rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Belmond Copacabana Palace
Ranked #3 of 283 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Our group of 10 people stayed at this luxurious hotel from sep 17-19th 2012. We were disappointed as we had hoped that the renovations would have been completed by the time of our arrival. So we were given beautifully furnished apts in the annexe block but were VERY disappointed as we had requested for high floors with view of Copacabana beach. Instead some of us had the lowest floor rooms overlooking the road and bar. Extremely noisy as the sound proofing is very poor. We complained but had no response from the staff even though they promised to revert. This is not the first time we experienced such service from E and O hotels.

Chia, Singapore

Room Tip: Ask for higher level rooms overlooking the beach is staying the apts in annexe block. As the main bu...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chia1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,307)
There are newer reviews for Belmond Copacabana Palace
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,063 - 1,069 of 3,307 reviews

Reviewed October 5, 2012

My wife and I spent several nights here during our Honeymoon. The hotel is fabulous. Service was top-notch. Just sitting by the pool and ordering drinks was wonderful. Copacabana itself isn't quite what it used to be. Ipanema is a much better neighborhood, but no hotel in Ipanema compares with the Copacabana Palace.

Room Tip: Stay in one of the suites!!!
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank swcullinan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

I was lucky to have been given the opportunity to visit Rio for work and slept at the Coapacabana Palace. What a good decision , as this is such a beautiful, vintage and majestetic hotel with a attentive staff. The coffee at the pool restaurant was great (I was jet lagged and needed the caffeine dose regularly) and the swimming pool great. Lucky I was there before the renovation started.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MTG010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Gorgeous hotel opposite the beach and within walking distance of many good restaurants and bars. Friendly and professional staff. Take the ocean view option, although the windows are tiny due to the age of the building, the views are great and you can watch the surfers. Great pool area as well as bar and restaurants. Really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ontheroadsince73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

The hotel is a little outdated (From 1923) but still mintained very good, rooms are very big and nice. Stayed there for 5 days with our two little ones. We enjoyed the hotel, beach in front of the hotel and pool so much. Also concierge was a great help, lots of accurate advice. Highly recomend the hotel if you are planning to stay in Copacabana. Unfortunately Ipenama is much cooler.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Giobull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

Elegant and classic hotel to stay in Copacabana. Expensive but right on the beach. Room is beautiful and spacious. Feels like home and not your typical hotel room. Well decorated with beautiful woodwork and comfortable bed.I usually bring my own soap if staying in a hotel but the soap here smells good and comparable to the soap I use. Federico (front desk staff- I think that's his name) was very accomodating and let us do a late checkout because our flight does not leave until 8 pm.The security staff at the front of the hotel looks intimidating and does not allow gawking if you are not a hotel guest but they are really very friendly. The hotel provides free beach chairs, towels, water and fruit on the Copacabana beach across.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lagingpasyal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Having just had a wonderful stay at the sister hotel, das Cateratas, in Iguacu, we were full of expectation upon arriving in Rio. What a disappointment.
We were celebrating our 25th anniversary with a trip to Brazil. We asked when checking out of the das Cateratas to send a message ahead, asking for a quiet room at the Copacabana. We are sure they did so. Upon arrival we were given a room at the back of the hotel on a low floor facing a noisy street. The insulation in the hotel is very poor and we quickly decided we needed to change to another room. The unfriendly receptionist offered us a suite on the front side for an extra 200 Reais per night, which we accepted. This was a big mistake as we were kept awake until the early hours by a party going on in one of the function rooms. As well as bad window insulation you can hear your neighbors showering in the morning due to the very old plumbing.
Worse than the noise is the the attitude of the staff. The first person to smile at us was the person who checked us out. As guests we felt very unwelcome in this establishment. Even asking for help getting a taxi was un unpleasant experience, as we were each time almost forced into a hotel car at several times the price.
The hotel is being renovated, and only partially operational, which means that it is definitely not worth going for the time being. I can only imagine it will be better at some stage. It can not get any worse. The whole place feels like being in the 1970s and, at many hundreds of dollars per night, extremely poor value for money.
Steer clear.

Room Tip: Don't take room 152, you will be directly above the piano bar, which will resonate through the n...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
18  Thank PSA88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Copacabana
Hilton Rio de Janeiro Copacabana
Hilton Rio de Janeiro Copacabana
#15 of 283 in Rio de Janeiro
2,698 reviews
Copacabana
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
#2 of 283 in Rio de Janeiro
2,421 reviews
Copacabana
PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel
PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel
#17 of 283 in Rio de Janeiro
2,354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Copacabana
JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro
JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro
#19 of 283 in Rio de Janeiro
2,202 reviews
Ipanema
Hotel Fasano Rio de Janeiro
Hotel Fasano Rio de Janeiro
#4 of 283 in Rio de Janeiro
1,478 reviews
Copacabana
Arena Copacabana Hotel
Arena Copacabana Hotel
#20 of 283 in Rio de Janeiro
1,898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Copacabana Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Copacabana Palace

Address: Avenida Atlantica, 1702, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22021-001, Brazil
Phone Number:
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#1 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#1 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#1 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#3 Luxury Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range: $270 - $785 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Copacabana Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 239
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the famous Copacabana Beach, the Belmond Copacabana Palace is known as the most luxury hotel in Brazil. A symbol of sophistication and refinement, the Belmond Copacabana Palace offers an impeccable service, excellent cuisine and luxurious accommodation, confirming its tradition of ideal place to stay in Rio de Janeiro. The Belmond Copacabana Palace offers three restaurants inside its facilities; the Italian Cipriani, the Pergula Restaurant, with Brazilian and international cuisine, located next to the pool and the new Pan-Asian restaurant awarded with a prestigious Michelin Star, Mee. Apart from being a landmark in one of the most beautiful areas of Brazil, the hotel is also a center of wellbeing. It offers one of the main spas in the country, with different types of treatments, as well as a beauty salon, both open to the public. It also has a boutique with national and international brands and exclusive pieces. The exclusive Beach service offers sun loungers, umbrellas and water for the guests. The personalized treatment enchants the guests and provides a family atmosphere, making everybody feel at home. The hotel is also known as one of the most sort after venues for parties and Rio´s social events. It has a convention center with ten different rooms and salons of different sizes and shapes, to suite the various needs of the clients. For parties, the hotel offers the luxurious Golden Room, the Nobre Room and the Copacabana Rooms, which can be used for cocktails, dinners, wedding receptions, business meetings and other large parties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Belmond Copacabana Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copacabana Palace By Orient-Express Hotel Rio De Janeiro
Copacabana Palace Rio De Janeiro
Copacabana Palace Hotel
Belmond Copacabana Palace Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing