We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Rio Othon Palace Hotel(Rio de Janeiro)(Great Value!)
$117
$97
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
$215
$166
Sheraton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Arena Copacabana Hotel(Rio de Janeiro)(Great Value!)
$89
$77
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Miramar Hotel by Windsor(Rio de Janeiro)(Great Value!)
$137
$103
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel(Rio de Janeiro)(Great Value!)
$150
$113
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$268
$258
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$211
$181
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$214
BestDay.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
$568
$424
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Belmond Copacabana Palace(Rio de Janeiro)
$547
$451
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,029)
Filter reviews
1,029 results
Traveler rating
298
466
199
43
23
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
298
466
199
43
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschrist the redeemersmall bathroommetro stationspacious roomroom servicerestaurants and barsfelt safestayed nightslocation is greatbalconyipanemaneighborhoodaccorurcasaunareais
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 1,029 reviews
Reviewed September 20, 2017

Very spacious room with everything you need. Décor is simple and tasteful. The rooms facing the front have balconies with amazing views of the statue of Christ. Ask for floors 6 and higher for the best views. Staff are always polite and friendly and there is always someone on duty who speaks English.
Location is good. Botofogo has many good shops and restaurants and bars, all within a few minutes of the hotel. Botofogo metro station is five minutes walk to reach Copacabana or Ipanema, or alternatively the bus stop is only two minutes walk and buses pass every few minutes.

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank danielmatten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LUCIANO R, General Manager at Mercure RJ Botafogo Mourisco, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2017

Dear Mr. Matten,
We very much appreciate your comments. Regarding your stay at the Mercure Botafogo Mourisco. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,
Luciano Rocha - General Manager
Mercure Botafogo Mourisco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2017

Arrival procedures normal but welcome and happy faces made all the difference. Good attendance. Everything dealt with professionally and without fuss.
Room nice and clean with spacious layout and plenty of hot running water.
Breakfast was very nice with Tapioca or Omelette as options, was not OTT but was fresh and good selection. Marcos Monteiro (waiter) and his smile with agreeable manner made the difference to our breakfast experience. Room service was a tad slow and the wine list could be better.
We expect check out to be as good as check in but writing this before we leave, so will see.
I would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: 10th or 11th floor gets a better view
  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Barrie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LUCIANO R, General Manager at Mercure RJ Botafogo Mourisco, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2017

Dear Mr. Berrie L ,
We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Botafogo Mourisco. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.
Sincerely,
Luciano Rocha - General Manager
Mercure Botafogo Mourisco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2017

I went with my Husband and my daughters. The room is big and comfortable. I liked so much. The hotel is organized and the view from balcony is great. We can see the Redentor. It is os nice. Botafogo is a good place to visit in Rio.

Room Tip: choose a room with balcony where you can see the redentor View.
  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank matos_vivi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LUCIANO R, General Manager at Mercure RJ Botafogo Mourisco, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2017

Dear Guest,
We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Botafogo Mourisco. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.
Sincerely,
Luciano Rocha - General Manager
Mercure Botafogo Mourisco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2017

Stayed 5 nights. Overall Hotel is Good. It is not in Copacabana but, in a Local neighborhood without lots of tourist. I like this aspect. I felt safe for the most part. Lots of options for eating, transportation (near Metro). Taxis are always outside. I took Uber everywhere(cheaper). Shopping Mall nearby. Rooms are spacious but, the chairs are Horrible. They are soiled and are very nasty. The flooring in the room needs repairing. Friendly Staff very limited English speaking.Restaurant is NOT good and not worth the price. Breakfast leaves a lot to be desired. Only 2 Elevators. Elevators are rather slow and are out of service at least once during my stay.

  • Stayed: May 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Winston B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LUCIANO R, Gerente geral at Mercure RJ Botafogo Mourisco, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2017

Dear Mr.Winston B.
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. Although we would like your experience would have been better, with feedback like this we can learn and improve the quality of our service. We work hard to provide an exceptional experience for our guests. We can guarantee that we will give our best to make your stay better.

Regards,
Luciano Rocha - General Manager
Mercure Mourisco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2017 via mobile

I had a nice stay. The room was good. The employees I met had limited English skills though. The hotel is close to the metro and to the Botafogo mall. It was good for a short stay to explore the area.

Stayed: March 2017, traveled solo
Thank cmoipaulo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LUCIANO R, Gerente geral at Mercure RJ Botafogo Mourisco, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2017

Dear Mr. Paulo,

Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,
Luciano Rocha - General Manager
Mercure Botafogo Mourisco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews