We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Rio Othon Palace Hotel(Rio de Janeiro)(Great Value!)
$108
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Belmond Copacabana Palace(Rio de Janeiro)
$609
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Transamerica Prime Barra(Rio de Janeiro)
$55
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Pestana Rio Atlantica(Rio de Janeiro)(Great Value!)
$104
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$76
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Hotel Mar Palace Copacabana(Rio de Janeiro)(Great Value!)
$98
$58
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Hotel Regina(Rio de Janeiro)(Great Value!)
$56
$47
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Mercure Rio de Janeiro Copacabana(Rio de Janeiro)(Great Value!)
$115
$98
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Atlantico Rio(Rio de Janeiro)(Great Value!)
$47
$45
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
$522
$473
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Reviews (2,532)
Filter reviews
2,532 results
Traveler rating
1,343
877
220
65
27
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,343
877
220
65
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsporto bay hotelrooftop poolcopacabana beachchrist the redeemersparkling winetop flooroverlooking the beachexcellent hotelpanoramic viewcorner roomsugarloaf mountainwelcome drinksugar loafour honeymoonbreakfast roomstayed here for nightsbreakfast was excellent
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
892 - 897 of 2,532 reviews
Reviewed March 11, 2013

This hotel was a very pleasant surprise. Located right on Copacabana beach, all rooms have a view of the beach. We had a corner room, with excellent views from floor to ceiling windows. The restaurant was good, but the buffet breakfast one of the best I have experienced. Loads of fresh fruit, cold meat, cheese, pastries, with eggs and bacon as well. Fruit juice was also exotic and plentiful. The pool on the 20th floor...a great place for a relaxing snack. A beach service ensures you get chairs, towels and an umberella, on Copacabana beach ! Truly a surprising and delightful hotel

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Honesty49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortobayRI, Gerente de recepção at PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2013

Thank you very much for your comments in relation to your stay at Porto Bay Rio International Hotel.

We are delighted to know that you enjoyed our services, it is pleasing to receive such comments as yours and to know we are caring for our guest properly. We also note your satisfaction regarding our Restaurant and breakfast buffet which we will pass on to our Chef.

Warm Regards,

Amanda Vieira
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

We loved the location, and the staff was helpful at the main desk. The breakfast area was clean and the variety was pretty good compared to other continental breakfasts we had in South America.

The negatives would be the lunch staff was not friendly and the lunch was good but not great. When you are paying for your meal you expect the same service you would get at any restaurant. The pool area was nice with perfect views of the beach, but also could use some updating and cleaning. The room was very small and too could have used some updates in the shower area.

There is nothing wrong with this hotel so I would still recommend, but if you want five star and plush, this is not it.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortobayRI, Gerente de recepção at PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments in relation to your stay at Porto Bay Rio International Hotel. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed our frontdesk service and our breakfast buffet. In regards to your comments about the restaurant your remarks have been carefully noted and we can assure you that the necessary steps have been taken to consider improvement in those aspects in the future.

Thanks again for your comments and we hope to host you again in a near future.

With best regards,
Amanda Vieira
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

I had already stayed a the Porto Bay hotels in Madeira. I was very satisfied. I dared trying their hotel in Rio. It was a delight. . It is a nice and fine quality hotel . All is in the details , The service is impeccable, The room are cosy buy could be slightly more inviting THe price is reasonable for the spot , Even if the view on the side is partial , it is great .The food at the breakfast is perfect and served in a dining room with a splendid view. .
The pool on the top is a must after a hot day . And the surroundings are quite secure.

Room Tip: for a superior room ask for the highest and the closest to the front of the hotel .: the view! (partial)
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Aristote51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortobayRI, Gerente de recepção at PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2013

I would like to thank you for choosing our as your accommodation choice during your recent stay Rio and for taking the time to complete your review, is very satisfying to know that was not your first time at a Porto Bay Hotel, and that you had a pleasant stay with us. We all look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit to Rio. Do not hesitate to contact us for any request,

Sincerely,
Amanda Vieira
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Fantastic location on Copacabana Beach. From the roof you can see the whole way down Copacabana beach to the right, Sugarloaf Mountain to the left and the statue of Christ at the back-fabulous! The roof pool is an absolute bonus.
We had a lovely spacious, clean and comfortable room with partial sea view and balcony on 10th floor (I think you would need 13th and above for a view of Christ the Redeemer as well).
All the staff we very helpful and spoke good English.
Great breakfast with an amazing selection of fruit!.
If ever I am lucky enough to come back to Rio-this is where I would stay

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank jacquai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortobayRI, Gerente de recepção at PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for your motivating and helpful feedback.
It is a pleasure to hear that you were satisfied with our service. We are glad to know that you enjoyed our breakfast and selection of fruits. Also, I would like to thank you for your lovely comment about the all staff. We will be informing all of them of your positive observations to motivate them even further.
We all look forward to welcome you again on your next visit to Rio.
Do not hesitate to contact us for any request.

Best Regards,
Amanda Vieira
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Good location- right opposite copacabana beach. Deluxe corner room has amazing view- right down copa AND Christ the Redeemer! may be a little noisy for some but we loved the sounds of rio! You can also open the windows which was nice!
Rooms are a little tired so don't expect super flashy. I know it seems expensive but that's Rio! Can't beat the location of this hotel and the staff are really friendly.
We went on a few of the hotel tours -
Hang gliding= Amazing! And a day trip to the islands including Ilha Grande- worth it!
Breakfast is great, a lot to choose from! Towels and beach chairs complimentary. Pool area small but great views and comfy!
Also copacabana beach has free wifi and we have found you can use it from the room!! Look for and register with Oi wifi!
Walk to Ipanema beach is about an hour. But I'd hire a bike for about R15!
If u want to the Christ by yourself get there early! We had to wait 2 hours for the train but found a nice restaurant near by called Mama Rosa to pass the time.
Enjoy your stay at Porto Bay- we did!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MazzAdventure13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortobayRI, Gerente de recepção at PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments in relation to your stay at Porto Bay Rio International Hotel.
The most important for the staff and management is your satisfaction. We are really glad to hear that our front desk helped you with tours, providing you with an unforgettable experience.
Our Chef will be very pleased to hear such lovely comments about our breakfast service.
Thank you once more for choosing Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel. We hope to have the opportunity to host you again very soon!

Best regards!
Amanda Vieira
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews