We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel
Ranked #15 of 282 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Enjoyable Stay”
Reviewed March 1, 2014

Arguably one of the best-located hotels in Rio. Great location across from the beach, all staff speak perfect English and very clean & spacious rooms.
Within walking distance of many good cafes and dining establishments.
Phenomenal ocean views. I will stay here when I next visit Rio again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 89Foodie89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortobayRI, Gerente de recepção at Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing us as your accommodation choice during your recent stay in Rio and for taking the time to complete your review. We are glad you enjoyed our location, room and service from our staff , it´s really good to know we are caring for our guest properly.
We all look forward to welcome you again on your next visit to Rio. Do not hesitate to contact us for any request.

Warm Regards from Porto Bay,
Amanda Vieira
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,288 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,224
    791
    194
    57
    22
See reviews for
369
1,149
121
248
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (418)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Northern VA
Level Contributor
77 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2014

Stayed 6 nights right before the week of Carnival, which was perfect since we were there before the chaos started. We arranged to use their hotel limo service from the airport - highly recommend you consider doing the same, as it is worth the money not having to worry about getting to the hotel. And if you saw the way Brazilians drive and "create lanes," you would appreciate the expertise of the hotel drivers.

Upon entering the hotel, the staff spoke enough English to get the bags sent up to our rooms. Note that tipping is optional and is NOT expected; the staff seemed surprised when we gave them a few Brazilian real, and the really appreciated it.

The elevators are extremely small, and there is no air conditioning in the elevators or hallways. The room, though, is air conditioned, but it is not activated until you get to your room and insert your room key into a power slot. This feature was new to us, but apparently is common in European hotels. We learned the hard way that the key needs to remain in the slot at all times in order to keep the air conditioner and refrigerator running.

Our room was narrow and long. The beds were larger than a twin and extremely comfortable. They don't have top sheets -- only a comforter and extra blankets in the closet. Bathroom was well equipped, but don't expect hot water; the water was tepid at best. Also note that the water is safe to drink but contains a lot of chemicals to make it so. If you aren't used to that, it will upset your stomach. Highly recommend buying bottled water at a nearby grocery store.

Breakfast was amazing every morning, and we fell in love with Carlos! He greeted us every morning with a gracious smile and hello. The coffee was incredible - highly recommend you drink it black! Very fresh food, with amazing juices to include a detox juice.

Pool was outstanding although a bit small. It was perfect for cooling off, and pool side service was excellent. The food at the pool was more expensive than what you would get at the beach. The fitness center was closed for remodeling, and the hotel gave us vouchers for the local gym nearby (1 block away). We were very pleased by the beach service; it was almost as if they recognized us as we approached the blue flag for Porto Bay. We were always able to get lounge chairs and towels upon arrival. We felt as if those providing beach service were also watching out for us, which was comforting and made us feel more secure.

Concierge service was outstanding. They always had employees standing outside to greet us, and they even made recommendations on what to wear depending on where we were going. Again, they were keeping our safety in mind, and we really appreciated that extra touch.

If this is your first trip to Rio de Janeiro, this is the place to go to feel secure and appreciated. We ended up giving several staff members hugs as we were leaving - they were that outstanding!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wolfpack81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortobayRI, Gerente de recepção at Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for this wonderful detailed review. We are so delighted to read all your comments about our service, confortable rooms and courteous staff.
I already shared your appraisal with everyone and they were really happy to know that they exceeded your expectations.
Thank you for choosing Porto Bay Rio Internacional and we hope to host you again in the near future.

Best Regards,
Amanda Vieira
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2014 via mobile

Have just stayed 3 nights at this fabulous hotel. Outstanding in all respects. Great rooms, wonderful restaurant, the best staff I have encountered anywhere, a pool bar on the roof with million dollar views of Copacabana Beach and features like a Business Centre, free and super fast internet and a top notch free breakfast included in the tariff. They made our first stay in Rio an absolute pleasure. A special thank you to the exceptional reception staff - nothing was too much trouble.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Dashman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortobayRI, Gerente de recepção at Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Dear Guest,

We greatly appreciate your words. It was an honor to welcome you at the Porto Bay Rio Internacional.
I will be delighted to share your comments with the entire team, and we were very happy to have our work recognized, because it is really important to us that our guests have a unique experience with us. We hope to welcome you back in the near future!

Sincerely,
Amanda Vieira
Reception Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twickenham
Level Contributor
95 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2014

We arrived and found we had been booked into a side view room. Disappointed we asked to be upgraded and ended up with a wonderful sea view. The breakfast is one of the best we had on our four weeks of travelling in South America with wonderful fruit, great choice and good service. The beach service works well with deck chairs and umbrellas just across the road. The view from the pool terrace is great. But ... small things but important - the cost of the upgrade was the full list price despite there being a clear offer on the internet that was less. I queried this twice but was met with adamant refusal. In the end I gave up as it wasn't worth the argument for £45. But as my husband said, why were they so adamant when a smile and an agreement would have cost so little? We had the same with our final day breakfast - we had to leave very early. Yes breakfast could be set out in the restaurant for us at 5am. No it was not possible for us to have a packed breakfast. So we had to go without.

Room Tip: Make sure you go for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PAH2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortobayRI, Gerente de recepção at Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel as your accomodation in Rio.
We are so delighted to read all your comments about our great breakfast and beach service. Thank you for your choice to use our services, and in order to achieve this aim, it is always important to know your opinion on it. We will review your comments and suggestions with the management to better serve our guests.

Warm Regards from Porto Bay!

Yours faithfully,
Amanda Vieira
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2014 via mobile

We spent 3 weeks travelling around south America last year. Our final destination was here.
The hotel was lovely and the room was perfect, clean and comfortable. Great power shower too.
The weather was awful bar 1 day which we decided to go to the beach as to our dissapointment the pool was still closed for renovations.
The beach was packed but luckily the hotel had an area with beds and towels allocated for guests.
Great stay, great location.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Angie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortobayRI, Gerente de recepção at Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Porto Bay Rio Internacional. Your opinion is a very important reference to keep the standard of quality and for better serve our guests. We also want to thank you for your comments regarding the shower, beach service and room.

We really hope to welcome you again in the future!

Best Regards,
Amanda Vieira
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bulgaria
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2014

I recomend this hotel to everybody.
Thanks to South America Travel we do excellent stay in Rio, tour with guide and stay in Hotel Porto Bay. Excellent location, service and food, and view from the swimming pool - amazing.

Room Tip: Rooms on the corner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YulianaBulgaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortobayRI, Gerente de recepção at Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for choosing our as your accommodation choice during your recent stay Rio and for taking the time to complete your review, we are really happy you enjoyed your stay with us, and we hope to welcome you again!

Best Regards,
Amanda Vieira
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2014

We had a double and a suite and both rooms were very nice - had a problem with the AC the first night in the suite but it was fixed quickly. Rooms were quiet and OH, that view - hard to top that. We loved the international crowd in the hotel. Breakfast buffet amazing - my young adult kids were in heaven. I had to work one day and the wifi was fast and i was able to get things done fairly quickly. We had a lunch and a late dinner at the pool bar and found it to be quite pleasant. A respite from the craziness of Copacabana. Beach lovely - water so warm - went only 2 days since i had to work one - 2nd day, the attendant gave away my chair and umbrella even though it had my bag and pareo on it but problem was worked out quickly. We would definitely return - have to say i went over to the ***** hotel next door and had a drink and decided I was so glad we weren't staying there. Porto Bay much more charming for sure. Only problem in the hotel is that elevators are slow so have to plan a little extra time for this. We used the freight elevator a couple of times. Staff was very helpful

Room Tip: definitely get an ocean view - we were maybe on the 14th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortobayRI, Gerente de recepção at Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear Guest,

In the name of all our staff I would like to express our gratitude for your comments at Trip Advisor. It is a pleasure to hear that you were satisfied with our services. We will be informing her of your positive observations to motivate her even further. We are really happy that your overall impression about the hotel was excellent, so we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again soon.

Warm Regards from Porto Bay!
Amanda Vieira
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Copacabana
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
#3 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,345 reviews
Copacabana
Hilton Rio de Janeiro Copacabana
Hilton Rio de Janeiro Copacabana
#13 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,591 reviews
Copacabana
Arena Copacabana Hotel
Arena Copacabana Hotel
#21 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Copacabana
Belmond Copacabana Palace
Belmond Copacabana Palace
#4 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,191 reviews
Copacabana
JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro
JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro
#19 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,083 reviews
Copacabana
Rio Othon Palace Hotel
Rio Othon Palace Hotel
#39 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel

Property: Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel
Address: Avenida Atlantica 1500, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22021-000, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#6 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#8 Spa Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#13 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#14 Luxury Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right on Copacabana beach in the spectacular city of Rio de Janeiro, PortoBay Rio Internacional offers you the best of two worlds - the sensational city and a breathtaking view over the beach right on the doorstep... Step into Rio Internacional and feel at home - make the most of your stay! Look out over Copacabana beach and revitalise yourself with the sea breeze. The ideal location for an unforgettable holiday or to counter the stress of a day's work in Rio ... 117 apartments/rooms decorated in the best taste... a range of flavours at La Finestra and a roof-top pool with stunning views over Copacabana beach and Corcovado... The hotel PortoBay Rio Internacional offers free Wi-Fi throughout the whole hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rio Internacional Hotel
Hotel Porto Bay Rio Internacional
Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing