We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sheraton Barra Rio de Janeiro Hotel
Ranked #132 of 281 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel”
Reviewed April 30, 2013

beautiful hotel, pool, spa and friendly staff. Beach is across the street which is much nicer&cleaner than Ipanema. Very quiet area in comparison to Ipanema & Copacabana. If you are looking too eat outside of the hotel, walk NORTH along the beach and you'll find many more restaurants, juice shops and grocery stores than south of the hotel. Room was clean and modern, loved the open concept balcony. All rooms had a view of the beach and barra coastline. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chicanadian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PMello_ShBarra, On behalf of General Manager at Sheraton Barra Rio de Janeiro Hotel, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear guest,

We are glad to host you at Sheraton Barra during your stay in Rio and also to know that you had a great time with us. We hope you back soon.

Best regards,
The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,374 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    444
    437
    262
    138
    93
See reviews for
344
332
61
440
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
133 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

This hotel is a little expensive, but then again so are most hotels in Rio. At least with this one you'll be guaranteed staff that speak good English at reception, and clean, modern rooms.

The hotel had a beach feel about it so you probably won't be very keen on it if you love plush, luxury decor only but even though I lean toward that look, I still really enjoyed this hotel, even more so after I stayed at a cheaper hotel on my next trip to Rio.

The breakfast buffet has a fantastic selection of food and it's of good quality.

I had a club room, but I don't think this was great value for money. The food in the club room was the saddest I have ever seen. Also there was no bath with the club room, only a shower which I always find to be a disappointment, but there were nice L'Occitane products and when I asked for some extra body lotion one day, the housekeeping staff obviously remembered the request and left me extra after servicing my room which I thought was a lovely touch and excellent service.

I had a massage at the spa and it was great. I had a bit of trouble communicating with one of the guys at the spa reception as he had little English, but it turned out he could also speak French and I have rudimentary French skills so we ended up making the booking in French.

There is also a hair salon at the ground floor of the hotel which does manicures. Only one or two of the staff at the hair salon speak English, but through them I was able to get a manicure arranged and not only was it super cheap, but of good quality.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MsHellfire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PMello_ShBarra, On behalf of General Manager at Sheraton Barra Rio de Janeiro Hotel, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear guest,

We really enjoy hearing that you had a good experience at our hotel, especially regarding our staff attitude and some facilities as SPA and salon. We’ll be considering your comments to improve the quality of the Club Lounge service.

Sincerely yours,
The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Botucatu, SP
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013

It’s a hotel for business travelers, located in the Barra neighborhood. Although it offers a nice structure, with a great poor, spa and Jacuzzi, its rooms are very muggy and the carpet need to be urgently changed. The restaurant is nice, but expensive, and the breakfast is very complete. Internet connection is not included in the room rate and, although expensive, it very bad.
Nice and friendly staff.

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms facing outside views of the buiding - Barra beach is very nice and must be seem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GuilhermeBarros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
1 review
Reviewed April 17, 2013

I stayed there a few days ago, with my husband and children. They gave us two very small rooms, with horrible views, and one of them had a dirty carpet . Bathrooms were also very small, and people in the hotel did not pay any attention to our claim. Housekeeping wasn´t very good either. Next time in Rio we will stay somewhere else.

Room Tip: Only front and high rooms have nice view and light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucas F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PMello_ShBarra, On behalf of General Manager at Sheraton Barra Rio de Janeiro Hotel, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for reporting us your experience in our hotel. We are really disappointed to know that we couldn’t satisfy your expectations. Your comments will be carefully analyzed to help us improve the quality of our services.
We hope you can give us another chance of hosting you again in the future and provide you a real Sheraton experience.

Best regards,
The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
59 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

First thing you should know you'll be 20 kms from the south zone and city centre.
But the beach of Barra is amazing. The hotel is quite new - less than 10 years old and has the pros and cons of most Brazilian hotels. Nice decor, plenty of staff, low levels of overall english and - in recent years - crazy prices. Breakfast is something like 30USD per person.

But rooms are great and new. They all have balcony and as stated above - the beach is top class.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RioUrbanExploration
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PMello_ShBarra, On behalf of General Manager at Sheraton Barra Rio de Janeiro Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for staying at Sheraton Barra during your recent visit to Rio de Janeiro and for sending us your feedback. It’s good to know that you had a comfortable stay in our Hotel. We hope to see you back soon.

Best regards,
The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Good option to stay out of main hustle and bustle of Rio but easy enough to get in to see all the sites. Bus passes the front of the hotel. 60 reals to get a taxi to Christ the Redeemer. Gorgeous beach across the road - great views of it from our balcony. Lovely sized room with lounge and kitchen area.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank becmca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piscataway, New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Hotel not worthy of Sheraton name. First night had to walk out of the restaruant service was so bad. Only the Manager understood English and he got the order wrong. Room hallway and rooms all smell of mold, probably a health hazzard. Housekeeping is a joke. Not only did not clean room well but coffee maker was left with previous day's moldy coffee in it and no new coffee was left for the following day. Food was terrible and overpriced. The main problem was the undertraining of the entire staff from top to bottom.

Room Tip: Smell; your room before checking in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Al Dearteaga d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PMello_ShBarra, On behalf of General Manager at Sheraton Barra Rio de Janeiro Hotel, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for letting us know your thoughts about your experience in our hotel. Only with precious comments like yours we have the opportunity to improve the quality of your services and achieve our main goal that is our guests completely satisfaction. We would like to apologize for all inconveniences that you faced during your stay with us and we hope to have a chance of hosting you again in the future.

Best regards,
The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rio de Janeiro hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Sheraton Grand Rio Hotel & Resor...
#25 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,488 reviews
Barra da Tijuca
Windsor Barra
Windsor Barra
#35 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,482 reviews
Barra da Tijuca
Brisa Barra Hotel
Brisa Barra Hotel
#26 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barra da Tijuca
Novotel Rio de Janeiro Barra da Tijuca
Novotel Rio de Janeiro Barra da ...
#22 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 510 reviews
Barra da Tijuca
Grand Hyatt Rio de Janeiro
Grand Hyatt Rio de Janeiro
#16 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 841 reviews
Barra da Tijuca
Windsor Oceanico
Windsor Oceanico
#18 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Barra Rio de Janeiro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Barra Rio de Janeiro Hotel

Property: Sheraton Barra Rio de Janeiro Hotel
Address: Avenida Lucio Costa 3150, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22630-010, Brazil (Formerly Radisson Hotel Barra)
Phone Number:
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Barra da Tijuca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Spa Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#54 Luxury Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#59 On the Beach Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#60 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton Barra Rio de Janeiro Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 292
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located between the ocean and mountains in the city’s most modern neighborhood, Sheraton Barra Rio de Janeiro Hotel is surrounded by extensive lakes, stunning beaches and the exuberant Atlantic Forest. With modern design and impeccable decoration, Sheraton Barra offers 292 spacious guestrooms and suites, all with private balconies and overlooking the ocean. For your relaxation, Sheraton Barra Rio de Janeiro Hotel offers 2 outdoor pools, one for adults and another for children, an international cuisine restaurant, Fitness Center with modern workout devices, open-air hot tubs, dry and steam saunas, a squash court, playground and beach service. Located in the middle of a thriving garden is the Vila Spa, - with 5 bungalows for body treatments and exclusive bath rituals and massages that ensure a harmonious balance between body and mind. For all types of events, the Hotel offers 9 event rooms that hold up to 400 people, with all the required equipment infrastructure and technology, in addition to an experienced team of professionals to provide support for corporate or social events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Barra Rio de Janeiro Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Barra Hotel And Suites
Sheraton Barra Hotel Barra Da Tijuca
Sheraton Rio De Janeiro
Rio De Janeiro Sheraton
Sheraton Barra Rio De Janeiro Hotel Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing