We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$248
$238
JW Marriott
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Rio Othon Palace Hotel(Rio de Janeiro)(Great Value!)
$103
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Miramar Hotel by Windsor(Rio de Janeiro)(Great Value!)
$149
$112
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$255
$231
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
$181
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$230
$188
Sheraton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$272
$240
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Arena Copacabana Hotel(Rio de Janeiro)(Great Value!)
$112
$85
Official Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
$500
$451
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Belmond Copacabana Palace(Rio de Janeiro)
$426
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (2,554)
Filter reviews
2,554 results
Traveler rating
1,356
884
220
67
27
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,356
884
220
67
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsporto bay hotelrooftop poolcopacabana beachchrist the redeemersparkling winetop flooroverlooking the beachexcellent hotelpanoramic viewcorner roomsugarloaf mountainwelcome drinksugar loafour honeymoonbreakfast roomstayed here for nightsbreakfast was excellent
Filter
Updating list...
713 - 718 of 2,554 reviews
Reviewed January 27, 2014

The hotel is right on the Copacabana Beach. The rooms are well furnished as you would expect from a 4/5 star Hotel. Breakfast is very good and served in a restaurant with side views on the beach.
The top floor has a pool with comfortable reclining loungers. The pool attendant will provide the beach towels and move the parasols to protect you from the sun. From here you have a fantastic view of Rio de Janeiro and we preferred to relax in this place rather than go on the overcrowded Copacabana beach. I enjoyed the club Sandwiches from the bar. In the evening we felt reasonably safe walking to the small market and enjoyed our meals in the close by restaurants.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank L G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortobayRI, Gerente de recepção at PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2014

Dear Guest,

We are very pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay in our hotel. It is encouraging as our guest’s satisfaction is our primary concern. Our Chef will be very pleased to hear such lovely comments about our breakfast and sandwiches from the bar. We all hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again very soon!
Warm Regards from Rio!

Sincerely Grateful,
Amanda Vieira
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

We stayed two days two times in mid January and both stays were wonderful. We were fortunate to have 5th floor and 18th floor sea view suites and both rooms were amazing. The view was post card perfect and the rooms were beautiful and well appointed. The front desk staff was consistently helpful and all spoke English. The breakfast buffet was beyond our expectations and staff even accommodated special requests.

Room Tip: If you want to feel and hear the excitement of Copacabana beach, request a sea view room on floors one to 6. If you want to see the excitement of Copacabana beach but not hear it, request a sea view room above floor 6 - the higher the better for the most incredible view on the beach.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DrDianaSacramento
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortobayRI, Gerente de recepção at PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments in relation to your stay at Porto Bay Rio International Hotel.
The most important for the staff and management is your satisfaction. We are really glad to hear that our front desk helped you during your stay. Thank you once more for choosing Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel. We hope to have the opportunity to host you again very soon!

Best Regards!
Amanda Vieira
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

We stayed at the Porto Bay Hotel for a few days at end of July 2013. The hotel is one of only a few along Copacabana with balconies so that is a plus. On the other hand we were disappointed with a strange reaction from one of the staff (Isabella). We got our dated mixed up and discovered that we had accidentally booked a day short and that meant we needed an extra night. When I told her she said the hotel was full but she would let us know if a room became available. After a day of hearing nothing I asked again. Still full. So out of frustration I went online and found that contrary to what she told us there was room. So I booked it online. Even though she must have known what we had done she said nothing. We found this very strange and can only assume some sort of agenda. All the other staff were friendly and helpful. OK rant over.

Room Tip: Go for higher up to avoid being overlooked by people in the adjacent block.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mandelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortobayRI, Gerente de recepção at PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2014

Dear Guest,

Firstly we were extremely concerned to read of your disappointing stay with us and we apologize most sincerely for the inconvenience you may have had. Probably there was some misunderstanding, because this has never happened before.

We assure you those episodes don’t reflect our standards and we do hope that we are able to restore your faith in our hotel and allow us the opportunity to redeem ourselves in the future.

Best Regards!
Amanda Vieira
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2014 via mobile

The Porto Bay is an excellent hotel and good value by Rio standards. We really liked the great location, big rooms, powerful shower, wonderful views, rooftop pool, excellent breakfast and friendly staff.

The location opposite the beach is perfect though it's surprising that taxi drivers don't seem to know the name of the hotel so write down the street address.

Recommended.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Howard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortobayRI, Gerente de recepção at PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for your preference in staying at Porto Bay Rio Internacional and for sharing your experience here at Trip Advisor. There is no greater pleasure for the direction and whole team, than having surpassed your expectations during your stay at Porto Bay Rio International. We all hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again very soon!

Sincerely Grateful,
Amanda Vieira
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2014

We just stayed for 5 nights at the Porto Bay and were very disappointed.

First, the pros: The hotel is well located, right on the beach in Copacabana. The staff in reception were helpful, and really did try to fix the problems described below (albeit unsuccessfully). The breakfast is good. And, if you stay in a suite, the view is fabulous. The shower pressure is great.

Now, the cons: Critical in Rio-- the air conditioning is sub-par, and won't keep the room cool, even when left on non-stop. We sweated all night every night, even though maintenance came up three times to try to fix it. (I personally think the hotel is "cheaping out", trying to save money on their electricity bill). Even from the 14th floor we were kept awake by street noise, meaning that the windows are not thick enough or are single-glazed. Similarly, we could hear the people above us walking around at night, which also kept us awake-- because the floors are wood, instead of carpet. The place has lots of deferred maintenance. Our sink leaked. Our safe had to be fixed. We had to go back downstairs several times because our room keys stopped working. There were lots of little things-- like the loose shower handles. There is inadequate lighting in the bedroom. The design of the bathroom sink is such that if you turn on the water even to medium pressure, the water soaks you. There are only two small elevators, which meant that we often had to wait a long time for one to come. The breakfast was the same every day, without any noticeable changes. The manager was never around (or was unwilling to deal with clients), and since the reception staff were powerless to fix anything, we had no recourse.

The reception staff obviously know there are problems-- one of them encouraged me to write a review on TripAdvisor, because, and I quote: "We can't get management to fix anything-- maybe if they hear it from [you] they'll listen".

Overall, a very poor experience. Try staying somewhere else.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Intrepid_Traveler_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortobayRI, Gerente de recepção at PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you sharing your comments concerning your recent stay at Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel and we sincerely apologize for not having met your expectations.

Regarding your comments about the air conditioning we are taking note to improve at that aspect. All criticisms are taken constructively, as they are a valuable path to helps us get our services better. We have reviewed your feedback in detail with our maintenance manager.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again.

Warm Regards from Porto Bay!
Amanda Vieira
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews