We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Pleasant Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel
Ranked #18 of 282 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very Pleasant Stay”
Reviewed August 29, 2014 via mobile

The rooms were small, but modern and had balconies with a fantastic view of Copacabana. The staff, especially Sasha and Ramon, we're extremely helpful when I came to understanding where to go and helping to book excursions. My favorite part was the rooftop. Although the pool isn't really made for swimming, the view is astounding and the caipirinhas are even better!

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Spillihpnai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortobayRI, Gerente de recepção at PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
Dear Guest,

On behalf of the Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel, we would like to thank you for the compliments regarding our services during your stay.
We are so delighted to read your comments about our rooftop, view and the service from our front desk staff. We all look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit to Rio. Do not hesitate to contact me for any request,

Best regards,
Amanda Vieira
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,333 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,250
    803
    200
    58
    22
See reviews for
384
1,164
121
256
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (423)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2014 via mobile

This was a fabulous hotel. Beautifully located on the beachfront of copacabana beach with views on the rooftop pool of the top of sugarloaf mountain, you can see Christ the redeemer and a favela.
The staff were all exceptional. Happy, helpful, thoughtful and spoke very good English.
We can't recommend this hotel highly enough.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank Karen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortobayRI, Gerente de recepção at PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your comments in relation to your stay at Porto Bay Rio International Hotel. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed our services, it is pleasing to receive such comments as yours and to know we are caring for our guest properly. We look forward to hearing from you in the near future.

Warm Regards!
Amanda Vieira
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for three nights as part of a touring holiday in Brazil. Excellent hotel. Spotlessly clean and with great facilities. Rooftop terrace and bar a bonus as views across Copacabana beach are stunning. Breakfast was fantastic too - so much choice and beautiful fresh fruit. Staff very friendly and helpful. We were nervous about staying in Rio, but this hotel is in a safe place and we had a lovely walk around the seafront and side streets in the early evening and it was wonderful! Definitely recommend to anyone thinking of visiting Rio.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank angela c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortobayRI, Gerente de recepção at PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing us as your accommodation choice during your recent stay in Rio and for taking the time to complete your review. We are glad you enjoyed the breakfast and the service from our staff, it´s really good to know we are caring for our guest properly.
We all look forward to welcome you again on your next visit to Rio. Do not hesitate to contact us for any request.

Warm Regards from Porto Bay,
Amanda Vieira
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2014

Porto Bay is located right across the street from Copacabana Beach and just one block away from the beautiful Copacabana Palace. We preferred the smaller hotel for a couple of reasons, price and service. The service and attention to you is 10 on a 10 scale. Price is very reasonable for what you get and the location. Need directions or a recommendation for a restaurant or just need some help with anything they are right there for you...you are the most important think in their life at that moment.
Did I mention the incredible breakfast brunch as part of your stay? Fabulous!
The only possible negative is their beds, they need replacing. The four of us did not sleep all that well. Should this deter you from staying there...not in the least. You will be happy with your decision.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Klem D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortobayRI, Gerente de recepção at PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your preference in staying at Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel, and for sharing your experience here at Trip Advisor.
We are so glad to know that you enjoyed our breakfast, and service from our staff. We are happy to hear you´ve could take the most of our hotel and had a pleasant stay with us.

Best regards from Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel.
Amanda Vieira
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2014

We stayed for 5 nights and cannot fault our experience in any way. The hotel was welcoming, the staff very helpful and courteous. They all spoke excellent English and nothing was too much trouble. The gym overlooks the pool and beach and is up on the top floor which makes exercising a pleasure and the roof top pool and bar area are immaculate. The hotel is very clean and the rooms modern, very well equipped and have a balcony with a great view of Copacabana beach. Plenty of very reasonable places to eat within five minutes walk. The breakfast in the hotel is exceptionally good and very extensive and a delight compared to most hotels I have stayed in.
The hotel is a very short walk from the metro station and a five minute walk to the minibuses that go up to Christ the Redeemer. It takes about 30 mins to walk to Ipanema beach and the hotel neighbourhood fells very safe both in the day and evening. We were delighted with the whole experience.

Room Tip: Rooms on front of hotel overlook the beach but rooms on side of hotel still have great views and are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Fran578
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortobayRI, Gerente de recepção at PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Dear guest,

We greatly appreciate you for taking the time to qualify us on TripAdvisor. We are extremely pleased with your compliments regarding our staff, service and facilities from the hotel, it is really gratifying to know that you had a memorable stay with us. Thank you very much and see you next time!

Best Regards,
Amanda Vieira
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasilia, DF
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2014

Very well located on Copacabana beach : take a room with a view ! it's a great location. No traffic noise even on the 8th. Rooftop pool and bar on 20th floor with fabulous. very helpful staff everywhere, gave us a complementary late checkout. Great breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marcus M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortobayRI, Gerente de recepção at PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Dear Guest,

We are very pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay in our hotel. It is encouraging as our guest’s satisfaction is our primary concern.
We all hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again very soon!
Warm Regards from Porto Bay!

Sincerely Grateful,
Amanda Vieira
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2014

The Porto Bay Rio hotel is about a third of the way along Copacabana beach, and easy to spot as it is dark brown when all its neighbours are white. The location is perfect for exploring anywhere in Rio, and there is an ATM in a bank just around the corner. The rooms are comfortable with great views over the beach. The breakfast is great and the staff helpful, as are the staff at the rooftop pool/bar, such as when I had adaptor problems they sorted for me.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IPC74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortobayRI, Gerente de recepção at PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Dear guest,

We are really happy that your overall impression about the hotel was excellent, and also that our staff helped you during your stay, so we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again soon.

Best Regards,
Amanda Vieira
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Copacabana
Hilton Rio de Janeiro Copacabana
Hilton Rio de Janeiro Copacabana
#15 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
2,665 reviews
Copacabana
Arena Copacabana Hotel
Arena Copacabana Hotel
#22 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
1,880 reviews
Copacabana
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
#2 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
2,400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Copacabana
Belmond Copacabana Palace
Belmond Copacabana Palace
#3 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
3,276 reviews
Copacabana
JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro
JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro
#19 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
2,180 reviews
Copacabana
Rio Othon Palace Hotel
Rio Othon Palace Hotel
#30 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
1,179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel

Property: PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel
Address: Avenida Atlantica 1500, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22021-000, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#6 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#10 Spa Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#13 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#17 Luxury Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right on Copacabana beach in the spectacular city of Rio de Janeiro, PortoBay Rio Internacional offers you the best of two worlds - the sensational city and a breathtaking view over the beach right on the doorstep... Step into Rio Internacional and feel at home - make the most of your stay! Look out over Copacabana beach and revitalise yourself with the sea breeze. The ideal location for an unforgettable holiday or to counter the stress of a day's work in Rio ... 117 apartments/rooms decorated in the best taste... a range of flavours at La Finestra and a roof-top pool with stunning views over Copacabana beach and Corcovado... The hotel PortoBay Rio Internacional offers free Wi-Fi throughout the whole hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rio Internacional Hotel
Hotel Porto Bay Rio Internacional
PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing