We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel
Ranked #16 of 282 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

After spending 5 weeks around Brazil it was finally nice to arrive in a more of a tourist location with staff that spoke good English. The room was great, big and the bed was very comfortable.
The Hotel is getting on a bit just like the rest of the Copa area although they are doing a good job with keeping the rooms clean an in good condition. Tea and coffee in the room was great as it was in none of my other hotels.

The hotel is located next to the Copacabana Palace so the location is great just depends what you were there for. Next time I would look for more Ipanema area as it seems to be the place to be, but everything touristy is close by anyway. there was a great book of Rio in the room.

I stayed 6 Nights and by the second day the waiter in the breakfast restaurant had remembered the way I like my coffee (sem leite) if you stay there you know who I'm talking about. The Breakfast is great with a small selection of cooked items but that seems to be the thing in Brazil its more about ham and cheese sandwiches.... on the buffet there was a great selection of fruit, bread, cheese, dairy and sweets (cakes and slices) best I had had all trip.

Room Tip: The rooms with the balcony are more comfortable I think. highest floor away from the street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank matt32124302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortobayRI, Gerente de recepção at PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

It is a pleasure to hear that you were satisfied with our service. We are glad to know that you enjoyed our breakfast and room. Also, I would like to thank you for your lovely comment about the staff and specially the waiter of our hotel. It's very important for us the well-being of our guests. We will be informing all the staff of your positive observations to motivate them even further.
We all look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit to Rio. Do not hesitate to contact us for any request.

Best regards,
Amanda Vieira
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,304 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,234
    797
    194
    57
    22
See reviews for
375
1,155
121
252
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (419)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
102 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

The hotel property has probably seen better days. The lobby is very dated, and the rooms seem a bit 'worn'. I had a balcony that looked out to a hotel across the street. The room was comfortable. We had reserved a private tour by taxi with the front desk the Friday night that we arrived; however, the next morning they did not have any record of us reserving a tour. So they scrambled to locate another driver for us. They were able to find someone and we had a great 4-hour tour of the city, followed by dinner in Ipanema at a restaurant of the hotel's suggestion.

The breakfast is very good and is in a restaurant the looks out to the beach across the street. Service is very good.

The H. Stern representative that has a desk in the lobby is very friendly, but a bit aggressive about trying to set up a tour of H. Stern. We had limited time to visit the city (Saturday only).

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortobayRI, Gerente de recepção at PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Porto Bay Rio Internacional. We are happy to know you enjoy your stay with us despite the problems you had, we really appreciate all the constructive comments, and we are doing our best to improve our facilities even more. We are already taking care of the situations you mentioned. Thank you for choosing Porto Bay as your accommodation.

Best Regards,
Amanda Vieira
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
674 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 373 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Location: very good, in the beginning of Copacabana beach, in front of the beach, next to the subway.
Room: confortable, with a lateral balcony facing the sea, standard double bed.
Bathroom: noisy, it would take almost 30 minutes to stop the noise after each flush, the toilet seat was too close to the wall and to a tap in order it was not possible to sit properly. It doesn't mean that there was no space, it was just badly distributed.
Service: fast and friendly reception desk, and at breakfast.
Breakfast: Small room, but with a wide variety of breads, fruits and hot dishes. My only complaints are in relation to coffee quality, poor, hot dishes looked terrible, with super oily bacon, almost liquid scrambled eggs and hot glasses, every time we wanted juice, it was necessary to put ice, because probably the glasses just left the dishwasher.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RenataBiancalana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortobayRI, Gerente de recepção at PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear guest,

I would like to thank you for choosing our as your accommodation choice during your recent stay Rio and for taking the time to complete your review, we are delighted to know that you enjoyed our services, but we sincerely apologize for the trouble with the toilet and your suggestions about the breakfast. I can assure you that I will look into the matter.

Thanks again for your comments and we hope to host you again in a near future.

Warm Regards from Porto Bay!
Amanda Vieira
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We stayed here for a couple of nights on our honeymoon and couldn't have been happier with our choice of hotel in Rio

We got a warm welcome from the friendly and knowledgeable staff on reception, check-in was quick and easy and we were then offered a glass of sparkling wine as a welcome drink which we were able to take up to the room and enjoy on the balcony. The room was spacious, clean and extremely comfortable, and being able to sit on the balcony with Copacabana beach visible to one side and the statue of Christ on the other was brilliant

The pool/rooftop bar was a real treat, with great panoramic views and a nice place to relax in the evening. Breakfast was probably the best of our entire trip, with a wide selection of hot food, breads, cakes and exotic fruits - not to mention the view out onto the beach

The staff were so welcoming, and great for recommendations and organising bookings etc. Wouldn't hesitate to stay here again if we're ever able to visit Rio again

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank OL_london
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortobayRI, Gerente de recepção at PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your comments in relation to your stay at Porto Bay Rio International Hotel. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed our services and breakfast, it is pleasing to receive such comments as yours and to know we are caring for our guest properly. We look forward to hearing from you in the near future.

Warm Regards!
Amanda Vieira
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

The staff in this hotel are exemplary; they provide the level of hospitality one hopes to find when traveling but is rarely truly experienced. The staff is friendly, professional, knowledgeable, multi-lingual, and just simply pleasant. How refreshing! Hiring exceptional people to deal with the international public is not done by accident: I commend your process and your selections.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank giacomo215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortobayRI, Gerente de recepção at PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear guest,

We greatly appreciate you for taking the time to qualify us on TripAdvisor. We are extremely pleased with your compliments regarding our staff. is really gratifying to know that you had a memorable stay at our hotel. Thank you very much and see you next time!

Best Regards,
Amanda Vieira
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, VA
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Recently stayed at this location in the heart of Copacabana Beach very near Copacabana Palace. Being across the beach was incredible. My room on the 17th floor had a fantastic view - to the left was the beach, to the right was a view of the Cristo. The top floor had a pool, health club and bar. Since it rained for the days that I was there, I didn't get to enjoy the pool but the view from the top was excellent. At night, the rooftop bar was a great place to enjoy a capirinha and take care of emails before going out to dinner. Wireless in the hotel worked well. Elevators were quirky and a bit slow. Since I was there on a business meeting, it was a great way to end the day. And finally, the breakfast was delicious - lots of fresh fruits.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank charic77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortobayRI, Gerente de recepção at PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments in relation to your stay at Porto Bay Rio International Hotel. We are very pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay in our hotel. It is encouraging as our guest’s satisfaction is our primary concern. We all hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again very soon!

Warm Regards from Rio de Janeiro!
Amanda Vieira
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We just returned from our third trip to Porto bay Rio Internacional Hotel and found it to be
outstanding as always. Beautiful hotel, excellent location, with an exceptional staff. Perfect
place to stay in Rio. Excellent views of Copacabana Beach, wonderful restaurant, with great
breakfast, lunch and dinner. Great pool with spectacular views, wonderful beach service with
wonderful new Kiosk. Wonderful staff, including bell staff, front desk staff, housekeeping,
restaurant staff, security, as well as wonderful management that go out of their way to
make your stay a wonderful and memorable one. Would highly recommend this hotel to
anyone and everyone traveling to Rio!!
Olive and Steve

Room Tip: All rooms are equally excellent!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank steviebnyc_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortobayRI, Gerente de recepção at PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your preference in staying at Porto Bay Rio Internacional and for sharing your experience here at Trip Advisor. There is no greater pleasure for the direction and whole team, than having surpassed your expectations during your stay at Porto Bay Rio International. We all hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again very soon!

Sincerely Grateful,
Amanda Vieira
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Copacabana
Arena Copacabana Hotel
Arena Copacabana Hotel
#21 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
1,849 reviews
Copacabana
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
#2 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
2,356 reviews
Copacabana
Hilton Rio de Janeiro Copacabana
Hilton Rio de Janeiro Copacabana
#14 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
2,615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Copacabana
Belmond Copacabana Palace
Belmond Copacabana Palace
#3 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
3,211 reviews
Copacabana
Rio Othon Palace Hotel
Rio Othon Palace Hotel
#39 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
1,061 reviews
Copacabana
JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro
JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro
#19 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
2,116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel

Property: PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel
Address: Avenida Atlantica 1500, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22021-000, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#6 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#8 Spa Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#13 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#14 Luxury Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right on Copacabana beach in the spectacular city of Rio de Janeiro, PortoBay Rio Internacional offers you the best of two worlds - the sensational city and a breathtaking view over the beach right on the doorstep... Step into Rio Internacional and feel at home - make the most of your stay! Look out over Copacabana beach and revitalise yourself with the sea breeze. The ideal location for an unforgettable holiday or to counter the stress of a day's work in Rio ... 117 apartments/rooms decorated in the best taste... a range of flavours at La Finestra and a roof-top pool with stunning views over Copacabana beach and Corcovado... The hotel PortoBay Rio Internacional offers free Wi-Fi throughout the whole hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rio Internacional Hotel
Hotel Porto Bay Rio Internacional
PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing