We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$209
$200
JW Marriott
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Miramar Hotel by Windsor(Rio de Janeiro)(Great Value!)
$206
$112
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$245
$231
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Ipanema Inn(Rio de Janeiro)(Great Value!)
$110
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Belmond Copacabana Palace(Rio de Janeiro)
$324
$313
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$230
$184
Sheraton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$173
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Rio Othon Palace Hotel(Rio de Janeiro)(Great Value!)
$103
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Arena Copacabana Hotel(Rio de Janeiro)(Great Value!)
$119
$85
Official Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
$500
$442
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Reviews (2,553)
Filter reviews
2,553 results
Traveler rating
1,356
883
220
67
27
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,356
883
220
67
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsporto bay hotelrooftop poolcopacabana beachchrist the redeemersparkling winetop flooroverlooking the beachexcellent hotelpanoramic viewcorner roomsugarloaf mountainwelcome drinksugar loafour honeymoonbreakfast roomstayed here for nightsbreakfast was excellent
Filter
Updating list...
639 - 644 of 2,553 reviews
Reviewed July 10, 2014

This was a terrible hotel. I can't point to anything good about it other than the instant access to Copa Cabana beach. Not one employee working at the hotel knew English while I stayed there. They didn't have an iron and for some reason I could not get any of my laundry washed using their service during my stay. The worst thing about the room was the bathroom which was dilapidated and extremely small. Breakfast was okay. By the end of my stay, I was convinced the R$800 per night I payed for a superior room was a rip off.

Room Tip: High room to avoid the sometimes loud streets
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Anas A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortobayRI, Gerente de recepção at PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2014

Dear Guest,

Firstly we were extremely concerned to read of your disappointing stay with us and we apologize most sincerely for the inconvenience you may have had. We assure you those episodes don’t reflect our standards and we do hope that we are able to restore your faith in our hotel and allow us the opportunity to redeem ourselves in the future.

Warm Regards from Porto Bay!
Amanda Vieira
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2014

Definitely Porto Bay has a privileged position in Copacabana. If you have the opportunity of a high floor room with views you will be able to enjoy great Copacabana views. You can go for a walk from Copacabana to Ipanema (about 8km back and forth to the beginning of Ipanema, or if you do until the end of Ipanema 14km the round trip) The food in the hotel is really good and I would say the breakfast and lunch will not leave anyone disappointed. Those are the two keys to this hotel.
That said when it comes to the room, then you have to cut on expectations. The bathroom is small and while all is working and operational is quite inconvenient. The furniture and decoration of the room is probably a 3 star at its best. Probably because of World Cup the employees where not very attentive and not really on top of your needs or even visible at some points.
All in all makes for a safe, clean stay in Rio, but do not expect to come out of it with an impression of luxury or 4 star hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mpancorbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortobayRI, Gerente de recepção at PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your comments in relation to your stay at Porto Bay Rio International Hotel. We appreciate your comments regarding the location from the hotel and our breakfast.
We welcome all constructive comments, because feedback such as yours truly enables us to reinforce the quality of our Standards.

We are really happy that your overall impression about the hotel was good, so we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again soon.

We were delighted to have you as guest.
Best Regards,
Amanda Vieira
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2014

The first hotel of our South American visit and a cracker to start with. An excellent location, across the road from Copacabana beach.The service was excellent and the rooms were a decent size.Our bathroom had a marble bath which was very pleasant. A nearby metro station made it easy to get to any part of the city and the local area had plenty of restaurants within walking distance. There is a rooftop pool with excellent views along the beach as well as been able to see Christ the Redeemer and Sugar Loaf mountain. I would certainly use this hotel again

Room Tip: Obviouesly, a sea-view room is desirable
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank George S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortobayRI, Gerente de recepção at PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2014

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel as your accommodation in Rio.
We are so delighted to read all your comments about our pool area, rooms and location. Thank you for your choice to use our services, and in order to achieve this aim, it is always important to know your opinion on it.

Warm Regards from Porto Bay!

Yours faithfully,
Amanda Vieira
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2014

The hotel itself is fine - the location, the service, the room size... And the terrace on the top floor where you can enjoy a spectacular view.
However it really needs to be renovated, it's old and somewhat shabby.
Especially when you are in your room, that is really spacious, cosy and with good lighting, you keep thinking that with some renovation to make it more modern and newer it would be really great!
And I understand hotels in Copacabana are really expensive and this could be a good solution, but at the end of the day you feel you would be willing to pay an extra price to stay somewhere nicer.

On top, I had the room in front of the lift, and being the walls paper thin, it was not really easy to fall asleep...

Room Tip: Ask for a room with ocean view and far from the lift!
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michela R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortobayRI, Gerente de recepção at PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2014

Dear guest,

We greatly appreciate you for taking the time to qualify us on TripAdvisor. We are extremely pleased with your compliments regarding our staff, rooms and location. Please be sure that your preference is very important to us and we will be more than honoured to have the opportunity to welcome you again in our hotel, next time to enjoy our new and renewed rooms.

Best Regards,
Amanda Vieira
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2014

This was the third time we'd stayed at this property, and once again it was a two night stay. We arrived quite late in the evening at the hotel but the car we had reserved through them was there waiting for us when we arrived at Rio airport.

For the second time out of three stays we were upgraded to a junior suite (I think). It was very large with a large sitting area and a balcony overlooking the beach (Copacabana) which we made quite a lot of use of. The bed was comfortable and the room was clean, and they are the two basics I look for. The breakfast was excellent with a wide range of choices and with tables being constantly cleared and the buffet checked and more food being put out all the time - sounds simple but many hotels just don't do this.

The only really minus is that the lifts are sooooo slowwwww, and they're small as well which means that there are often queues and if you're trying to join at an intermediate floor they'll often be full and you'll need to wait for another. We gave up a couple of times and walked down the stairs which eventually took us out to the street through the hotel loading bay, got us some strange looks though.

That said if we ever go back to Rio we will stay here, we know it, we like it and they make great caiprinha's at the rooftop bar with amazing views over the beach and to Corcovado - our best memory of our stay in Rio!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Englishlee0710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortobayRI, Gerente de recepção at PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2014

Dear guest,

I would like to thank you for choosing our as your accommodation choice during your recent stay Rio and for taking the time to complete your review, we are delighted to know that you enjoyed our services, rooms, breakfast, but we sincerely apologize for the trouble with the lifts. I can assure you that I will look into the matter.

Thanks again for your comments and we hope to host you again in a near future.

Warm Regards from Porto Bay!
Amanda Vieira
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews