We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$209
$200
JW Marriott
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Miramar Hotel by Windsor(Rio de Janeiro)(Great Value!)
$206
$112
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$245
$231
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Ipanema Inn(Rio de Janeiro)(Great Value!)
$110
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$230
$184
Sheraton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Belmond Copacabana Palace(Rio de Janeiro)
$324
$313
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Rio Othon Palace Hotel(Rio de Janeiro)(Great Value!)
$103
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
$173
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Arena Copacabana Hotel(Rio de Janeiro)(Great Value!)
$119
$85
Official Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
$500
$442
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Reviews (2,553)
Filter reviews
2,553 results
Traveler rating
1,356
883
220
67
27
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,356
883
220
67
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsporto bay hotelrooftop poolcopacabana beachchrist the redeemersparkling winetop flooroverlooking the beachexcellent hotelpanoramic viewcorner roomsugarloaf mountainwelcome drinksugar loafour honeymoonbreakfast roomstayed here for nightsbreakfast was excellent
Filter
Updating list...
654 - 659 of 2,553 reviews
Reviewed May 12, 2014

I found the hotel well managed and the staff very helpful. The 20th floor bar and lounge area was very comfortable and welcoming. One problem is they prepare the food on a lower floor and send it up to the 20th which sometimes makes for long delays being served the meal after ordering. I found the rooms very good, clean, and well maintained. The water pressure in the showers is extremely strong if you open it fully and the water can be very hot. Take care when adjusting. The air conditioning was not very efficient at removing humidity but this may be due to the fact I selected just room cooling and not the "dry" mode. Temperature control of the room was fine. I had a great view of the beach even though I did not have an ocean view room. The breakfast buffet was very generous and had an enormous selection of fruits, pastries, cakes and breads. There are even eggs, sausages and bacon for the more traditional eaters. The restaurant in the evening was a bit average and was sparsely attended. The cost of the dinner was not in line with the quality of the dinner meal although the wine was quite good. It would be better to select another well rated restaurant in Copacabana if you are seeking high quality for dinner. The place is quiet and I slept very well. The staff were always eager to help and provide advice. Overall this is a very good hotel to stay in and the fact the size is modest makes it have a more personal feel.

Room Tip: Rooms higher up (> 8 th floor) get a better view of the beach. If your are not in an ocean view room, try to get the single room closest to the corner suite as will have a more open view of the beach. Rio is quite humid and it is best to use the airconditioning when you sleep although you can open the sliding door to the balcony if you want fresh air. Be prepared for the road noise from Avenue Atlantica if you keep the door open.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortobayRI, Gerente de recepção at PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your comments in relation to your stay at Porto Bay Rio International Hotel.
We are delighted to know that you enjoyed our services, it is pleasing to receive such comments as yours and to know we are caring for our guest properly. We all hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again soon!

Warm Regards from Porto Bay!

Amanda Vieira
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights. The location is excellent and so is the breakfast buffet but the rooms are old and small. The bathrooms need updating there is rust all over. The toilets do not flush well. This is not based on 1 room but 8 rooms as 4 couples stayed there and because we complained our tour guides upgraded the rooms but the bathrooms still were the same third rate. See attached pics to believe it.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dkagtravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortobayRI, Gerente de recepção at PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you sharing your comments concerning your recent stay at Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel and we sincerely apologize for not having met your expectations.

All criticisms are taken constructively, as they are a valuable path to helps us get our
services better. We have reviewed your feedback in detail with our team, specially with our maintenance manager. But we also noted you enjoyed our location and breakfast services. Thanks again for your comments and we hope to host you again in the future.

With best regards,
Amanda Vieira
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2014

Really enjoyed our stay here for two nights. Room although quite small had lovely view over the Copocabana beach(worth paying a bit extra). Breakfast buffet was outstanding, one of the best I've experienced. The rooftop bar and pool was another treat with fantastic views and an excellent atmosphere. They were happily prepared to carry over our welcome sparkling wine drink to the following evening, an example of a staff team keen to help guests. Even the breakfast waiter remembered on the second morning how I liked my coffee. Only criticism is meanness over bottled water which seems a strange Brazilian trait. The recommendation is to drink bottled water but none is provided free so you are left paying silly prices from the minibar or going out and buying bottles from local shops. I'm sorry but the meanness at this price of a stay in an otherwise excellent hotel loses them a star.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Stephen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortobayRI, Gerente de recepção at PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2014

Dear guest,

We are really happy that your overall impression about the hotel was excellent, and also that you enjoyed our breakfast, pool area and service from our staff. Thank you for your suggestion and we really hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again soon.

Best Regards,
Amanda Vieira
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2014

This hotel was great to stay. I chose this hotel from experience at the same brand hotel in Sao Paulo. This hotel gave same satisfaction to me. This hotel was at the corner of the Copacabana beach. I could enjoy very good view that the location provided. On top of the hotel there was a wonderful small pool. In particular, in the morning, I saw famous Jesuit statue and beach from there. What a nice view! Morning was served at the 5th floor with variety of nice food. Room was so clean and everything was great. Stay at this hotel was wonderful.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim_Creator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortobayRI, Gerente de recepção at PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your comments in relation to your stay at Porto Bay Rio International Hotel.

We are delighted to know that you enjoyed our services, it is pleasing to receive such comments as yours and to know we are caring for our guest properly.

Warm Regards from Porto Bay!

With best regards,
Amanda Vieira
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2014

This is a well located hotel. It's modern and very clean. There is a small pool on the roof -more of a plunge pool that swimming pool, which has a great view. Breakfast buffet was good with plenty of fruit available.
The downside was really the up sell tactics of the reception. We were told we had an allocated room of 506 this is a low floor on the side street with a view of another building. We were advised we could upgrade to a sea view room 1802 for 200 real per night. We took this option as we thought it was the only way to have any kind of view. The next day we told our tour guide and she got quite upset with the hotel. She explained that all the rooms on the side Were of the same category regardless of the floor and that had the hotel given us a higher floor we would of had a view and not a bill for an upgrade. She called the hotel and clearly they knew that shouldn't of 'sold' an upgrade as the hotel not even close to being full and they could of easily given us a room on a higher floor, and they said they wouldn't charge us for the upgrade for the remaining nights. I guess if the hotel shows you the worst room they have available they can make quite a bit of extra money by getting everyone to upgrade. To be honest this kinda left a bad taste for me and I would not recommend this hotel simply for this.

Room Tip: Try to get room 3 (703,803 Etc) on any floor above 7 and you should get a good view down the beach....
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An_Expat_Wife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortobayRI, Gerente de recepção at PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2014

Dear guest,

I would like to thank you for choosing our as your accommodation choice during your recent stay Rio and for taking the time to complete your review, We are very happy to know you were satisfied with the hotel staff. We will be informing them of your positive observations to motivate them even further. We also do welcome all suggestions, so that we can focus more accurately on improving our standards. We were delighted to have you as guest.

Best Regards,
Amanda Vieira
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews