We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid until refurbishment is completed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel
Ranked #16 of 282 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Avoid until refurbishment is completed”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

I'm afraid that this was the one dissapointment in our recent visit to Rio. We were only made aware after we booked the hotel that the pool, roof terrrace bar and spa were all out of action due to planned refurbishment. Unfortunately we couldn't get a refund otherwise we would have stayed elsewhere. The rooms were like a 'Premier Inn' in the U.K., okay but nothing special. The shower had a mind of its own. We were woken at around 7am each morning by the sound of drilling and construction work on the 20th floor, yet we were staying on floor 15. On the plus side the location is top notch and the staff were all without exception extremely friendly and helpful - it isn't their fault that the facilities are a let down. I'm sure that this hotel will climb back up the charts once the refurbishment work is completed, until then I would avoid it.

Room Tip: Side sea view rooms have less noise and still a decent view as long as you are staying on floor 12/1...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SunilP82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortobayRI, Gerente de recepção at PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

All your informations are very important for the improvement of our services , focusing on making each stay the best experience to our guests .
We really appreciate your constructive comments, because feedback such as yours truly enables us to reinforce the quality of our Standards.
In reply to your descriptions of our renovation, I would like to inform you we are in the final phase of our project.
We hope to have the pleasure to host you again in the near future, so you will witness that the hotel improved even more.

Best Regards,
Amanda Vieira
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,235
    798
    194
    57
    22
See reviews for
375
1,156
121
252
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (419)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

We stayed as couple at Porto Bay International for 7 nights. Hotel is located on The main beach avenue and is central to all activities .we didn't spend much time in the hotel due to exploring Rio but what we did was very enjoyable . Staff was more than helpful and they accommodated all our requests . Room was spacious and was very clean. Internet was very fast and was complimentary.all together we were happy with our choice of hotel and if we go back to Rio we would stay in the same hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
Helpful?
2 Thank Sammy7100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortobayRI, Gerente de recepção at PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel.
It´s our pleasure to know you enjoyed our services and our Housekeeping Manager will be very pleased to read your comments about the cleanliness of the rooms.
We hope to have the opportunity to host you again very soon!

Best Regards,
Amanda Vieira
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at Rio International for a week of holiday with my girlfriend. The hotel is right on the beachfront in Copacabana, with a fantastic view to the beach. Very comfortable, rooms have been refurbished recently as they look new and fresh. Great bed and the atmosphere is very good. The staff speak good Spanish and English and are really extra helpful. You can see they they really want to make you feel welcomed and special. The breakfast is one of the best I have tried, with plenty to choose from and daily fresh juices and fruit (I counted 12-twelve varieties on my first day).
Highly recommend for the service and comfort, they certainly made a loyal client out of me. Way to Go Rio Int.!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ccarlobbau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortobayRI, Gerente de recepção at PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your preference in staying at Porto Bay Rio Internacional and for sharing your experience here at Trip Advisor. There is no greater pleasure for the direction and whole team, than having surpassed your expectations during your stay at Porto Bay Rio International. We all hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again very soon!

Sincerely Grateful,
Amanda Vieira
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barueri, SP
Level Contributor
179 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

The localization could not be better. In front of the beach and near a lot of attractions. The rooms that are apparently renewed are quite nice and comfortable, and even if they are not exceptional they are in a quite good standard, with all the usual conveniences - tv, free internet, etc. The bathroom is sort of small without being minuscule. A very high point is the breakfast with an extraordinary buffet and a view to the beach that is priceless. Service is always with a smile but at the check-in we have faced some delay because there was just one person at the desk which is simply not enough with people doing check-in, check-out, asking for information, booking excursions, etc. It went over there for making a conference and profit to take the wife to enjoy a little bit of Rio. The conference room became a little bit small for the audience, although service was very good and the finger food meal quite nice.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Osler D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortobayRI, Gerente de recepção at PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are very pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay in our hotel. It is encouraging as our guest’s satisfaction is our primary concern. Our Chef will be very pleased to hear such lovely comments about our breakfast service. We all hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again very soon!

Warm Regards from Rio!

Sincerely Grateful,
Amanda Vieira
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

My wife and I recently stayed at this hotel for about a week. The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. We had a room overlooking the beach, so obviously the view was incredible. We definitely took advantage of the complimentary breakfast and fresh fruit each morning. Other than that, pretty much anything we needed, they would do what they could to provide it. They gave us umbrellas when we needed it, beach service, newspaper from our home country, maps and directions - like I said, pretty much anything I asked for, they would arrange it.

The only drawback was that they were renovating their pool and the ammenities on the top floor. They made us aware of this, so there's no reason to knock off a star on the rating at this point. I will say, however, that when the renovations are complete, guests will truly be in for a treat and an incredible stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortobayRI, Gerente de recepção at PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments in relation to your stay at Porto Bay Rio International Hotel. The most important for the staff and management is your satisfaction. We are really glad to hear that our front desk helped you during your stay providing you maps and everything you needed. Thank you once more for choosing Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel. We hope to have the opportunity to host you again very soon!

Best Regards!
Amanda Vieira
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro
Level Contributor
76 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Excellent location and service. Just check the dates you intend to stay as they're renovating the pool area on the roof top and the view from there is absolutely gorgeous!!! It is considered to be the best four star hotel in Rio!!

Room Tip: Superior rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tourguidegus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortobayRI, Gerente de recepção at PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel as your accomodation in Rio.
We are so delighted to read all your comments about our service and location. Thank you for your choice to use our services, and in order to achieve this aim, it is always important to know your opinion on it.

Warm Regards from Porto Bay!

Yours faithfully,
Amanda Vieira
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

After travelling for 3 weeks my girlfriend Holly decided to suprise me with an extra night stay in Brazil at Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel. We had a fun filled three weeks and were doom and gloom about heading home when the Taxi dropped us off here much to my surprise. Our doors were opened, our luggage taken to reception where we were greeted with a glass of champange. Amanda checked us in and was very friendly and professional and made sure that we contact her if we needed any recommendations. After clinking our glasses together and congratulating me on my 30th Birthday Amanda kindly upgraded us to a suit with a beautiful view over copacabana beach, to top it of Amanda gave me a small present on behalf of the hotel which was very nice. I hope to return to Brazil and if so I would reccomend anyone to stay here, great service and views, beach service is also available. Thank you very much for ending our trip on a high.

Ryan Tierney and Holly Corrigall

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ryan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortobayRI, Gerente de recepção at PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Mr Tierney and Mrs Corrigal,

In the name of all our staff I would like to express our gratitude for your comments at Trip Advisor. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed our services, it is pleasing to receive such comments as yours and to know we are caring for our guest properly. Thank you for choosing Porto Bay Rio Internacional to celebrate such a special date! We hope to see you soon back in Rio and I will be very happy to welcome you personaly!

Warm Regards from Porto Bay!
Best Regards,
Amanda Vieira
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Copacabana
Arena Copacabana Hotel
Arena Copacabana Hotel
#20 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
1,853 reviews
Copacabana
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
#2 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
2,359 reviews
Copacabana
Hilton Rio de Janeiro Copacabana
Hilton Rio de Janeiro Copacabana
#14 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
2,616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Copacabana
Belmond Copacabana Palace
Belmond Copacabana Palace
#3 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
3,214 reviews
Copacabana
Rio Othon Palace Hotel
Rio Othon Palace Hotel
#35 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
1,071 reviews
Copacabana
JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro
JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro
#19 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
2,119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel

Property: PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel
Address: Avenida Atlantica 1500, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22021-000, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#6 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#8 Spa Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#13 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#14 Luxury Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right on Copacabana beach in the spectacular city of Rio de Janeiro, PortoBay Rio Internacional offers you the best of two worlds - the sensational city and a breathtaking view over the beach right on the doorstep... Step into Rio Internacional and feel at home - make the most of your stay! Look out over Copacabana beach and revitalise yourself with the sea breeze. The ideal location for an unforgettable holiday or to counter the stress of a day's work in Rio ... 117 apartments/rooms decorated in the best taste... a range of flavours at La Finestra and a roof-top pool with stunning views over Copacabana beach and Corcovado... The hotel PortoBay Rio Internacional offers free Wi-Fi throughout the whole hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rio Internacional Hotel
Hotel Porto Bay Rio Internacional
PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing