We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very comfortable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel
Ranked #14 of 281 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very comfortable stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

This hotel is very modern, and the amenities are similar or better than a 4 star hotel in North America. The triple room we got has ocean view from the balcony and the view of Cristo Redentor on the Corcovado. Apparently there is a renovation on the 20th and above but we did not notice a thing. The breakfast is very tasty and fruits choices are quite extensive (first time I tried sugar apple). Return to airport, we took a metered taxi instead of the fixed rate taxi recommended by hotel, this save us some money. I highly recommended this hotel.

.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liaohe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortobayRI, Gerente de recepção at Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your preference in staying at Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel, and for sharing your experience here at Trip Advisor. We are really proud that your overall impression was excellent, and we are very happy to know that you will highly recommend us. We hope to welcome you again, and next time you will enjoy our new and improved pool area.

Best Regards,
Amanda Vieira
Font Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,206
    781
    191
    57
    22
See reviews for
363
1,132
120
245
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (415)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lucerne, Indiana
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

We stayed three nights here just so we could hit the main attractions and check out Copa and Ipanema. The hotel didnt disappoint - its cheaper than the Copa Palace and practically next door to it. Has a sort of modern sophisticated feel and the staff is super helpful with good English. We had the basic room which still provided a side view of both the beach, the mountains, and christ the redeemer. Room was very clean, bed big and comfortable, and bathroom spacious with excellent temperature and the best water pressure ever.

Included Breakfast was the highpoint - oh man, absolutely oustanding.. wonderful selection of fruit, very pretty dining room with good views and great coffee.

Copa beach is right across the street and the hotel provides chairs and beach towels. There is also lots of shopping and eating on the street behind the hotel (including grocery stores) - we walked around both day and night and always felt safe.

Eat at Bibi - its great.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sigmawest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortobayRI, Gerente de recepção at Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for choosing our as your accommodation choice during your recent stay Rio and for taking the time to complete your review. We are so delighted to read all your comments about our service, rooms and our amazing breakfast. We also really appreciate all your suggestions. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again soon.

Warm Regards from Porto Bay!
Amanda Vieira
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

I had the pleasure of staying at the Porto Bay Rio Internacional for five nights in May 2013. Everything about the hotel was wonderful: the room was spacious, clean and quiet. The balcony looked out onto Copacabana Beach (to say nothing of the amazing view high over the beach on the rooftop, taking in Sugarloaf and the Big Jesus too). Chairs were available to hotel guests right on the sand. The staff were helpful - they upgraded me to a deluxe room on my last night, allowed me a later check-out, helped me arrange flights, stored my luggage for two weeks when I went travelling, hailed cabs off the street for me, and generally just made me feel welcome. Every day they leave a note on your door telling you the weather forecast, and provide a newsletter featuring headlines from your country. The hotel is in a great location, too. The restaurant has the best view you could ask for, with the most varied breakfast buffet you could ask for. It all added up to a wonderful stay, and given the chance I wouldn't hesitate to go there again. You shouldn't either!
PS: I went to Rio alone, a white 20-something woman who didn't know a word of Portugese. If you're in the same situation, please don't be worried - Rio felt safe to me the whole time. I didn't have a single problem there and never felt unsafe. Be aware and don't take chances, of course, but also don't believe the doomsayers. It's a beautiful city!

Room Tip: The traffic can be noisy - best to ask for a room on a high floor. I was on the 7th and 10th floors...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Angela K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortobayRI, Gerente de recepção at Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your motivating and helpful feedback. There is no greater pleasure for the direction and whole team to receive such comments as yours, and we are really happy you enjoyed all the facilities from the hotel and that our front desk staff could help you with all your needs. We hope to see you back soon!

Warm Regards from Porto Bay,
Amanda Vieira
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

We came to Rio for a fast 3 day visit. Just enough time to do the city tour and get the Rio feeling. It was awesome. I'm Brazilian and my boyfriend american, his first time to Brazil. We felt very save and any questions we had the staff at the hotel was there to help. We opted for the balcony/ ocean front view. We were on the 18th floor and it couldn't get better than that. The rooms we're clean and nice but we spent most of our time at the pool area or sitting on the balcony. The view is just incredible and the hotel is in a very good location. CARLOS, the bartender/waiter was the first person to serve us and we loved him! Always with a smile on his face and there to help you. Service with him was very fast. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for the top floor rooms with balcony and ocean front view. You will NOT be disappointed!,
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Talitavdutra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortobayRI, Gerente de recepção at Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your motivating and helpful feedback. There is no greater pleasure for the direction and whole team to receive such comments as yours, specially to Carlos, that will be very happy to hear about your compliments. and we are really happy you enjoyed your view from the room, breakfast and service. We hope to see you back soon!

Warm Regards from Porto Bay,

Amanda Vieira
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

A group of Italian cuisine lovers while staying in a hotel near posidonos str we heard from some fellow travelers that there was a nice italian restaurant nearby so we decided to pay it a visit. We were suprised
with the variety of taste in the food and the great hospitality and service of the staff. I recommend Porto Bello to all italian foodlovers and not only.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank martenssonand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
151 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

Don't have the breakfast in the hotel, quality of food and service are very low!
The rooms are not great but acceptable, clean but small. The hotel is very well located, on Copacabana beach with a private area on the beach.
There are no many good hotels in Rio, however, you can find better ones.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Flavio78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortobayRI, Gerente de recepção at Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

On behalf of the Porto Bay Rio Internacional, we would like to thank you for the comments regarding your stay in Rio. We do welcome all suggestions, so that we can focus more accurately on improving our standards. We are glad you enjoyed our beach service, we hope we can welcome you again to make this stay a more pleasant one.

Best Regards,
Amanda Vieira
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

My stay at Porto Bay was amazing. The front desk staff was multilingual and were always willing to go above and beyond to make the best accommodations. The breakfast each morning was amazing and had a great view overlooking the beach. The rooms were amazing, and with an ocean view from the balcony was incredible. Beach service was provided by the hotel which included towels, lounge chairs, and umbrellas. There was also a kiosk that you could order snacks and drinks on the beach. I cannot wait to return to Rio and Stay at Porto Bay!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Grant208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortobayRI, Gerente de recepção at Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear guest,

We greatly appreciate you for taking the time to qualify us on TripAdvisor. We are extremely pleased with your compliments regarding our staff. is really gratifying to know that you had a memorable stay at our hotel and that you will come back to stay with us. Thank you very much and see you next time!

Best Regards,
Amanda Vieira
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Copacabana
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
#2 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,329 reviews
Copacabana
Windsor Atlantica Hotel
Windsor Atlantica Hotel
#11 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,577 reviews
Copacabana
Arena Copacabana Hotel
Arena Copacabana Hotel
#18 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Copacabana
Belmond Copacabana Palace
Belmond Copacabana Palace
#3 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,161 reviews
Copacabana
JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro
JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro
#17 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,055 reviews
Copacabana
Rio Othon Palace Hotel
Rio Othon Palace Hotel
#45 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel

Property: Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel
Address: Avenida Atlantica 1500, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22021-000, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#6 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#7 Spa Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#13 Luxury Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#13 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right on Copacabana beach in the spectacular city of Rio de Janeiro, PortoBay Rio Internacional offers you the best of two worlds - the sensational city and a breathtaking view over the beach right on the doorstep... Step into Rio Internacional and feel at home - make the most of your stay! Look out over Copacabana beach and revitalise yourself with the sea breeze. The ideal location for an unforgettable holiday or to counter the stress of a day's work in Rio ... 117 apartments/rooms decorated in the best taste... a range of flavours at La Finestra and a roof-top pool with stunning views over Copacabana beach and Corcovado... The hotel PortoBay Rio Internacional offers free Wi-Fi throughout the whole hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rio Internacional Hotel
Hotel Porto Bay Rio Internacional
Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing