We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible service, average facilities, and high price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Ipanema
Ranked #41 of 283 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 26, 2011

I stayed at Caesar Park Ipanema in two occasions in Feb/11, as I was working in Rio. Despite the high price (more than R$500 or USD 300 per night at a corporate rate - you have much better hotels at equivalent or lower prices), the hotel`s facilities are average (relatively old decoration in the rooms, small gym) and the service is TERRIBLE.
1. When I checked in for the first time, the attendant decided to give me an upgrade. The attendant next to him (Mari), who seemed to be his boss/manager, was really upset about the upgrade, told me that the upgraded room was "out of order" and downgraded me back to the original room! (the other attendant kept saying the room was fine). This was a room with two twin beds instead of a king, as I preferred.
2. The gym is small and gym staff is terrible. In one situation, there was no air conditioninguntil 7h40am (don`t forget this is Rio in the summer, and the gym was supposed to open at 6am). In other situation, the gym was still closed at 6h50, and after I complained and waitied a few minutes for the guy who was going to open the gym, I just gave up.
3. The second time I stayed there, despite my previous reservation, I had to stay in a smelly smokers room.
Stay away! If you want to pay such rates, you can get something much better!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank JoaoAGN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managing_Director_RJ, General Manager at Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Ipanema, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2011

Dear Mr. João,

We thank you for having chosen Caesar Park Ipanema and also for sending your comments to us at the end of your stay.

It is with concern that we receive your remarks and acknowledge that Caesar Park Ipanema has not attended your demands.

We regret the inconvenience concerning the happening at our front desk, we are taking an action in order to prevent this from happening again and truthfully express our deepest apologies. Your preference for King bed is already in our records.

We have an employee's training program ongoing, emphasizing the fitness center opening time and consequently the air conditioner system.

Unfortunatelly we couldn't check your reservation as we only have your first name on your message. But we have 10 floors for non smokers, please let us know in your next visit.

Therefore, we thank you again for your cooperation and hope to welcome you again in your next visit to Rio de Janeiro.


Best Regards,

Maurizio Romani
General Director
Caesar Park Ipanema

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,725)
There are newer reviews for Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Ipanema
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

662 - 668 of 1,725 reviews

Reviewed January 23, 2011

First of all: you can't compare 5-star hotels in Brazil with 5-star hotels in Asia or America - they simply never are as clean and perfect.
Why do I always stay at the "Caesar Park"? Because it is a good hotel and its location is unbeatable - simply the very best to experience Rio.
The best shops, the trendy restaurants, you find them all around the corner of the Caesar Park. You can easily spend a week there and never use a taxi (unless you want to go to Corcovado or Lapa).
The "Fasano" is the better hotel, but already out of the way. And the great "Coppacabana Palace" is unacceptable because of its location. It's only the ignorant visitors who think, Coppacabana Beach is a nice place to stay.
By the way, one last tip for the management of the Caesar Park (if they ever read it): exchange your mattrasses!!! Now!!! They are soft as pudding and terrible to sleep in.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tjacobi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managing_Director_RJ, General Manager at Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Ipanema, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2011

Dear Mr. Tjacobi,

We thank you for having chosen Caesar Park Ipanema and also for sending your comments to us at the end of your stay.
It is a pleasure to receive your comments and compliments.
For sure your suggestion concerning our mattrasses will be considered!
Therefore, we thank you again for your cooperation and hope to welcome you again in your next visit to Rio de Janeiro.

Best Regards,

Maurizio Romani
Diretor Geral | Managing Director
Caesar Park Rio de Janeiro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2010

The hotel is clean and security is good. The staff were all pleasant and helpful. The room was clean but had seen better days. The hotel lobby had no atmosphere at all. Swimming pool was closed for the week that I was there. Very much a business hotel. The room rate was extortionate and everything from the mini bar, hotel black taxis and restaurant prices were inflated. I could not believe the prices! To be fair, the location was excellent and the breakfast excellent but I cannot justify the price.

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank islandgirl1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marie-Bérengère C, General Manager at Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Ipanema, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2016

Dear Guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Caesar Park Rio de Janeiro, I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

We strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore, your feedback is very important to us.

Please rest assured that we are acting appropriately to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to serve you better you in the near future.


Thank you,


Sincerely,

Marie Berengere Chapoton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2010

I arrived late at night, and was just gald to see a bed. however as soon as I opened the door to my room, a damp, musty smell hit me. the room was very old, dated and in general NOT clean. When I put the lights on it was evident that this room was NOt clean, ok, the bed was made and the bathroom had clean towels, but it was dusty, dusty, dirty, stained carpets and the furtniture was marked and old. I just went to sleep and promised to deal with it in the mroning. When I woke up, the view of ipanema was amazing, but the room was very grotty and definitely not worth the money!

I called reception and they said the hotel was full and to call back at 4pm-which i did, they then moved me to another room on 20th floor. Without question, which made me think this has happened before. The new room was much cleaner, although smaller. It was much more modern, with nice fresh bed clothes, a clean carpet, a flat screen TV(the other room had an old style TV!). I was happy, and glad I spoke up, however I tried to open the window and the handle came off in my hand! Then i sat on the chair at the desk to do some work, and the leg came off.....I decided not to complain until i was checking out. the staff however were very friendly and helpful, the breakfast was nice, although it was a bit disturbing to see the waiters constanlt wrapping food up in napkins and slipping it into their pockets and then going into the toilet-obviously to eat it>

A good location, friendy staff but definitely over priced and not worth the money!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lOVEMYLUXURY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marie-Bérengère C, General Manager at Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Ipanema, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2016

Dear Guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Caesar Park Rio de Janeiro, I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

We strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore, your feedback is very important to us.

Please rest assured that we are acting appropriately to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to serve you better you in the near future.


Thank you,


Sincerely,

Marie Berengere Chapoton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2010

We made our reservations for a deluxe ocean front room 8 months ago for a non-smoking room. They had us check in to the supposedly exclusive 20 floor, but the person there (Voldeci?) was extremely rude and chatted with his co-worker on the phone while ignoring us. He finally waved us over and checked us in with a smoking room. After I tried to show him my reservation for a non-smoking room, he curty replied, "I believe you, but we are completely booked." They said they would move us to a non-smoking room the next day, but they moved us instead to another smoking room and Bianca (?) had the nerve to lie to our face when I tried to confirm it was a non-smoking room before exchanging key cards. The "deluxe luxurious ocean front room" was run down and the windows were dirty and not what you expect for more than $500 per night. The location is nice, but after wasting time moving rooms and being blatantly lied to, we moved the Sofitel Hotel on the Copacabana. It looks old on the outside, but the ocean views were amazing and the staff was even more impressive and welcoming-the complete opposite of Cesar Park. The rooms were updated and contemporary with king sized beds for $100 less per night. This move made our trip 500% better!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 011235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marie-Bérengère C, General Manager at Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Ipanema, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2016

Dear Guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Caesar Park Rio de Janeiro, I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

We strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore, your feedback is very important to us.

Please rest assured that we are acting appropriately to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to serve you better you in the near future.


Thank you,


Sincerely,

Marie Berengere Chapoton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2010

Too expensive for what they offer ,
The location is the best quality of this hotel

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank menezes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marie-Bérengère C, General Manager at Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Ipanema, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2016

Dear Guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Caesar Park Rio de Janeiro, I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

We strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore, your feedback is very important to us.

Please rest assured that we are acting appropriately to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to serve you better you in the near future.


Thank you,


Sincerely,

Marie Berengere Chapoton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2010

It's a fine hotel in most ways but they charge for wifi access, meeting rooms, internet access, breakfast ($65 USD). It's expensive to start with and they chisel more out of you for what is standard service in many other hotels.
Even so, I tried to book for another week with overseas clients and the rates had escalated from very high to ridiculous, which meant that they created a customer for the Sofitel down the road.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Duff W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marie-Bérengère C, General Manager at Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Ipanema, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2016

Dear Guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Caesar Park Rio de Janeiro, I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

We strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore, your feedback is very important to us.

Please rest assured that we are acting appropriately to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to serve you better you in the near future.


Thank you,


Sincerely,

Marie Berengere Chapoton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Ipanema
Praia Ipanema Hotel
Praia Ipanema Hotel
#85 of 283 in Rio de Janeiro
1,525 reviews
Ipanema
Sol Ipanema Hotel
Sol Ipanema Hotel
#72 of 283 in Rio de Janeiro
1,159 reviews
Ipanema
Ipanema Inn
Ipanema Inn
#13 of 283 in Rio de Janeiro
1,413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ipanema
Hotel Fasano Rio de Janeiro
Hotel Fasano Rio de Janeiro
#4 of 283 in Rio de Janeiro
1,478 reviews
Copacabana
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
#2 of 283 in Rio de Janeiro
2,421 reviews
Copacabana
JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro
JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro
#19 of 283 in Rio de Janeiro
2,202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Ipanema? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Ipanema

Address: Av. Vieira Souto, 460, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22420-006, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Ipanema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#21 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#27 Luxury Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#35 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range: $203 - $484 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Ipanema 5*
Number of rooms: 223
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Ipanema combines sophistication and elegance to the minutest detail alongside friendly service. Its restaurants stand out for their high-quality cuisine, while its famous international stores are also an instant hit. Ipanema also offers a cosmopolitan, elegant and upbeat atmosphere. Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Ipanema is recognized as one of the best places to stay in the world and, definitively, one of the best options for those seeking subtle luxury and constant comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, ACCOR, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Ipanema reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caesar Park Ipanema
Sofitel Rio De Janeiro Ipanema Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing