We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business hotel, Nice location in Ipanema, but expensive”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Ipanema
Ranked #38 of 282 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
Barcelona
Level Contributor
76 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Business hotel, Nice location in Ipanema, but expensive”
Reviewed April 21, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for a week in April in this business hotel. The reception is friendly and adequate, the concierge desk very helpful. Service level in general good. The entrance and hall does not reflect a hotel of this standing and pricelevel. I had the bad luck of getting a small room (1701) where my travel mates also had a single but these were normal size doubles, so remember to mention this when making reservation. Another unpleasant surprise was that breakfast was not included and, although nicely served on the top floor, turned out to be expensive. The gym is superb, but for swimming I recommend beach and ocean, as the rooftop pool is small and very shallow. I used the hotel spa for a massage which was excellent. The location is superb with many restaurants at walking distance and as a hotel guest one can use the beach chairs and free towel service.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank H08H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managing_Director_RJ, General Manager at Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Ipanema, responded to this review, April 30, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for having chosen Caesar Park Hotel Ipanema and also for sending your remarks via TripAdvisor.

Every comment made by our customers is taken very seriously, as they contribute to the maintenance and improvement of our standards, so we appreciate the notes made.

We hope to welcome you in your next visit to Rio de Janeiro.

Best Regards,

Eduardo Cruz del Rio
Managing Director
Caesar Park Ipanema
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,674 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    755
    594
    191
    74
    60
See reviews for
290
629
97
327
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2012

Stayed here recently, and was very impressed from the minute I arrived. Excellent service, upgraded to a suite but most importantly, this is the best location in Rio. Great restaurants nearby and nothing beats a swim right across the road. Views to die for from the rooftop pool.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grange98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managing_Director_RJ, General Manager at Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Ipanema, responded to this review, April 16, 2012
Dear Mr.

We thank you for having chosen Caesar Park Ipanema and also for sending your comments via Internet.

It is a pleasure to acknowledge that our services were up to your desires and expectations.

Therefore, we thank you again for your cooperation and hope to welcome you in your next visit to Rio de Janeiro.

Rest Regards,

Eduardo Cruz del Rio
Managing Director
Caesar Park Ipanema
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, CA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2012

I've stayed at this hotel on business several times in the past two years. Property is well managed and serves needs of business and vacationers equally well. Pluses--location, great staff, clean, safe, nicely appointed rooms. Beautiful restaurant--I cannot describe the fantastic views of Ipanema beach from the roof top pool and restaurant. It's like being in a dream. Location is near restaurants, shopping etc. As a woman traveling alone safety is key. I always feel very safe and comfortable at the Caear Park.

Less great aspects--very few drawers in the dresser and the closet is samll. Difficult for longer stays. There is no inexpensive eating option in the hotel or that I would walk to after dark. So that requires some planning I'd you are alone. With companions is perfectly safe to walk to some nice restaurants within a couple blocks. From what I can tell this is probably among the nicest, safest and most beautifllu located hotels in Rio.

Room Tip: Been on several floors and sides. All have been nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Porcupine99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managing_Director_RJ, General Manager at Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Ipanema, responded to this review, April 16, 2012
Dear Guest,

We thank you for having chosen Caesar Park Hotel Ipanema and also for sending your remarks at the end of your stay.

Every comment made by our customers is taken very seriously, as they contribute to the maintenance and improvement of our standards.


Therefore, we thank you again for your cooperation and hope to welcome you in your next visit to Rio de Janeiro.

Best Regards,

Eduardo Cruz del Rio
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London - UK
Level Contributor
58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2012 via mobile

We could not ask for more, world class treatment from start to end.
Great, spacious rooms facing Ipanema beach. Knowledgeable concierge.
Modern flat screens in room.
Top mark for cleanliness.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
Thank PedroREIS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managing_Director_RJ, General Manager at Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Ipanema, responded to this review, April 16, 2012
Dear Guest,

We thank you for having chosen Caesar Park Hotel Ipanema and also for sending your remarks at the end of your stay.

It is with pleasure that we receive your remarks and acknowledge that our services were up to your desires and expectations

Therefore, we thank you again for your cooperation and hope to welcome you in your next visit to Rio de Janeiro.

Best Regards,

Eduardo Cruz del Rio
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2012

We are lucky enough to travel a great deal so hotels are very important to us. During our stay at a new destination we check out ALL the hotels we pass by for comparison- turning it into our personal game. It was difficult getting an impression on the Caesar Park from home and the internet so I want to make this really easy for others planning a trip to Rio.
The hotel's location is perfect. It was over 100 degrees when we arrived-
nothing beats walking across the street to the designated beach area where Caesar Park has its own lounges, towels and personnel. NO THINKING required. The lobby
area is spacious with an abundance of beautiful orchids and was fully air conditioned. It was an ideal place to meet friends. Be aware, that many lobbies in the neighboring hotels are miniscule with air con that is not swell. This was our first trip to Brazil so two times we
checked out, (went to Paraty and Buzios, each different, but also fabulous) and both times we came back to the hotel. After long bus trips in wicked heat coming back to the Ceasar felt like coming home. Why? Because the hotel staff is incredible...so upbeat, helpful, and fun. Kudo's to the General Manager who has trained his team to look beyond business travelers and to look to assist all guests in any way possible. We ask alot of questions re: restaurants, streets to walk, travel arrangements, tours, and the Concierge Desk always had good information and steered us in the right direction. Our compliments to Concierges Cecelia and Lionel, to all the front desk crew, ie. Robia and Frederico, to peppy Diane and
the others overseeing the Club room and to all the others who went out of their way to be friendly and helpful. IT SO TOTALLY makes a difference. With regard to the guest rooms-
they are large, immaculate, and well appointed. Toiletries are excellent- the green bath soap
is the best. My husband used the upstairs gym and found it more than satisfactory. On the roof is a tiny pool, comical by our standards, but adequate for a cooling dip- everyone really uses the beach. Food was prettily prepared and fine. Casual dress code for guests was most
welcome...to hot to dress up much. There are less expensive hotels for sure, but we found
the hotel was NOT where it made sense to go budget....we wanted to be well located,
comfortable, and safe so we could truly relax after a busy day. The Caesar Park was
the perfect answer.
Susan and Richard, New York City

Room Tip: All the rooms are quiet. Ask for a room facing the beach for the unparalled view and the light. Clu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank susan n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managing_Director_RJ, General Manager at Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Ipanema, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Dear Guest,

First I would like to thank you for having choosen our Hotel as your home away from home.

I have read your kind comments regarding our services and our staff, it is indeed an honor to receive such compliments. Rest assured that I will personally transmit the contents of your letter to each and every one of them, I am sure they will be very satisfied.

Hope to welcome you again during your next visit to Rio de Janeiro.


Best Regards,

Eduardo Cruz del Rio
Managing Director
Caesar Park Ipanema
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Atitlan
Level Contributor
225 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2012

On a previous review I wrote of the all the problems I had checking into the hotel right before New Year;s. It took a lot of negotiating but in the end I was given what I had expected and had a terrific time. I would go back to the Caesar Park Ipanema; it has a perfect locations; two steps from the beach and a block to restaurants and shopping In the end it was a perfet place to be.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kayak-atitlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managing_Director_RJ, General Manager at Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Ipanema, responded to this review, April 16, 2012
Dear Guest,

We thank you for having chosen Caesar Park Hotel Ipanema and also for sending your remarks at the end of your stay.

We hope to welcome you in your next visit to Rio de Janeiro.

Best Regards,

Eduardo Cruz del Rio
Managing Director
Caesar Park Ipanema
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Koege, Denmark
Level Contributor
175 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2012

Have been staying a week at this hotel. The location is fantastic, but the price is ober the top even when trabelling on business. Staff seems unengaged and some not service minded. Top restaurant has super view, but very expensive. Pool only to a small dip. Fitness room OK. Room OK, and internet works, at times slow. Safety OK.

In general super hotel, but price major draw back.

Room Tip: Get view over Ipanema.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lfrasmus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managing_Director_RJ, General Manager at Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Ipanema, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Dear Guest,

We thank you for having chosen Caesar Park Hotel Ipanema and also for sending your remarks via internet.

Every comment made by our customers is taken very seriously, as they contribute to the maintenance and improvement of our standards.

Therefore, we thank you again for your cooperation and hope to welcome you in your next visit to Rio de Janeiro.

Best Regards,

Eduardo Cruz del Rio
Managing Director
Caesar Park Ipanema
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Ipanema
Sol Ipanema Hotel
Sol Ipanema Hotel
#62 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
1,126 reviews
Ipanema
Hotel Fasano Rio de Janeiro
Hotel Fasano Rio de Janeiro
#5 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
1,455 reviews
Ipanema
Ipanema Inn
Ipanema Inn
#13 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
1,365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ipanema
Praia Ipanema Hotel
Praia Ipanema Hotel
#83 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
1,472 reviews
Copacabana
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
#2 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
2,359 reviews
Sheraton Grand Rio Hotel & Resor...
#27 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
1,506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Ipanema? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Ipanema

Property: Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Ipanema
Address: Av. Vieira Souto, 460, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22420-006, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Ipanema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#21 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#24 Luxury Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#35 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Ipanema 5*
Number of rooms: 223
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Ipanema combines sophistication and elegance to the minutest detail alongside friendly service. Its restaurants stand out for their high-quality cuisine, while its famous international stores are also an instant hit. Ipanema also offers a cosmopolitan, elegant and upbeat atmosphere. Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Ipanema is recognized as one of the best places to stay in the world and, definitively, one of the best options for those seeking subtle luxury and constant comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Ipanema reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caesar Park Ipanema
Sofitel Rio De Janeiro Ipanema Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing