We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$258
JW Marriott
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$190
$166
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Arena Copacabana Hotel(Rio de Janeiro)(Great Value!)
$99
$85
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel(Rio de Janeiro)(Great Value!)
$150
$113
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Miramar Hotel by Windsor(Rio de Janeiro)(Great Value!)
$146
$103
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$187
$181
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$218
Sofitel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Rio Othon Palace Hotel(Rio de Janeiro)(Great Value!)
$125
$97
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
$570
$422
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Reviews (3,620)
Filter reviews
3,620 results
Traveler rating
2,780
579
164
52
45
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,780
579
164
52
45
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscipriani restaurantmain buildingiconic hotelpoolside restaurantgrand damepool areacity viewpool staffguest relationsbeautiful poolturn down serviceluxurious hotelfive star hotelconcierge deskhotel guestsbeach serviceoverlooking the beach
Filter
Updating list...
1,174 - 1,179 of 3,620 reviews
Reviewed September 26, 2012

I was lucky to have been given the opportunity to visit Rio for work and slept at the Coapacabana Palace. What a good decision , as this is such a beautiful, vintage and majestetic hotel with a attentive staff. The coffee at the pool restaurant was great (I was jet lagged and needed the caffeine dose regularly) and the swimming pool great. Lucky I was there before the renovation started.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MTG010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Gorgeous hotel opposite the beach and within walking distance of many good restaurants and bars. Friendly and professional staff. Take the ocean view option, although the windows are tiny due to the age of the building, the views are great and you can watch the surfers. Great pool area as well as bar and restaurants. Really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ontheroadsince73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

The hotel is a little outdated (From 1923) but still mintained very good, rooms are very big and nice. Stayed there for 5 days with our two little ones. We enjoyed the hotel, beach in front of the hotel and pool so much. Also concierge was a great help, lots of accurate advice. Highly recomend the hotel if you are planning to stay in Copacabana. Unfortunately Ipenama is much cooler.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Giobull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

Elegant and classic hotel to stay in Copacabana. Expensive but right on the beach. Room is beautiful and spacious. Feels like home and not your typical hotel room. Well decorated with beautiful woodwork and comfortable bed.I usually bring my own soap if staying in a hotel but the soap here smells good and comparable to the soap I use. Federico (front desk staff- I think that's his name) was very accomodating and let us do a late checkout because our flight does not leave until 8 pm.The security staff at the front of the hotel looks intimidating and does not allow gawking if you are not a hotel guest but they are really very friendly. The hotel provides free beach chairs, towels, water and fruit on the Copacabana beach across.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lagingpasyal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Having just had a wonderful stay at the sister hotel, das Cateratas, in Iguacu, we were full of expectation upon arriving in Rio. What a disappointment.
We were celebrating our 25th anniversary with a trip to Brazil. We asked when checking out of the das Cateratas to send a message ahead, asking for a quiet room at the Copacabana. We are sure they did so. Upon arrival we were given a room at the back of the hotel on a low floor facing a noisy street. The insulation in the hotel is very poor and we quickly decided we needed to change to another room. The unfriendly receptionist offered us a suite on the front side for an extra 200 Reais per night, which we accepted. This was a big mistake as we were kept awake until the early hours by a party going on in one of the function rooms. As well as bad window insulation you can hear your neighbors showering in the morning due to the very old plumbing.
Worse than the noise is the the attitude of the staff. The first person to smile at us was the person who checked us out. As guests we felt very unwelcome in this establishment. Even asking for help getting a taxi was un unpleasant experience, as we were each time almost forced into a hotel car at several times the price.
The hotel is being renovated, and only partially operational, which means that it is definitely not worth going for the time being. I can only imagine it will be better at some stage. It can not get any worse. The whole place feels like being in the 1970s and, at many hundreds of dollars per night, extremely poor value for money.
Steer clear.

Room Tip: Don't take room 152, you will be directly above the piano bar, which will resonate through the night.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
18  Thank PSA88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews