We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel
Ranked #13 of 281 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
162 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2014 via mobile

Ideally located in the centre of Copacobana and a short hop across the road to the beach where the hotel provides facilities. We were advised that we had been upgraded and certainly the view of Copacobana beach both ways was spectacular. Ask for a room on the front as whilst you may see the beach from all rooms I am sure that some will have a restricted view. It says a lot about priorities, but the square footage of the balcony was greater than the bathroom. Living in Hong Kong we are used to small rooms, but everybody might not be. We did not use the fitness facilities, but they look right out on to the beach, so can't be many better places to work out in Rio than of course on or near to the beach itself. On the 20th floor there is also a dip pool and bar facilities which again provide great views of the beach.
Breakfast was excellent and taken on the 5th floor and can't think of many better places to get you in the right mood for the day.
Previous reviews complain about the lack of English language skills, service and room quality. We did not find any of those problems and found all staff to be friendly and willing to help. It appears that management have taken on board the need to improve some of the rooms as there appears to be an upgrade in process and some noise in this respect during the day.
Bikes available for hire and easy access to the cycle tracks which take you all along Copacobana, Ipanema and around Lagoa and probably beyond if you want to venture further.
We can only speak as we found, but very happy with our stay here and would certainly recommend.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Alan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,205
    780
    191
    57
    22
See reviews for
362
1,131
120
245
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (415)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
HK
Level Contributor
178 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2014

Good Location right across the beach. Room quality was ok. Air con is too strong. Shower room is small. Free wifi and there's a water kettle for tea and coffee. There's a small patio right outside my room with a table and two chairs to sit and see the beach view. Quality of service is far from satisfactory and very slow, the concierge is not efficient. Breakfast buffet is good with nice beach overview. 20th Roof top has excellent view of the Bay area and the mountains.

Room Tip: As for a higher floor and a room with the beach view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank P T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortobayRI, Gerente de recepção at Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel as your accomodation in Rio.
Firstly we were extremely concerned to read of your disappointing stay with us and we apologize most sincerely for the inconvenience you may have had. We assure you those episodes don’t reflect our standards and we do hope that we are able to restore your faith in our hotel and allow us the opportunity to redeem ourselves in the future.
Warm Regards from Porto Bay!

Yours faithfully,
Amanda Vieira
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2014 via mobile

I really enjoyed my stay at this hotel, the breakfast selection was plentiful and we ate twice at the pool bar and would recommend the pesto chicken baguette!
The pool area and new gym were very nice as were the staff. I loved the little extras they thought of, eg. free flip flops and a newspaper specific to your country to your room everyday.
My only gripes would be that I didn't have a great view from our room and the lifts were painfully slow, but other than that I would definitely recommend this hotel!

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank S-Rtraveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortobayRI, Gerente de recepção at Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Dear guest,

We are really happy that your overall impression about the hotel was excellent, and also that our staff helped you during your stay, so we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again soon.

Best Regards,
Amanda Vieira
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2014

I had a short stay at the Porto Bay Hotel during the first week of the 2014 World Cup. The hotel staff were all very helpful 24/7 and the amenities were sufficient for a comfortable stay. Rooms were not plush by any means but they had all that was needed for a short stay in Rio. Breakfast was outstanding with a nice view of the Copacabana beach. The location is fantastic with a few Brazilian BBQ restaurants within walking distance. Churrascaria Palace (5mins walk) had amazing traditional Brazilian meat 10/10 and is apparently one of the best in Rio.
The roof top pool is very chilled & cool with a nice set up of indoor outdoor areas. The pool is small but you only need it to cool down. The view is amazing with views of sugar loaf, Corcovado (christ statue), and the beach. You can get a drink (which were all nice and strong) from the bar and tan or sit inside to catch some sport on the LCDs. Above the pool is nice basic Gym with shower and sauna.
I would recommend the hire of a few bikes and ride along all of the beaches in the area.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortobayRI, Gerente de recepção at Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your comments in relation to your stay at Porto Bay Rio International Hotel. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed our services and breakfast, it is pleasing to receive such comments as yours and to know we are caring for our guest properly. We look forward to hearing from you in the near future.

Warm Regards!
Amanda Vieira
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2014

This was a terrible hotel. I can't point to anything good about it other than the instant access to Copa Cabana beach. Not one employee working at the hotel knew English while I stayed there. They didn't have an iron and for some reason I could not get any of my laundry washed using their service during my stay. The worst thing about the room was the bathroom which was dilapidated and extremely small. Breakfast was okay. By the end of my stay, I was convinced the R$800 per night I payed for a superior room was a rip off.

Room Tip: High room to avoid the sometimes loud streets
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anas A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortobayRI, Gerente de recepção at Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear Guest,

Firstly we were extremely concerned to read of your disappointing stay with us and we apologize most sincerely for the inconvenience you may have had. We assure you those episodes don’t reflect our standards and we do hope that we are able to restore your faith in our hotel and allow us the opportunity to redeem ourselves in the future.

Warm Regards from Porto Bay!
Amanda Vieira
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
92 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2014

Definitely Porto Bay has a privileged position in Copacabana. If you have the opportunity of a high floor room with views you will be able to enjoy great Copacabana views. You can go for a walk from Copacabana to Ipanema (about 8km back and forth to the beginning of Ipanema, or if you do until the end of Ipanema 14km the round trip) The food in the hotel is really good and I would say the breakfast and lunch will not leave anyone disappointed. Those are the two keys to this hotel.
That said when it comes to the room, then you have to cut on expectations. The bathroom is small and while all is working and operational is quite inconvenient. The furniture and decoration of the room is probably a 3 star at its best. Probably because of World Cup the employees where not very attentive and not really on top of your needs or even visible at some points.
All in all makes for a safe, clean stay in Rio, but do not expect to come out of it with an impression of luxury or 4 star hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mpancorbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortobayRI, Gerente de recepção at Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your comments in relation to your stay at Porto Bay Rio International Hotel. We appreciate your comments regarding the location from the hotel and our breakfast.
We welcome all constructive comments, because feedback such as yours truly enables us to reinforce the quality of our Standards.

We are really happy that your overall impression about the hotel was good, so we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again soon.

We were delighted to have you as guest.
Best Regards,
Amanda Vieira
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2014

The first hotel of our South American visit and a cracker to start with. An excellent location, across the road from Copacabana beach.The service was excellent and the rooms were a decent size.Our bathroom had a marble bath which was very pleasant. A nearby metro station made it easy to get to any part of the city and the local area had plenty of restaurants within walking distance. There is a rooftop pool with excellent views along the beach as well as been able to see Christ the Redeemer and Sugar Loaf mountain. I would certainly use this hotel again

Room Tip: Obviouesly, a sea-view room is desirable
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank George S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortobayRI, Gerente de recepção at Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel as your accommodation in Rio.
We are so delighted to read all your comments about our pool area, rooms and location. Thank you for your choice to use our services, and in order to achieve this aim, it is always important to know your opinion on it.

Warm Regards from Porto Bay!

Yours faithfully,
Amanda Vieira
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Copacabana
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
#2 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,323 reviews
Copacabana
Windsor Atlantica Hotel
Windsor Atlantica Hotel
#10 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,570 reviews
Copacabana
Arena Copacabana Hotel
Arena Copacabana Hotel
#18 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Copacabana
Belmond Copacabana Palace
Belmond Copacabana Palace
#3 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,156 reviews
Copacabana
JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro
JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro
#17 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,052 reviews
Copacabana
Rio Othon Palace Hotel
Rio Othon Palace Hotel
#46 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel

Property: Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel
Address: Avenida Atlantica 1500, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22021-000, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#6 Spa Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#6 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#12 Luxury Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#13 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right on Copacabana beach in the spectacular city of Rio de Janeiro, PortoBay Rio Internacional offers you the best of two worlds - the sensational city and a breathtaking view over the beach right on the doorstep... Step into Rio Internacional and feel at home - make the most of your stay! Look out over Copacabana beach and revitalise yourself with the sea breeze. The ideal location for an unforgettable holiday or to counter the stress of a day's work in Rio ... 117 apartments/rooms decorated in the best taste... a range of flavours at La Finestra and a roof-top pool with stunning views over Copacabana beach and Corcovado... The hotel PortoBay Rio Internacional offers free Wi-Fi throughout the whole hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Jetsetter, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rio Internacional Hotel
Hotel Porto Bay Rio Internacional
Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing