We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic hotel with really friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel
Ranked #15 of 281 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
Eire
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A fantastic hotel with really friendly staff”
Reviewed December 7, 2009

We stayed here for 4 nights in November. We arrived at 07.30 and were dubious about whether they would let us check in early. Not only did they check us in with no hassle, they upgraded us free of charge to an ocean view room, as there were no side rooms available that early in the day. The staff were polite, friendly, efficient and we loved the hotel. The room we stayed in had a corner curved window, ceiling to floor and we could see all of the beach, which was such a lovely view to wake up to each morning. The breaskfast buffet was the best I've ever had, and I've stayed in a lot of hotels over the years. The rooftop pool was fabulous, we had friends come over for drinks one evening to enjoy the views. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mossyEire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,222
    790
    194
    57
    22
See reviews for
369
1,148
121
248
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (418)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
cannes
Level Contributor
46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2009

Right on the Copacabana - nearest hotel the Copacabana Palace. Pool small but convenient.

Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank livia073
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2009

We chose the Porto Bay hotel after a lot of online research and input from friends who have travelled to Rio. It is a very expensive city, and hotel prices can be sky high. The Porto Bay faced Copacabana beach, which in itself is a fabulous experience, although very touristy.
The hotel itself was very average, and not quite up to my standard of clean. The beds were decent, but not the best I've slept in. The TV was placed at a very weird angle, making it difficult to lie down and watch it. The rooms had absolutely no view, unless you hung off the railing of your balcony. The only great thing about the hotel was its restaurant, which had some truly awesome food!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank superstar311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2009

My husband and I were on our honeymoon and spent three nights here. The staff is exceptional especially Luciana. The rooms all have great views and the roof top pool has to the best or one of the best in Rio. The breakfeast is exceptional and all the staff goes out of their way for you.

We have already recommended this hotel to friends and we hope to return as well.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AmberyCarlos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2009

My husband and I spent our last night in Rio in this hotel and we were not dissapointed. The staff were very helpful and the service was very professional. The rooms were bright and spacious as well as being very clean. The rooftop pool and bar provided a wonderful view of Copacabana beach as well as Christ the Redeemer, and much of Rio. We checked out the next day and the staff made sure we were looked after during the day whilst waiting for our taxi to the airport. On the whole, we would definately stay here again. It is expensive but you definately get what you pay for. AJ and Al.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AJ115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2009

Checked in and was offered a chilled glass of bubbly, which obviously helps! Lovely helpful staff, great rooms, fab marble bath, balcony overlooking the beach and Corcovado, decent breakfast, safe location. Next time, I might try accommodation on Ipanema rather than Copacabana, as it is looking a bit tired, but that's not the hotel's fault and it was fab nonetheless. Great rooftop pool.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loftypops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2009

The staff in this hotel really make it. We arrived as four backpakers having walked in the soaring heat for 25 mins from our previous 2 star hotel - we were on our last few days of 9 month trip and so were splashing out a bit. When we arrived they rushed to take our rucksacks and offered champagne (even though it was only 9am in the morning!) Our room got upgraded to a a corner suite style room and as we were celebrating our wedding anniversary was kitted out with rose petals on the bed and chocolates which was lovely touch. The reception staff were excellent as were all the staff at the pool and at breakfast. Nothing was too much trouble and everyone was always smiling. The roof top pool was really great spot with fantastic views, as were the views from our room. There is a small gym which is ample though bit cramped but again as it is on top floor, has amazing views over Copacabana beach. We ate a few times form the pool bar menu and food was pretty good. Breakfast was excellent with wide selection. As with all areas in Rio, be careful once you leave the hotel as some of the streets behind it are bit dodgy. Wouldn't recommend walking at night time really. Also dont go to bar few doors along from the hotel on the other corner as its total hooker joint - unless of course thats what you're in to...
All in all this is really great spot to see Rio. hotel is nice & modern, but really its the staff that make it stand out from other spots. We stayed in Windsor, Barra, another suburb of Rio, for few days but came back here as Windsor was nowhere near as good!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dijonstephy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Copacabana
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
#3 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,342 reviews
Copacabana
Hilton Rio de Janeiro Copacabana
Hilton Rio de Janeiro Copacabana
#13 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,590 reviews
Copacabana
Arena Copacabana Hotel
Arena Copacabana Hotel
#20 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Copacabana
Belmond Copacabana Palace
Belmond Copacabana Palace
#4 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,191 reviews
Copacabana
JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro
JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro
#17 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,078 reviews
Copacabana
Rio Othon Palace Hotel
Rio Othon Palace Hotel
#40 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel

Property: Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel
Address: Avenida Atlantica 1500, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22021-000, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#6 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#8 Spa Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#13 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#14 Luxury Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right on Copacabana beach in the spectacular city of Rio de Janeiro, PortoBay Rio Internacional offers you the best of two worlds - the sensational city and a breathtaking view over the beach right on the doorstep... Step into Rio Internacional and feel at home - make the most of your stay! Look out over Copacabana beach and revitalise yourself with the sea breeze. The ideal location for an unforgettable holiday or to counter the stress of a day's work in Rio ... 117 apartments/rooms decorated in the best taste... a range of flavours at La Finestra and a roof-top pool with stunning views over Copacabana beach and Corcovado... The hotel PortoBay Rio Internacional offers free Wi-Fi throughout the whole hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rio Internacional Hotel
Hotel Porto Bay Rio Internacional
Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing