We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“porto bay hotel rio”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel
Ranked #15 of 282 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“porto bay hotel rio”
Reviewed March 16, 2014

The hotel is clean and pleasant. The conference rooms are quite good.
The big conference room has a great view.

However no HDMI projectors and no Large TV'S.


The lifts are slow and small and the roof top bar is not open for the dawn sunrise. Which is a shame. But apart from that, the Hotel is very nice the staff are helpful and very professional.

Room Tip: 01 02 rooms have sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PPM2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortobayRI, Gerente de recepção at Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for choosing our as your accommodation choice during your recent stay Rio and for taking the time to complete your review,

Your remarks have been carefully noted and we can assure you that the necessary steps have been taken to consider improvement in those aspects in the future.

We all look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit to Rio. Do not hesitate to contact me for any request,

Yours faithfully,

Amanda Vieira
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,288 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,224
    791
    194
    57
    22
See reviews for
369
1,149
121
248
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (418)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Somerset
Level Contributor
335 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2014

This was our ultimate stop during our South American Trip. The hotel is well located on Copacabana Beach and we had a corner room looking right along the beach. The service in the hotels restaurant was very good, excellent buffet breakfast. As mentioned by previous reviewer, bathrooms look old and could do with a refurbishment.
Downsides, elevators were slow and small.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ichibanwanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortobayRI, Gerente de recepção at Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

We are really happy that your overall impression about the hotel was excellent, so we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again soon.

I am sure that you will witness that we improved even more our service and facilities.

Thank you once more, for your choosing Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel.

Best Regards,

Amanda Vieira
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2014

We were on the 15th floor, absolutely fabulous view, very nice room, comfortable bed, bathroom dated, but great shower. Right across from the beach. We spent 3 days, 2 nights, and would certainly recommend this hotel to friends. Staff always helpful and spoke very good English. Having just left a Regent Cruise, we would rate the breakfast offered at the hotel as a 10+. Choices were unbelievable for a hotel breakfast, and fruit offered was second to none.

Room Tip: We were in a corner suite, with a magnificent view, worth the price if this is a "bucket list&q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carole N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortobayRI, Gerente de recepção at Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments in relation to your stay at Porto Bay Rio International Hotel, in special about our rooms, confortable bed and breakfast.
We are delighted to know that you enjoyed our services, it is pleasing to receive such comments as yours and to know we are caring for our guest properly.

Warm Regards from Porto Bay!

Best Regards,

Amanda Vieira
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2014

Sorry to say that after two weeks in Argentina and Brazil this was our least favorite place. I honestly cannot recommend this to any of our friends or family.
Pros:
Pool - Great view of Christ statue and Sugarloaf from the hotel pool
Provided a room for showering/changing since we had a late flight
Cons
Pool - Service was horrible. You couldn't find anyone at the pool until noon and service was incredibly slow. I also had the pleasure of watching construction on the hotel gym all day although the front desk staff told me that the gym was open upon arrival at the hotel
Rooms - Completely lack any character. We had a corner room with a great view, but the bathroom was old and dingy.
Front Desk - At all of the hotels during our trip we were given a hotel tour but at this hotel they just pointed us in the direction of the elevator. We asked for restaurant recommendations and places to dance and they told us just to go to a certain location and walk around. If you know anything about Rio you don't want to just walk around in a random neighborhood.
Food/Drink - not great by any means when you can get the service. We preferred to have lunch and drinks at Copacabana hotel next door.
Location - I never felt safe. At night there were local women hanging about in front of the hotels waiting for - well you can figure that out. Just a terrible spot. We felt much more safe in the Leblon area.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank holly620
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortobayRI, Gerente de recepção at Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconveniences you may had have. We would like to inform you that necessary action have been taken to correct the points you highlighted.

We also would be very pleased to have the opportunity to welcome you in your next visit to Rio, and hopefully change the impression you had about your last stay.

Best Regards,

Amanda Vieira
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2014

We extended our stay in Rio by 3 nights and this hotel was great, excellent location, service and food, very close to the beach on the front and the rooms were very modern with excellent bathrooms. The restaurant was pretty with great views and good food and the buffet breakfast had a great choice

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lesley E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortobayRI, Gerente de recepção at Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your preference in staying at Porto Bay Rio Internacional and for sharing your experience here at Trip Advisor.
We are glad to read that you enjoyed our Hotel, location, service and food, in special our breakfast and your lovely comments about our modern rooms.
We will certainly share your positive comment with out team.

Best Regards,
Amanda Vieira
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

Situation on Copacabana opposite the beach, with plenty of eateries nearby. Rooms spacious, we had a superior room and had a nice balcony overlooking the beach. We were on the 18th floor and I think higher the better to minimise street noise. Air con effective and bed comfortable. Staff very eager to please, and the breakfasts are very good with ample selection and good coffee. Pool area on floor 20 has sun beds and a bar and has good views of the surrounding area. Overall a very good hotel.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Brian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortobayRI, Gerente de recepção at Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

We greatly appreciate your opinions regarding your stay in Porto Bay Rio Internacional. The staff are very delighted to know that you have enjoyed the comfy rooms and the service,in special the breakfast, and pool area.


Best Regards,

Amanda Vieira
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2014

We were there for 6 days during Carnaval (thats how they spell it in Brazil) and were completely satisfied with everything they did and had to offer. The staff is mostly bilingual and very helpful. The place is not the prettiest and seems to be a bit on the dark side, but the rooms are good and the rooftop bar and pool on the 20th floor are unbeatable. We had planned on staying at the Copacabana Palace Hotel, which is a block over to the right on Copacabana Beach on the very same Avenue right on the beach. When we learned about the prices for the Copa Palace we got the tip from our travel agent, that the Porto Bay Hotel is very good and only half the price. She suggested that we stay here and go for lunch/dinner/drinks to the Copa Palace as often as we want, which is literally a walk of 3 minutes and open for everybody at all times, and we would still be ahead a few hundred dollars per person. Thats what we did. And we found out that our hotel actually has the better view, due to being right on the beach, rather than being set back like the Copa Palace, which still is the nicer looking hotel, don't get me wrong. But the Porto Bay is a superb choice regarding comfort, restaurant is fine and again, the view from the pool and bar upstairs -overlooking the whole lengths of the Copacabana beach- beats any action you will find at other hotels around.

Room Tip: The rooms ..02 are perfect, since they are on the right corner facing the beach. This way your balco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank USMB13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortobayRI, Gerente de recepção at Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing Porto Bay as your accommodation choice during Carnival, and your nice comments about our staff, rooms , restaurant and roof top that makes your overall impression about the hotel was good, so we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again.

Best Regards,
Amanda Vieira
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Copacabana
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
#3 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,345 reviews
Copacabana
Hilton Rio de Janeiro Copacabana
Hilton Rio de Janeiro Copacabana
#13 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,592 reviews
Copacabana
Arena Copacabana Hotel
Arena Copacabana Hotel
#21 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Copacabana
Belmond Copacabana Palace
Belmond Copacabana Palace
#4 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,191 reviews
Copacabana
JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro
JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro
#19 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,083 reviews
Copacabana
Rio Othon Palace Hotel
Rio Othon Palace Hotel
#39 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel

Property: Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel
Address: Avenida Atlantica 1500, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22021-000, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#6 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#8 Spa Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#13 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#14 Luxury Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right on Copacabana beach in the spectacular city of Rio de Janeiro, PortoBay Rio Internacional offers you the best of two worlds - the sensational city and a breathtaking view over the beach right on the doorstep... Step into Rio Internacional and feel at home - make the most of your stay! Look out over Copacabana beach and revitalise yourself with the sea breeze. The ideal location for an unforgettable holiday or to counter the stress of a day's work in Rio ... 117 apartments/rooms decorated in the best taste... a range of flavours at La Finestra and a roof-top pool with stunning views over Copacabana beach and Corcovado... The hotel PortoBay Rio Internacional offers free Wi-Fi throughout the whole hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rio Internacional Hotel
Hotel Porto Bay Rio Internacional
Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing