We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Rio Othon Palace Hotel(Rio de Janeiro)(Great Value!)
$96
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Arena Copacabana Hotel(Rio de Janeiro)(Great Value!)
$106
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
$215
$166
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Miramar Hotel by Windsor(Rio de Janeiro)(Great Value!)
$137
$102
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$229
Sofitel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
$205
$178
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$258
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$561
$421
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Belmond Copacabana Palace(Rio de Janeiro)
$547
$487
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (2,602)
Filter reviews
2,602 results
Traveler rating
1,381
904
222
67
28
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,381
904
222
67
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsporto bay hotelrooftop poolcopacabana beachchrist the redeemersparkling winetop flooroverlooking the beachexcellent hotelflip flopspanoramic viewsugarloaf mountaincorner roomwelcome drinksugar loafbreakfast roombreakfast was excellentsmall balcony
Filter
Updating list...
97 - 102 of 2,602 reviews
Reviewed October 18, 2017

We spent three nights at this excellent hotel after an exhausting holiday in the Pantanal and Amazonas.It was the best hotel we have stayed in over the last few years in terms of space, friendliness, location and decor.Thesparkling wine on arrival was much appreciated as was the help with wi fi connection from Thiago and Alananderson?The view from the balcony was great and everywhere was spotlessly clean.

Room Tip: Rooms with balcony overlooking Copocabana Beach superb.
Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
1  Thank LlangollenCharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortobayRI, Gerente de recepção at PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2017

Dear Guest,

In the name of all our staff I would like to express our gratitude for your comments at Trip Advisor. It is a pleasure to hear that you were satisfied with our services specially your comments about Thiago and Alanderson. We will be informing them of your positive observations to motivate her even further. We are really happy that your overall impression about the hotel was excellent, so we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again soon.

Warm Regards from Porto Bay!
Amanda Vieira
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2017

We stayed in Rio in August 17. It was their winter - and there was some cloud and rain.
The hotel has a beautiful location on Copacabana beach. This gives easy access to allthe amazing sites.
But treat this hotel as bed and breakfast only out of season. The downstairs bar is poor as is the meals in the dinning room outside of a good buffet breakfast.
Plan your trips and look after your valuables well. Rio has some crime problems - but a fun place to visit.
Value is poor as they are experiencing 20% inflation after the 2016 Olympics

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortobayRI, Gerente de recepção at PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Porto Bay Rio Internacional. Your opinion is a very important reference to keep the standard of quality and for better serve our guests. We also want to thank you for your comments regarding the location and the breakfast.

Best Regards,
Amanda Vieira
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2017

We stayed there for 6 nights (October 2017) and if I come back to Rio, I will definitely book there again. We found many great places to eat close to the hotel. In addition, it is a great location so you can walk alongside Copacana from side to side and then to easily head to Ipanema and Leblon. The service at the hotel is excellent and everyone is willing to help you as much as possible since you arrive until you leave.
FYI: On your last day, if your flight is not until the night, they can let you check out later than usual so you can keep the room until you have to actually leave, of course as long as the room is available, else, they have a storage room.

Room Tip: The room does not really matter as long as you get out of it to actually get to know the city.
  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Carlos R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortobayRI, Gerente de recepção at PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2017

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel as your accommodation in Rio.
We are so delighted to read all your comments about our staff and location. Thank you for your choice to use our services, and in order to achieve this aim, it is always important to know your opinion on it. We will really happy to welcome you again.

Warm Regards from Porto Bay!

Yours faithfully,
Amanda Vieira
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2017 via mobile

This hotel is in a perfect location overlooking Copacabana beach. Well worth paying a little more for a room with a sea view.
Friendly helpful staff, good breakfasts and decent bar food. Rooms reasonably good. Overall a good choice when staying a few days in Rio. Would be very happy to go back.

Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank VRO53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortobayRI, Gerente de recepção at PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2017

Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for choosing our as your accommodation choice during your recent stay Rio and for taking the time to complete your review. We are so delighted to read all your comments about our service, breakfast and location. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again soon.

Warm Regards from Porto Bay!
Amanda Vieira
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2017

I stayed at this hotel for 5 days in September. The room was big with a very comfortable bed and balcony with side ocean view.The Bathroom was also very modern with a wonderful large rain-shower.
The location of the hotel is perfect, right on the Copacabana. I loved the rooftop pool area, where you can get tasty snacks and drinks. he breakfast is very good with a very large selection of fresh fruit and juices, breads, meats, and warm dishes. I only had lunch one time at the restaurant which was not really that good. It basically lacked taste.
I had a massage at the hotel. The massage itself was very nice but due to construction noise right outside the window it was impossible to switch off and relax. There is no spa at this hotel, it is just a massage room. There is a shower room on the gym floor which is good if you want to take a shower before a late flight. The staff is nice and speak and understand English.
One thing I want to mention is that there is no free water offered in the rooms. The minibar has tiny bottles of water which cost more than the 2 liter bottles I bought next door at the little market. Usually, when the running water is not really potable, the hotel should offer complementary bottles of water.
But all in all, I had a nice stay, so would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank GlobetrotterGrl8952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortobayRI, Gerente de recepção at PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2017

Dear guest,

We greatly appreciate you for taking the time to qualify us on TripAdvisor. We are extremely pleased with your compliments regarding our staff, rooms and all the facilities from the hotel. Please be sure that your preference is very important to us and we will be more than honored to have the opportunity to welcome you again in our hotel, next time to enjoy our new and renewed pool area.

Best Regards,
Amanda Vieira
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews