We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Would never recommend or stay here again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel
Ranked #15 of 281 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Would never recommend or stay here again”
Reviewed March 14, 2014

Sorry to say that after two weeks in Argentina and Brazil this was our least favorite place. I honestly cannot recommend this to any of our friends or family.
Pros:
Pool - Great view of Christ statue and Sugarloaf from the hotel pool
Provided a room for showering/changing since we had a late flight
Cons
Pool - Service was horrible. You couldn't find anyone at the pool until noon and service was incredibly slow. I also had the pleasure of watching construction on the hotel gym all day although the front desk staff told me that the gym was open upon arrival at the hotel
Rooms - Completely lack any character. We had a corner room with a great view, but the bathroom was old and dingy.
Front Desk - At all of the hotels during our trip we were given a hotel tour but at this hotel they just pointed us in the direction of the elevator. We asked for restaurant recommendations and places to dance and they told us just to go to a certain location and walk around. If you know anything about Rio you don't want to just walk around in a random neighborhood.
Food/Drink - not great by any means when you can get the service. We preferred to have lunch and drinks at Copacabana hotel next door.
Location - I never felt safe. At night there were local women hanging about in front of the hotels waiting for - well you can figure that out. Just a terrible spot. We felt much more safe in the Leblon area.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank holly620
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortobayRI, Gerente de recepção at Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconveniences you may had have. We would like to inform you that necessary action have been taken to correct the points you highlighted.

We also would be very pleased to have the opportunity to welcome you in your next visit to Rio, and hopefully change the impression you had about your last stay.

Best Regards,

Amanda Vieira
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,286 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,222
    791
    194
    57
    22
See reviews for
369
1,149
121
248
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (418)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2014

We extended our stay in Rio by 3 nights and this hotel was great, excellent location, service and food, very close to the beach on the front and the rooms were very modern with excellent bathrooms. The restaurant was pretty with great views and good food and the buffet breakfast had a great choice

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lesley E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortobayRI, Gerente de recepção at Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your preference in staying at Porto Bay Rio Internacional and for sharing your experience here at Trip Advisor.
We are glad to read that you enjoyed our Hotel, location, service and food, in special our breakfast and your lovely comments about our modern rooms.
We will certainly share your positive comment with out team.

Best Regards,
Amanda Vieira
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

Situation on Copacabana opposite the beach, with plenty of eateries nearby. Rooms spacious, we had a superior room and had a nice balcony overlooking the beach. We were on the 18th floor and I think higher the better to minimise street noise. Air con effective and bed comfortable. Staff very eager to please, and the breakfasts are very good with ample selection and good coffee. Pool area on floor 20 has sun beds and a bar and has good views of the surrounding area. Overall a very good hotel.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Brian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortobayRI, Gerente de recepção at Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

We greatly appreciate your opinions regarding your stay in Porto Bay Rio Internacional. The staff are very delighted to know that you have enjoyed the comfy rooms and the service,in special the breakfast, and pool area.


Best Regards,

Amanda Vieira
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2014

We were there for 6 days during Carnaval (thats how they spell it in Brazil) and were completely satisfied with everything they did and had to offer. The staff is mostly bilingual and very helpful. The place is not the prettiest and seems to be a bit on the dark side, but the rooms are good and the rooftop bar and pool on the 20th floor are unbeatable. We had planned on staying at the Copacabana Palace Hotel, which is a block over to the right on Copacabana Beach on the very same Avenue right on the beach. When we learned about the prices for the Copa Palace we got the tip from our travel agent, that the Porto Bay Hotel is very good and only half the price. She suggested that we stay here and go for lunch/dinner/drinks to the Copa Palace as often as we want, which is literally a walk of 3 minutes and open for everybody at all times, and we would still be ahead a few hundred dollars per person. Thats what we did. And we found out that our hotel actually has the better view, due to being right on the beach, rather than being set back like the Copa Palace, which still is the nicer looking hotel, don't get me wrong. But the Porto Bay is a superb choice regarding comfort, restaurant is fine and again, the view from the pool and bar upstairs -overlooking the whole lengths of the Copacabana beach- beats any action you will find at other hotels around.

Room Tip: The rooms ..02 are perfect, since they are on the right corner facing the beach. This way your balco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank USMB13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortobayRI, Gerente de recepção at Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing Porto Bay as your accommodation choice during Carnival, and your nice comments about our staff, rooms , restaurant and roof top that makes your overall impression about the hotel was good, so we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again.

Best Regards,
Amanda Vieira
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
44 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2014

We stayed here six nights in mid February...great location, great service, and great breakfasts.
Hotel staff speaks English and the front desk staff is wonderful. We had to make last minute
itinerary changes and were accommodated without a problem, including arranging for changes with airport pick-ups. Our room, the "03"line, had a floor to ceiling million dollar view of Copacabana Beach!!! And, we could see the Cristo statue from our room as well!! The only down side was the bathroom size, which was a little too snug, for our tastes. The rooftop pool and bar share great beach views- just be aware that the pool is for cooling off, not lap swimming,, and the special sushi lunches (on a few days) are great. The hotel has a subdued, relaxed atmosphere. We would definitely stay here again..

Room Tip: Higher floors ending in "03" have 180 degree view of beach....fabulous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bobbi649
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortobayRI, Gerente de recepção at Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel as your accomodation in Rio.
We are so delighted to read all your comments about our staff, view from the room and our new pool area. Thank you for your choice to use our services, and in order to achieve this aim, it is always important to know your opinion on it. We will really happy to welcome you again.

Warm Regards from Porto Bay!

Yours faithfully,
Amanda Vieira
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 1, 2014

Arguably one of the best-located hotels in Rio. Great location across from the beach, all staff speak perfect English and very clean & spacious rooms.
Within walking distance of many good cafes and dining establishments.
Phenomenal ocean views. I will stay here when I next visit Rio again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 89Foodie89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortobayRI, Gerente de recepção at Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing us as your accommodation choice during your recent stay in Rio and for taking the time to complete your review. We are glad you enjoyed our location, room and service from our staff , it´s really good to know we are caring for our guest properly.
We all look forward to welcome you again on your next visit to Rio. Do not hesitate to contact us for any request.

Warm Regards from Porto Bay,
Amanda Vieira
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern VA
Level Contributor
77 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2014

Stayed 6 nights right before the week of Carnival, which was perfect since we were there before the chaos started. We arranged to use their hotel limo service from the airport - highly recommend you consider doing the same, as it is worth the money not having to worry about getting to the hotel. And if you saw the way Brazilians drive and "create lanes," you would appreciate the expertise of the hotel drivers.

Upon entering the hotel, the staff spoke enough English to get the bags sent up to our rooms. Note that tipping is optional and is NOT expected; the staff seemed surprised when we gave them a few Brazilian real, and the really appreciated it.

The elevators are extremely small, and there is no air conditioning in the elevators or hallways. The room, though, is air conditioned, but it is not activated until you get to your room and insert your room key into a power slot. This feature was new to us, but apparently is common in European hotels. We learned the hard way that the key needs to remain in the slot at all times in order to keep the air conditioner and refrigerator running.

Our room was narrow and long. The beds were larger than a twin and extremely comfortable. They don't have top sheets -- only a comforter and extra blankets in the closet. Bathroom was well equipped, but don't expect hot water; the water was tepid at best. Also note that the water is safe to drink but contains a lot of chemicals to make it so. If you aren't used to that, it will upset your stomach. Highly recommend buying bottled water at a nearby grocery store.

Breakfast was amazing every morning, and we fell in love with Carlos! He greeted us every morning with a gracious smile and hello. The coffee was incredible - highly recommend you drink it black! Very fresh food, with amazing juices to include a detox juice.

Pool was outstanding although a bit small. It was perfect for cooling off, and pool side service was excellent. The food at the pool was more expensive than what you would get at the beach. The fitness center was closed for remodeling, and the hotel gave us vouchers for the local gym nearby (1 block away). We were very pleased by the beach service; it was almost as if they recognized us as we approached the blue flag for Porto Bay. We were always able to get lounge chairs and towels upon arrival. We felt as if those providing beach service were also watching out for us, which was comforting and made us feel more secure.

Concierge service was outstanding. They always had employees standing outside to greet us, and they even made recommendations on what to wear depending on where we were going. Again, they were keeping our safety in mind, and we really appreciated that extra touch.

If this is your first trip to Rio de Janeiro, this is the place to go to feel secure and appreciated. We ended up giving several staff members hugs as we were leaving - they were that outstanding!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wolfpack81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortobayRI, Gerente de recepção at Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for this wonderful detailed review. We are so delighted to read all your comments about our service, confortable rooms and courteous staff.
I already shared your appraisal with everyone and they were really happy to know that they exceeded your expectations.
Thank you for choosing Porto Bay Rio Internacional and we hope to host you again in the near future.

Best Regards,
Amanda Vieira
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Copacabana
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
#3 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,342 reviews
Copacabana
Hilton Rio de Janeiro Copacabana
Hilton Rio de Janeiro Copacabana
#13 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,591 reviews
Copacabana
Arena Copacabana Hotel
Arena Copacabana Hotel
#20 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Copacabana
Belmond Copacabana Palace
Belmond Copacabana Palace
#4 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,191 reviews
Copacabana
JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro
JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro
#17 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,081 reviews
Copacabana
Rio Othon Palace Hotel
Rio Othon Palace Hotel
#40 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 976 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel

Property: Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel
Address: Avenida Atlantica 1500, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22021-000, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#6 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#8 Spa Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#13 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#14 Luxury Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right on Copacabana beach in the spectacular city of Rio de Janeiro, PortoBay Rio Internacional offers you the best of two worlds - the sensational city and a breathtaking view over the beach right on the doorstep... Step into Rio Internacional and feel at home - make the most of your stay! Look out over Copacabana beach and revitalise yourself with the sea breeze. The ideal location for an unforgettable holiday or to counter the stress of a day's work in Rio ... 117 apartments/rooms decorated in the best taste... a range of flavours at La Finestra and a roof-top pool with stunning views over Copacabana beach and Corcovado... The hotel PortoBay Rio Internacional offers free Wi-Fi throughout the whole hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rio Internacional Hotel
Hotel Porto Bay Rio Internacional
Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing