We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel
Ranked #16 of 282 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent place to stay”
Reviewed December 3, 2013

Great location, beautiful room, great staff, excellent breakfast with plenty of delicious Brazilian fruit. No complaints of any kind, very highly recommended. I imagine it will be impossible to get a room during the world cup, but give it a try! Goooooooooaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaalllllllllllllllllllllllllll!!! :)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wrldtravlrLosAngeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortobayRI, Gerente de recepção at PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are very pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay in our hotel. It is encouraging as our guest’s satisfaction is our primary concern.
We all hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again very soon!
Warm Regards from Porto Bay!

Sincerely Grateful,
Amanda Vieira
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,304 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,234
    797
    194
    57
    22
See reviews for
375
1,155
121
252
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (419)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Devon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
227 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2013

We leave today and have thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Yes shame the pool was being refurbished but things like that have to be done sometime. What is undeniable is the fabulous location, great staff, they dealt with our many requests, and good restaurant food. The rooms are not massive but why would you stay in when you are right on one of the worlds greatest beaches. If you want bigger then pay more elsewhere. Slept very well, probably the best in 15 plus hotels across South America. We used the free hotel bikes for a great ride to the Lago, used their beach loungers etc and thoroughly enjoyed our time even though the weather was quite poor. Any hotel can have its problems, ours was a little daytime noise from the pool work but we were hardly indoors and you could only hear it from the very high floors. We also had a leak into the bathroom one night but they sorted it swiftly. Would definitely come back. Thank you everyone.

Room Tip: High up to reduce road noise, rooms 1 to 3 on each floor are at or near the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortobayRI, Gerente de recepção at PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

In the name of all our staff I would like to express our gratitude for your comments at Trip Advisor. It is a pleasure to hear that you were satisfied with our services. We will be informing her of your positive observations to motivate her even further. We are really happy that your overall impression about the hotel was excellent, so we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again soon, now to enjoy our new pool area.

Warm Regards from Porto Bay!
Amanda Vieira
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ny
Level Contributor
125 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2013

I have to say that we did have some of the same issues that people were complaining about -- no pool or gym, one elevator was out of order for 2 of the three days we were there and there was a lot of noise from the construction. I sent an email to the hotel manager and her response was terrific. She explained that this is so unusual for the hotel and certainly made sure we were taken care of. I would return again.

Room Tip: Choose to spend a bit more and take an ocean view -- glorious
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 23anita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortobayRI, Gerente de recepção at PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments in relation to your stay at Porto Bay Rio International Hotel.
The most important for the staff and management is your satisfaction. We are really glad to hear that you felt that you were being taking care. Thank you once more for choosing Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel. We hope to have the opportunity to host you again very soon!

Best Regards!
Amanda Vieira
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2013

Title refers to the many negative reviews I found of this hotel. However, there were a lot of good ones too!
This hotel is located literally across the road from Copacabana Beach, so it's a great location. I stayed in the hotel for 3 nights and found it to be clean, comfortable and friendly. The rooms were good (we were moved when the A/C in out original went on the blink), bright and airy and decorated in a modern style. I liked it, although the bathroom could have done with a refresh, but that wasn't a showstopper.
With only a couple of lifts it could get busy whilst waiting, but didn't really cause us too much of a problem.
The hotel restaurant was excellent, providing a terrific breakfast and very good dinner, plus a terrific view.
There is also wi-fi through out which worked pretty well, so was ideal for FaceTime or Skype calls, saving me a fortune!
Of things to do, we did a express tour which took in Corcovado and Christ the Redeemer, a city tour and the trip to Sugar Loaf Mountain. It was an excellent tour and we have a great day, so very highly recommended. Booked it through reception.
The hotel reception staff were superb. Wish I could list them, and all spoke excellent English! By far the hotel's best assets!! Top marks!
Our only problem was that apart from the day of arrival (when I took the picture!), it rained!! In that case, Rio is much like any other seaside town in the rain - only warmer!

Room Tip: Most rooms have a balcony and I believe that you can see the sea from all. My picture was taken from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank richdebonnaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortobayRI, Gerente de recepção at PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

It is a pleasure to hear that you were satisfied with our service. We are glad to know that you enjoyed our breakfast and view from the restaurant. Also, I would like to thank you for your lovely comment about the staff, specially from the frontdesk. It's very important for us the well-being of our guests. We will be informing all the staff of your positive observations to motivate them even further.
We all look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit to Rio. Do not hesitate to contact us for any request.

Best regards,
Amanda Vieira
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tilburg
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2013 via mobile

We chose this hotel for the location and the roof swimming pool. When we arrived the pool was closed.
We were not informed. Orherwise we would have chosen other hotel. We asked for compensation but the lobby staff (Isabel) insinuated that it was our own fault: "everybody knows the pool is closed exept you".
Need I say more?

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
6 Thank Willem Jan v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortobayRI, Gerente de recepção at PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

As we talked during your stay, we contact your agency and they have send us a letter that says they are taking full responsability for failing on letting you know about our pool area being closed. We also would like to send you this letter, so please send your personal e-mail to frontdesk@portobay.com.br. They are supposed to contact you on the following days. We really hope to welcome you again in the future.

Best Regards,
Amanda Vieira
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2013 via mobile

Spent 2 very rainy days in Rio. This hotel was a welcome haven. Staff was very professional and efficient. I had a side room with the balcony sliver view of Copacabana beach. If the weather has been more cooperative I would have been quite content looking at and listening to the beach and waves. Granted the room would be a bit small for 2 people.
The breakfast was varied and quite good. Every seat had a view of the ocean. Good way to start the day!
Location is fine within walking distance of up and low scale restaurants and shopping. I was alone and felt safe in the neighborhood.

Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank Cheryl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortobayRI, Gerente de recepção at PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing us as your accommodation choice during your recent stay in Rio and for taking the time to complete your review. We are glad you enjoyed the breakfast and the service from our staff, it´s really good to know we are caring for our guest properly.
We all look forward to welcome you again on your next visit to Rio. Do not hesitate to contact us for any request.

Warm Regards from Porto Bay,
Amanda Vieira
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2013

This hotel is very basic. The rooms are much like good Premier Inns or Holiday Inns. Very basic and it does not feel like a 4 star hotel. The bathroom is very basic as well. We were expecting more and unfortunately came away disappointed although we loved Rio. The view from the top of the hotel is amazing, as is the location. The room is clean do no complaints on that front, but it just feels really cheap. I would recommend staying somewhere cheaper as you can get something similar or better for your money, but slightly further away. Given how much I paid for this, we were very disappointed. I am also very surprised by the reviews, but if you notice most of them talk about the views and location.

Room Tip: If you are after a basic room, with an excellent location, this is for you. But it's an expensiv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank V15H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortobayRI, Gerente de recepção at PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

All your informations are very important for the improvement of our services , focusing on making each stay the best experience to our guests .
We really appreciate your constructive comments, because feedback such as yours truly enables us to reinforce the quality of our Standards. We hope to welcome you again in the future and have the opportunity to make this next stay a more pleasant one.

Best Regards,
Amanda Vieira
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Copacabana
Arena Copacabana Hotel
Arena Copacabana Hotel
#21 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
1,849 reviews
Copacabana
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
#2 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
2,354 reviews
Copacabana
Hilton Rio de Janeiro Copacabana
Hilton Rio de Janeiro Copacabana
#14 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
2,615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Copacabana
Belmond Copacabana Palace
Belmond Copacabana Palace
#3 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
3,209 reviews
Copacabana
Rio Othon Palace Hotel
Rio Othon Palace Hotel
#38 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
1,059 reviews
Copacabana
JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro
JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro
#19 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
2,114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel

Property: PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel
Address: Avenida Atlantica 1500, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22021-000, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#6 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#8 Spa Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#13 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#14 Luxury Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right on Copacabana beach in the spectacular city of Rio de Janeiro, PortoBay Rio Internacional offers you the best of two worlds - the sensational city and a breathtaking view over the beach right on the doorstep... Step into Rio Internacional and feel at home - make the most of your stay! Look out over Copacabana beach and revitalise yourself with the sea breeze. The ideal location for an unforgettable holiday or to counter the stress of a day's work in Rio ... 117 apartments/rooms decorated in the best taste... a range of flavours at La Finestra and a roof-top pool with stunning views over Copacabana beach and Corcovado... The hotel PortoBay Rio Internacional offers free Wi-Fi throughout the whole hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rio Internacional Hotel
Hotel Porto Bay Rio Internacional
PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing