We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel right on the beach”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel
Ranked #14 of 281 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great hotel right on the beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

We upgraded to this hotel through our travel agent and was not disappointed. The hotel is brilliant at catering for all of your needs. The rooms are extremly spacious and the balconys lloking over the beach are brilliant. We was lucky enough to be staying here during valentines day so enjoyed a fantastic meal in the hotel restaurant which was fantastic. The beach kiosk is a great idea being able to order food and drink and charge it to your room from the beach therefore eliminating the need to take cash out.......it can get dangerous ordering beer to the room all day though :-)
The review would not be complete without mentioning the roof top pool......the pictures do not do it justice.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dazzla89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortobayRI, Gerente de recepção at Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel as your accomodation in Rio.
We are so delighted to read all your comments about our room, restaurant, the kiosk at the beach and roof top pool. Thank you for your choice to use our services, and in order to achieve this aim, it is always important to know your opinion on it. We will really happy to welcome you again.

Warm Regards from Porto Bay!

Yours faithfully,
Amanda Vieira
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,206
    781
    191
    57
    22
See reviews for
363
1,132
120
245
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (415)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brasilia, DF
Level Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

I've just left the hotel, been there for the weekend of FIFA's Confederations Cup: Some comments:
-Reservation C- : Very intimidated about the 600 dollars fare/night, I have called the reservations to ask if there was a better price. I have got a very rude treatment, have only decided to keep the choice because of the very good reviews and also because of the lack of options for the date.
-Breakfast: A+ . Good variety of fruits, bakery and very good coffee. The view to Copacabana beach is awesome. I only missed the Brazilian traditional "pão de queijo" , a delicious bread made of cheese. Nothing that would ruin the very diverse breakfast.
-Room: A- New, big enough, good forniture, great bed and pillows. Tv set, however, was poorly spotted, not very good for your neck. I have got the cheapest room.
-Room service: First night at the hotel, ordered meat with my girlfriend. Beautiful presentation, but it wasn't very tasty. We haven't repeated the other days. Ordered a pizza delivery from another place and asked the service for silverware. It took almost 25 minutes and when I called again haven't heard it nice. The other bad thing was the cab the hotel claims to work with them. The morning I left, he refused to drive me to an atm and to the airport later, and suggested i took another one. That really pissed me off. I don't want to be unfair, the receptionists were always nice and professional all over our stay, so did the waiters.
Beach: The hotel has a kiosk so you don't need to take money to the beach across the street, which is really good, and has also a free service of beach chairs and towels. The hotel is in a good spot of the beach, as well.
Pool: coolest thing about the place, 20th floor, small but one of the prettiest views of all times, with a good pool bar and a small gym aside.
Overall experience, very good, with a few issues, but still the best place i've been in rio so far, I would come back with a better price.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dante M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortobayRI, Gerente de recepção at Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for choosing our hotel as your accommodation choice during your recent stay in Rio and for taking the time to complete your review.
We are glad to read that you enjoyed our room, the beautiful view to Copacabana beach from the pool area. Thank you very much for your comments and suggestions,and we really apologize for any inconvenience you had.

We hope to welcome you again very soon,
Amanda Vieira
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
217 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

This is a great hotel right on Copacabana Beach. The rooms are typical of hotel rooms for this part of the world. They do have air conditioning which only stays on when you leave the room key in the slot, so bring an extra card to leave in when you are out. I read reviews complaining about the noise, I didn't find that to be a problem, I travel with ear plugs and usually use them in hotels and did not find the need to do so in this one. My only complaint, if you want to call it that, is that the beds are hard. I like hard beds, but these are very hard. I think it is typical for the European type mattresses that most places use though. My room was not at the front of the hotel, so I had a view of a side-street and the beach. I felt it was adequate for the location. The building is 20 stories, so the views will be varied, I was on the 6th floor, so closer to the traffic that people complain about, and I could hear the ocean waves out on the balcony, which is the place to see the ocean from.

The pool at the top of the building is typical for this part of the world, not heated, small, and it was only about 3 feet deep, which makes sense for a roof-top. The views from here were great though. The breakfast buffet was top-notch, the only thing it was missing that a more upscale hotel might have would be a chef to make you personal omelets. The fruit selection is marvelous and good. I was very satisfied with the selection of food and the waiters provided excellent coffee and tea service. They are very friendly and work to please even the most picky people and I traveled with one of those. He had no complaints, which is unusual.

The other amazing thing about the location of this hotel, it is one block down from the famous Copacabana Palace by the way, is that on the street on the southside of this hotel there is a wonderful little cafe with scrumptious foods. One of the surprising treats was a roast beef and pineapple panini which might sound like an odd combination, but it is a delightful combination. There is a full-scale restaurant that this cafe is associated with across the street, we didn't try it because we liked the intimate cafe and found the staff there to be wonderful, but if the cafe is just a preview, I would try the other if I were to go back to Rio.

The service at this hotel was excellent in every way. They called taxi's or had car drivers standing by. It is cheaper to take a taxi, but not by much. Their car drivers are good and some speak some english. This was the service that picked us up at the airport. They are prompt and do a great job getting you to where-ever you need to go. The front desk was prompt in taking care of any needs we had and they spoke great english. The hotel security pays attention to details and what you are up to, even if you don't tell them what you are doing. We discovered this our last evening there when we went to have one last sand-castle building time on the beach around near sunset. We were playing with the kids and having fun, but this "guy" kept watching us and made my sister nervous. He turned out to be our hotel security guy who was specifically assigned to come lookout for us at the beach. We were grateful that they had such a sharp and on the spot security service. We were there at a time that demonstrations were expected and security let us know about that 12 hours before they were expected and they had a plan as to how to handle the dangers that may arise. Fortunately we didn't need to see them execute their plan, but it was very reassuring to know that they look out for guests in every way and it such a way you may not be aware that they are doing their job.

Rio is a place you need to be alert and watch your surroundings. We didn't have any problems, but we were away from the soccer venues which is where they were seeing more problems. We did use the city bus system, it is very user friendly and there are information kiosks near the popular tourist spots where you can get helpful brochures that tell you exactly what bus you need to go where.

If I ever go back to Rio I would stay at Porto Bay again. $250 seems a high price, but when you look around, it is a great deal for the location and for the Rio area.

Room Tip: My room on the south was very quiet for a hotel room. I did not experience any A/C unit noise, it w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TeacherDoris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortobayRI, Gerente de recepção at Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for this wonderful detailed review. We are so delighted to read all your comments about our service, confortable rooms, beach service and courteous staff.
I already shared your appraisal with everyone and they were really happy to know that they exceeded your expectations.
Thank you for choosing Porto Bay Rio Internacional and we hope to host you again in the near future!

Best Regards,
Amanda Vieira
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

This is a good hotel right by Copacabana beach.

The good:
- Location. Probably one of the best location on the Copacabana strip. It's right by the beach with lots of restaurants close by.
- Great buffet breakfast. The selection was huge, there is no way you are going hungry whatever your food preferences are.
- Service was good and very professional.
- They have a section on the beach with chairs for the hotel guests.
- Rooms. This is specifically for the corner suite. The view from the suite is simply amazing, the beach on one side and mountains on the other side. That view made up for other shortcomings of this hotel. Rooms were well kept and spacious.

The bad:
- Rooms/hotel. Wait, didn't I just put this in the good category? Well, the high floor corner suite view made up for some things but still fell short in some places. Bathrooms are tiny (getting in through the small shower door can be challenging). The other types of rooms didn't look very spacious. The corridors smelled damp, getting an elevator during check out/breakfast wasn't easy, part of the hotel felt dated e.t.c. There is definitely room for improvement before it can be rated a top hotel.
- Price. Most hotels in Copacabana are expensive and this one is no exception. You are paying for the name and location. Is it worth that much? May be, may be not. It's not one of those pricey hotels that will wow you, good but not great. Splurge on a corner suite if you can. The nearby Windsor Copa hotel was a great value instead (see my separate review).

Other:
- Watch for the door stop, that metal piece could easily hurt your toes especially when wearing sandals! They seriously need to change this design.

Overall this is not quite a top/4 star hotel but still pretty good with one of the best locations.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank TheTravellingG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortobayRI, Gerente de recepção at Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your motivating and helpful feedback. There is no greater pleasure for the direction and whole team to receive such comments as yours, and we are really happy you enjoyed your view from the room, breakfast and service. We read carefully all the issues you pointed out and we assure you that we will take the necessary corrections and improvements. We hope to see you back soon!

Warm Regards from Porto Bay,

Amanda Vieira
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

My family and I stayed in the Porto Bay hotel in Rio in April this year and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We were lucky enough to stay in one of the suites at the front of the hotel and enjoyed the magnificant sweeping views of Copacabana beach from the balcony. The suite was nicely furnished and spacious, perfect for when you are sharing with children. It was so relaxing to wander out onto the balcony and just watch what was going on at the beach. Breakfast was amazing; an enormous feast of food awaited us every morning and was thoroughly delicious. But you can burn those calories off in the rooftop swimming pool and gym - with views of Christ the Redeemer in one direction and Sugar Loaf Mountain in the other. The thing that made this hotel stand out for me was its customer service, all the staff were so polite and friendly and dedicated to making your stay as comfortable as possible. From supplying you with complimentay towels, sun shades and loungers at the beach to the service you receive at the restaurant or the poolside, its all carried out to a high standard. A thank you to Janaina for efficiently organising our booking, and an extra special thanks to Francesca Lins and Amanda Vieira who really looked after us when we stayed there. With such obvious dedication to customer service, I would not be surprised to return to trip adviser at some point and find that the Porto Bay Hotel had moved up a slot to be the number one hotel in Rio de Janeiro.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank PDB67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortobayRI, Gerente de recepção at Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your choice to use our services, and in order to achieve this aim, it is always important to know your opinion on it.

We are really proud that your overall impression was excellent, and we are very happy about the comments regarding our staff especially those that are mentioned. We will be informing all the staff about your positive observations to motivate them even further.

Sincerely Grateful,
Amanda Vieira
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sussex
Level Contributor
54 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

Good all round hotel. Nicely appointed room but very noisy from road and from air conditioning units situated outside. Good bathroom with quality gels and soaps. Excellent buffet breakfast, lots of fresh fruit. Buffet lunch also very good. Pool terrace small but with lovely views. Disappointed that it was closed twice for private functions while we were there. We had been looking forward to relaxing there after a hard days' sightseeing. Free bikes for 2 hours enabled us to cycle to Ipanema beach and around the lake. Check they are safe as the saddle collapsed causing one of us to fall off injuring arm, hands and leg. Pharmacy next door did a grand job of patching him up. Staff all very efficient and helpful with fluent English. Very good base for visiting the sights. Excellent bus service to all of them.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor room, further away from road noise and air conditioning units
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaysussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortobayRI, Gerente de recepção at Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your preference in staying at Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel, and for sharing your experience here at Trip Advisor.
We are so glad to learn that you enjoyed our breakfast, and your lovely comments about our staff will be certainly shared with everyone.
In reply to your descriptions about the pool that was closed, I would like to apologize again and I would like to inform you that we a renovating the pool are, so that won´t happen again. We hope to welcome you again!

Sincerely Grateful,
Amanda Vieira
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

It was my first trip to Rio and we landed up in this perfectly located hotel. To one side the beach of Copacabana and to the other the hills and the Corcovado with HIM - like a guard. A nice hotel in Brasil seems to be expensive and so is this one. It has a wonderful roof top garden, a bit small but the view is breathtaking. The staff is friendly and helpful. Especially Carlos, a waiter in the breakfast room and in the bar on top made us feel at home. Although his English was not very good, he made our stay in his best Brasenglish.

The breakfast itself was good, the usual selection of hot dishes and fruits etc. But the small cake selection was really great as well as the coffee - surprisingly coffee in Brazil is not always good.

What we did not like was the cleanliness in the bathroom and bed room, bathroom needs a revamp. Bit old style and run down. The cushions also need to be replaced; maybe not with feathers again.

Yes, we would recommend this hotel and would love to come back again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BMLSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortobayRI, Gerente de recepção at Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your motivating and helpful feedback. We greatly appreciate your thoughts and opinions regarding our breakfast, marvelous view of Copacabana Beach and very friendly staff. Thank you for your choice to use our services, and in order to achieve this aim, it is always important to know your opinion on it.

We look forward to hearing from you in the near future!

Best regards,
Amanda Vieira
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Copacabana
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
#2 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,328 reviews
Copacabana
Windsor Atlantica Hotel
Windsor Atlantica Hotel
#11 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,576 reviews
Copacabana
Arena Copacabana Hotel
Arena Copacabana Hotel
#18 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Copacabana
Belmond Copacabana Palace
Belmond Copacabana Palace
#3 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,161 reviews
Copacabana
JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro
JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro
#17 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,053 reviews
Copacabana
Rio Othon Palace Hotel
Rio Othon Palace Hotel
#45 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel

Property: Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel
Address: Avenida Atlantica 1500, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22021-000, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#6 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#7 Spa Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#13 Luxury Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#13 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right on Copacabana beach in the spectacular city of Rio de Janeiro, PortoBay Rio Internacional offers you the best of two worlds - the sensational city and a breathtaking view over the beach right on the doorstep... Step into Rio Internacional and feel at home - make the most of your stay! Look out over Copacabana beach and revitalise yourself with the sea breeze. The ideal location for an unforgettable holiday or to counter the stress of a day's work in Rio ... 117 apartments/rooms decorated in the best taste... a range of flavours at La Finestra and a roof-top pool with stunning views over Copacabana beach and Corcovado... The hotel PortoBay Rio Internacional offers free Wi-Fi throughout the whole hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rio Internacional Hotel
Hotel Porto Bay Rio Internacional
Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing