We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid this place if you can”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel
Ranked #18 of 286 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 23, 2014

We just stayed for 5 nights at the Porto Bay and were very disappointed.

First, the pros: The hotel is well located, right on the beach in Copacabana. The staff in reception were helpful, and really did try to fix the problems described below (albeit unsuccessfully). The breakfast is good. And, if you stay in a suite, the view is fabulous. The shower pressure is great.

Now, the cons: Critical in Rio-- the air conditioning is sub-par, and won't keep the room cool, even when left on non-stop. We sweated all night every night, even though maintenance came up three times to try to fix it. (I personally think the hotel is "cheaping out", trying to save money on their electricity bill). Even from the 14th floor we were kept awake by street noise, meaning that the windows are not thick enough or are single-glazed. Similarly, we could hear the people above us walking around at night, which also kept us awake-- because the floors are wood, instead of carpet. The place has lots of deferred maintenance. Our sink leaked. Our safe had to be fixed. We had to go back downstairs several times because our room keys stopped working. There were lots of little things-- like the loose shower handles. There is inadequate lighting in the bedroom. The design of the bathroom sink is such that if you turn on the water even to medium pressure, the water soaks you. There are only two small elevators, which meant that we often had to wait a long time for one to come. The breakfast was the same every day, without any noticeable changes. The manager was never around (or was unwilling to deal with clients), and since the reception staff were powerless to fix anything, we had no recourse.

The reception staff obviously know there are problems-- one of them encouraged me to write a review on TripAdvisor, because, and I quote: "We can't get management to fix anything-- maybe if they hear it from [you] they'll listen".

Overall, a very poor experience. Try staying somewhere else.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Intrepid_Traveler_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortobayRI, Gerente de recepção at PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you sharing your comments concerning your recent stay at Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel and we sincerely apologize for not having met your expectations.

Regarding your comments about the air conditioning we are taking note to improve at that aspect. All criticisms are taken constructively, as they are a valuable path to helps us get our services better. We have reviewed your feedback in detail with our maintenance manager.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again.

Warm Regards from Porto Bay!
Amanda Vieira
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,382)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

643 - 649 of 2,382 reviews

Reviewed January 22, 2014

We have just stayed at this Hotel and really enjoyed it.We felt our stay was perfect and could not have been improved in anyway.The staff were pleasant and helpful,and the food was excellent and we loved having the pool area as the weather was really hot when we were there.It has great views over the beach although we had a room that did not face the beach.
I would recommend this to anyone visiting Rio as a good position with a lot of places to eat near by right on the beach and easy for touring the City I also felt very safe in Rio and I had felt concerned before I arrived about safety,but felt quite happy getting taxis at night and walking to restaurants near by. Breakfast was really good with amazing choice of anything you might like.

Room Tip: Beach facing room would be nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank nestcottage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortobayRI, Gerente de recepção at PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for this wonderful detailed review. We are so delighted to read all your comments about the service from our staff. We are glad to hear you enjoyed the food and pool area. Thank you for choosing Porto Bay Rio Internacional and we hope to host you again in the near future.

Warmest Regards!
Amanda Vieira
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2014

We stayed one night in January; we were leaving to go to a wedding and it was more convenient to stay here than at our apartment. I liked it; some friends of ours had stayed there some years ago when they were visiting Rio. Friendly staff, efficient service, we asked them to order a driver for us and he was excellent. Great breakfast, shame we really didn't get to sample the rest of the delights like the rooftop bar.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pwarne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortobayRI, Gerente de recepção at PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your preference in staying at Porto Bay Rio Internacional, and for sharing your experience here at Trip Advisor.
We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and your lovely comments about our staff will be certainly shared with everyone.
Will be our pleasure to welcome you again.

Warm regards from Rio,
Amanda Vieira
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2014

Located across the road from Copacabana beach
Our room was on 14th floor,arrived about 11am
Fantastic, our room was available
The rooms were great, well appointed, a great nites sleep on a great big bed,
We had a corner balcony room , the view over the beach, amazing
Both day and nite too, always something to look at
Very very little traffic noise to
Bathroom is a bit small but so what, also very well appointed
Plenty of space in the living area
So glad we picked this hotel , not to many have a balcony
Had lunch at the hotel restaurant
A real home cooked meal, yummmm
Breakfast included with the room, spoilt for choice, everything u could want, hot and cold dishes
The staff there were great, helpful since English is not widely spoken,they helped so much , many thx to Lius and Angela
The rooftop has a pool and newly opened gym sauna etc
Great views and u even can see Christ the redeemer from there
Looks along both sides of a Copa,
Felt very safe in Rio, contrary to what we were told
Ipanema is a short taxi ride away
Good shopping , we walked it too, about an hour each way and u really feel the city
Barra, shopping centre is further-by taxi but well worth a visit
Our 1st time in South America and it did not disappoint
Stay here again, yes!
No other place we liked , it's the balcony that did the job

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
4  Thank Crooz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortobayRI, Gerente de recepção at PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2014

Dear guest,

I would like to thank you for choosing our as your accommodation choice during your recent stay Rio and for taking the time to complete your review, there is no greater pleasure for the direction and whole team, than having met your expectations during your stay at Porto Bay Rio International. Thank you for your comments regarding our staff, we are always trying our best to make our guests satisfied. Hope to welcome you again.

Warm Regards,
Amanda Vieira
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2014

Yes I know charmful isn't a word but I didn't want to say that it isn't charming.. because I have to say that one of the noteworthy features of this hotel is its very charming and helpful staff. From the moment I arrived to the moment I left they went above and beyond with a very cheerful attitude. Top marks to the staff.

I think this hotel lacks "kerb appeal" for sure, but really I don't think many of the hotels on the Cocacabana strip are particularly beautiful. The Porto Bay is a bit 70's highrise but inside it has been kept pristine and doesn't feel too dated. Nevertheless, on my itinerary of about 6 hotels in S America it was the one I was looking forward to least. But really I was delighted on arrival because actually it is quite smart inside.

Location - brilliant. You can visit everything from here. I had a room with a "side" view of the beach and I really had quite an excellent view over the sweep of the bay. Weather was poor though so not as spectacular as it could have been. I had not picked up from the agent that I would have a terrace, so that was a nice bonus. You are 5 mins from a metro station here and I did use it - on my own - no problem whatsoever - I felt perfectly safe and it was clean and cool.

Room - not the biggest ever but a decent double. Bed was super comfortable - high quality linens which I think always say something about a hotel. I don't think they mention on the website that rooms do have tea/coffee making facilities. A nice touch. Bathroom small but superb water pressure - always goes down well with me.

Restaurant - very good breakfast selection. The restaurant has a brilliant view of the beach and waterfront. Get down early for a window seat. I looked forward to breakfast every day - fruit that you won't find in a European supermarket, fresh oatmeal, lovely breads and some local specialities. The same restaurant is used for dinner. I only ate there once but the food was very decent (bit toppy on price) but service a tad erratic. I can forgive that because I am on holiday. Probably wouldn't be so happy if I had invited guests.

The pool and gym were being renovated when I visited. I didn't mind so much about the pool as I always planned to use the beach on my short visit anyway. In the end the weather meant that this was indeed no issue whatsoever. I considered changing hotel prior to my visit because of the gym being shut but I decided to try the Cocacabana and Ipanema beachside runs and really... brilliant! Anyone who enjoys running should try this. Its a great workout, thoroughly scenic and fabulous people watching! Also felt perfectly safe.

I was perfectly happy with the Porto Bay and would use it again. I have already recommended to friends visiting for the football next year.

Room Tip: a side room on a high floor might be a bit cheaper than the full ocean view but you are likely to ge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OverworkedUnderpaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortobayRI, Gerente de recepção at PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for your preference in staying at Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel, and for sharing in detail your experience here at Trip Advisor. We are really proud that your overall impression was excellent, and for your great comments regarding our staff, restaurant, room and location. We are very happy to know that you will highly recommend us.

We look forward to welcome you again!

Best Regards,
Amanda Vieira
Font Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for three nights in January. We arrived very late and the check-on process was very quick and smooth. The room had a limited view of Copacabana beach, which was nice. Since this is a beach hotel it wasn't surprising that the room was fairly "sandy" on the floor. The breakfast was great - large and plenty of seating, good quality. The best thing about the hotel for us is the location. It is across the street from Copacabana beach, and in a good spot on the beach for just hanging around, walking the beach, proximity to restaurants. Overall, very good experience.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank mlrstl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortobayRI, Gerente de recepção at PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2014

Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for choosing our hotel as your accommodation choice during your recent stay in Rio and for taking the time to complete your review.
We are glad to read that you enjoyed our room with a beautiful view to Copacabana beach breakfast and location.

We hope to welcome you again very soon,
Amanda Vieira
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

We stayed for 3 nights at the Porto Bay Rio in December. On arrival we were greeted with a drink in the roof top bar where there is a swimming pool and wonderful views of Copacabana beach and Christ the Redeemer. Our room was spacious and comfortable.There was a wide variety of choice for breakfast served in the dining room overlooking the beach. The hotel is in an excellent location with many restaurants nearby. We would definitely stay here again if we were to return to Rio. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortobayRI, Gerente de recepção at PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2014

Dear Guest,

We are delighted to know that you enjoyed our services, it is pleasing to receive such comments as yours and to know we are caring for our guest properly. We hope to welcome you again!

Warm Regards from Porto Bay!
Amanda Vieira
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Copacabana
Hilton Rio de Janeiro Copacabana
Hilton Rio de Janeiro Copacabana
#16 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
2,729 reviews
Copacabana
Arena Copacabana Hotel
Arena Copacabana Hotel
#22 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
1,927 reviews
Copacabana
Belmond Copacabana Palace
Belmond Copacabana Palace
#5 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
3,337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Copacabana
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
#1 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
2,450 reviews
Copacabana
Pestana Rio Atlantica
Pestana Rio Atlantica
#63 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
2,356 reviews
Copacabana
JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro
JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro
#17 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
2,241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel

Address: Avenida Atlantica 1500, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22021-000, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#6 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#10 Spa Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#13 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#17 Luxury Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range: $120 - $367 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right on Copacabana beach in the spectacular city of Rio de Janeiro, PortoBay Rio Internacional offers you the best of two worlds - the sensational city and a breathtaking view over the beach right on the doorstep... Step into Rio Internacional and feel at home - make the most of your stay! Look out over Copacabana beach and revitalise yourself with the sea breeze. The ideal location for an unforgettable holiday or to counter the stress of a day's work in Rio ... 117 apartments/rooms decorated in the best taste... a range of flavours at La Finestra and a roof-top pool with stunning views over Copacabana beach and Corcovado... The hotel PortoBay Rio Internacional offers free Wi-Fi throughout the whole hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rio Internacional Hotel
Hotel Porto Bay Rio Internacional
PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing