We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Belmond Copacabana Palace(Rio de Janeiro)
$353
$344
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$200
JW Marriott
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Ipanema Inn(Rio de Janeiro)(Great Value!)
$112
$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Miramar Hotel by Windsor(Rio de Janeiro)(Great Value!)
$207
$112
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$274
$231
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
$174
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$230
$184
Sheraton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Rio Othon Palace Hotel(Rio de Janeiro)(Great Value!)
$103
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Arena Copacabana Hotel(Rio de Janeiro)(Great Value!)
$114
$84
Official Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
$501
$451
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Reviews (2,553)
Filter reviews
2,553 results
Traveler rating
1,356
883
220
67
27
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,356
883
220
67
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsporto bay hotelrooftop poolcopacabana beachchrist the redeemersparkling winetop flooroverlooking the beachexcellent hotelpanoramic viewcorner roomsugarloaf mountainwelcome drinksugar loafour honeymoonbreakfast roomstayed here for nightsbreakfast was excellent
Filter
Updating list...
745 - 750 of 2,553 reviews
Reviewed December 10, 2013

The dilemma when staying in a city for a short stay is do I book a hotel in the old historic centre for ease of access to the points of interest, night life, etc..., or do I book outside? Rio certainly has a very interesting historic centre, however this is one of those occasions when there is something else , that extra bit special, to draw you away from the city centre. Here it is Copacabana Beach. It has a special life/attraction all of its own, therefore a hotel right on the beach, albeit across a very busy dual carriageway, is the ideal.
Porto Bay fits the bill. Yes it is getting rather tired and dated. We had a side on/partial ocean view room which was clean, comfortable, and everything worked.
One particular point we have to make after touring Chile and Argentina for the 5 weeks, is the quality of the reception staff. They were excellent, probably the best we encountered. So pleasant, helpful, always smiling, good English, efficient, yes top quality.
Breakfast was very good indeed with a lovely panoramic view of the beach.
Yes the swimming pool still wasn't finished, but the provision of sunbeds/chairs/towels, and shades on the beach more than made up for it not being available.

You are warned by so many people about the crime, pickpockets, dangers etc.... on the beach and the surrounding beach area. During our 3 days there, we saw no evidence whatsoever to support such a reputation, either during the day or certainly up to around 11pm. We strolled along the promenade in the evenings with all the walkers, joggers, skaters, past the numerous cafes and groups still playing football and volleyball on the beach sensing no threats at all to our safety. Common sense regarding what you wear and carry is of course essential. We loved the whole atmosphere and life of the beach. During the day it is alive with people, locals selling every conceivable thing you might want on a beach, (never with any pressure to buy), bathers of all shapes and sizes either soaking up the sun, exercising, playing sport, strolling along the surf, or even braving the rollers as they crash onto the beach.

We found Porto Bay perfectly adequate for our needs, using it as a base to explore Rio, and perfect to enjoy Copacabana Beach which is one of the star attractions. It is not a luxury hotel, it could be, but they will have to extend the renovations from the swimming pool throughout the entire hotel if they are to compete with other beach front hotels to meet the expectations of modern day tourists.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pensionerplus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortobayRI, Gerente de recepção at PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you sharing your comments concerning your recent stay at Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel.
All criticisms are taken constructively, as they are a valuable path to helps us get our services better. We have reviewed your feedback in detail with our whole staff, and we really apreciate your comments about the front desk staff! We hope to welcome you again so you can see our new pool area. Do not hesitate to contact us for any request.

With best regards,
Amanda Vieira
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013

We really enjoyed our 3-night stay at Porto Bay in Nov 2013. Our room was spacious and it had a little patio and we got a side view of Copacabana Beach. Strategic location. It was across the street from the beach, 10 minutes away from the Sugar Loaf Mountain, within walking distance to the Metro (subway station), and many restaurants nearby. The housekeeping staff was thorough and efficient. We put on the sign requesting for the room to be made up and left for a little bit. By the time we came back, our room was already done. Wow! Breakfast was great: staff were friendly and attentive, great selection of hot items and fruits, and they offered different selections of pastries each day. Front desk staff speak excellent English so getting information was a breeze. Our return flight was late at night and even though we checked out in the morning, the hotel offered to provide us with a shower room prior to leaving for the airport in the evening. That was extremely nice!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mz_Adventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortobayRI, Gerente de recepção at PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2013

Dear Guest,

In the name of all our staff I would like to express our gratitude for your comments at Trip Advisor. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast, and your lovely comments about our staff will be certainly shared with everyone.

Warm Regards,
Amanda Vieira
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2013

Would recommend this hotel for it's position and service. Other reviewers have complained the pool was closed but there was a note on the bed explaining there was a kiosk on the beach supplying sun beds, towels and umbrellas to guests which was fab. The attendant was very helpful and would get drinks for you as requested.

We had a room on the seventeenth floor and we could see Copacabana beach and Christ statue from the balcony which was amazing. We took the bus or metro everywhere and the reception staff told us the routes and how to get tickets for Corcovado.

A welcome drink was a nice touch and happy hour in the bar between 6-8pm made the price of cocktails very reasonable. The bar lady took great pride in her work and made every cocktail expertly (yes, I did try them all for research of this review, you understand!).

Late check out was not a problem and the staff at breakfast were very friendly. We appreciated the vast variety of fresh breakfast items and the delicious detox drink. I recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to soak up some of the vibe of Rio.

Room Tip: A room on the higher floors gives a better view but might be noisier when the pool is open.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank laney365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortobayRI, Gerente de recepção at PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2013

Dear Guest,

It is a pleasure to hear that you were satisfied with our staff service that's always trying our best to assist all the guests with their doubts and their needs. We are glad to know that you enjoyed our beach service, welcome drink and late check out. It's very important for us the well being of our guests. We will be informing all the staff of your positive observations to motivate them even further.
We all look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit to Rio. Do not hesitate to contact me for any request.

Best Regards,
Amanda Vieira
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2013

I should've written about our stay way back at the beginning of 2013, when my husband & I stayed for a little over a week (9 days?) at Porto Bay, Rio in January for our anniversary trip! Our room had the most amazing view of the beach.....I must say the location was not bad at. We've walked from one end of Copacabana Beach to the other end including Ipanema Beach. The Hotel was also a block away from the famous Copacabana Palace Hotel where we've dined..Very informative & helpful staff....servers at the breakfast buffet were very friendly....great pool on the rooftop....only minus was that Wifi was not included!!!! Very strange, I thought for the price we've payed it would be included...

Room Tip: Try to get a room with the ocean view and a couple of floor below the roof so you could have an easy access to to pool on the roof!
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marietta T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortobayRI, Gerente de recepção at PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2013

Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for choosing our as your accommodation choice during your recent stay Rio and for taking the time to complete your review. We are so delighted to read all your comments about our service, location and pool area. It´s our pleasure to inform you that the wifi is no longer charged. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again soon.

Warm Regards from Porto Bay!
Amanda Vieira
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2013

Great location, beautiful room, great staff, excellent breakfast with plenty of delicious Brazilian fruit. No complaints of any kind, very highly recommended. I imagine it will be impossible to get a room during the world cup, but give it a try! Goooooooooaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaalllllllllllllllllllllllllll!!! :)

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wrldtravlrLosAngeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortobayRI, Gerente de recepção at PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2013

Dear Guest,

We are very pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay in our hotel. It is encouraging as our guest’s satisfaction is our primary concern.
We all hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again very soon!
Warm Regards from Porto Bay!

Sincerely Grateful,
Amanda Vieira
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews