We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant Breakfast - Rip Off WiFi”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel
Ranked #15 of 282 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level Contributor
70 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Brilliant Breakfast - Rip Off WiFi”
Reviewed February 13, 2013

We started our 3 week tour of South America at the Porto Bay - superb location facing Copacabana Beach. Our room was a little tired and unfortunately directly above the kitchens so we were woken early each morning by the kitchen staff preparing breakfast. I would definitely ask for a room on the higher floors. Breakfast was brilliant - excellent choice and if you were lucky, could be eaten at a table overlooking Copacabana Beach. The roof top terrace and pool was small but why would you need anywhere bigger with the beach just opposite. The hotel has loungers/towels/parasols on the beach - staff there were very friendly and helpful. Our one and only major complaint was that the hotel charged for WiFi - WHO in 2013 charges for WiFi? We stayed in 12 different hotels whilst travelling across to Lima - some very small family hotels and other larger hotels. Wake up Porto Bay, charging for WiFi is tantamount to charging for loo paper!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Restaurant is (I think) on the 4th floor so make sure you are not above it on the 5th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Southernpence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortobayRI, Gerente de relações públicas at Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your preference in staying at Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel, and for sharing your experience here at Trip Advisor.
We are so glad to learn that you enjoyed our breakfast, and your lovely comments about our staff will be certainly shared with everyone. About your comments regarding the room, we could have changed you to a upper floor if you had contact the frontdesk. We apologize for the inconvenience.
In reply to your descriptions about the internet charge we are glad to informe you that we no longer charge for internet. It´s going to be our pleasure to welcome you back!

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,288 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,224
    791
    194
    57
    22
See reviews for
369
1,149
121
248
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (418)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013 via mobile

Great location. Hardly any hotels along Copacabana or Ipanema have balconies.. Porto Bay has with spectacular views of the beach. Breakfast is good with a wide selection of fruits. The waiters are very attentive and friendly. the Roof top pool is a little small with a few beds so get there early if you intend to stay a while. They also serve snacks and drinks at the pool. You also get a great view of Copacabana and Christ the Redeemer.
We had a room on the top floor with a balcony facing Copacabana beach. Room is a decent size but the bathroom is tiny ! You can literally sit on the toilet and brush your teeth at the sink at the same time ! Lifts are also a real pain. They can only fit 6 people at a time and takes forever long to come .
I noticed most taxis did not know Porto Bay so best to carry hotel card or address if you intens to get a taxi back to the hotel.
Overall a good hotel to stay for location, view (if you get a balcony facing the beach) and good service, friendly staff.

Helpful?
4 Thank MTL66
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
PortobayRI, Gerente de relações públicas at Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear guest,

I would like to thank you for choosing our Hotel as your accommodation choice and for your positive comments about our rooms, and recognized one of our difference, our balconies. A feedback such as yours that enables us to reinforce the quality of our service and we really appreciate your constructive comments.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hertfordshire, England
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013

We arrived at the hotel just before midnight after a 12 hour flight from London, having pre-ordered a transfer from the airport through the hotel. Check in was fine, we were given a glass of bubbly and retired to our room. We had paid for an upgraded room in order to enjoy views of Copacabana beach. This was not disappointing. There were floor-to-ceiling windows in the room with spectacular views all the way up Copacabana beach. The room itself was clean maybe a little dated with a marble bathroom and a very deep, almost Roman style bath. The hotel has a small bar on ground floor level, nice for a drink before going out in the evening. There is a small rooftop swimming pool with sunbeds around the outside, a bar which serves food throughout the day and fantastic views over Copacabana and one can even see Christ the Redeemer statue from the rooftop. The hotel staff are all very friendly, breakfasts were fantastic and although we only ate in the hotel restaurant once, it was of a good standard. With so many good restaurants within walking distance of the hotel it was easy to find something different every night. The hotel reception staff are incredibly helpful in suggestions for places to eat. For exploring Rio it is ideally placed as there is a metro stop five minutes away and taxis are plentiful. Originally we had planned to spend 13 nights in this hotel but it really is not a 13 night type of hotel. By this I mean that it is more of a short break or business type hotel.This is illustrated in the room where there was very little wardrobe space and almost nowhere to put one's suitcases, despite this being an upgraded room. We therefore decided to transfer after a week to a sister hotel two and a half hours up the coast at Buzios. The hotel were very helpful in arranging this for us. Overall I would say that this is a great hotel for exploring Copacabana and Rio de Janeiro, but you probably wouldn't want spend more than a week here. On the slightly negative side. I found the hotel billing system difficult to understand, to say the least. When we arrived just before midnight on the first day I was asked to pay for the accommodation in advance which is certainly unusual for a Porto Bay hotel. However, after a 12 hour flight and no sleep I wasn't prepared to argue the toss at that point. However, when we checked out I found the bill yet again confusing and only when I arrived at the sister hotel did I discover that we'd been overcharged by two nights. The sister hotel were helpful in speaking to their counterparts in Rio and a refund was soon forthcoming. However the billing system is complicated and you really have to sit down and examine it. Equally, one doesn't expect to be charged two nights extra in this standard of hotel. One other slight niggle was the fact that we are Porto Bay prestige gold card holders through frequent travels to Madeira and staying in Porto Bay hotels there. This is my first experience of a hotel outside of Madeira with this group and it didn't seem to us that they were particularly up to speed with the prestige card system. I kept having to ask for the rewards, but was told don't worry it will all be sorted out at the end of the final bill. Most of it was but not all of it. More of a niggle than anything else and I certainly would stay at this hotel again if coming back to Rio

Room Tip: Worth paying for an upgrade to have a view of Cococabana beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Drdrill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortobayRI, Gerente de relações públicas at Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay in our hotel. It is encouraging as our guest’s satisfaction is our primary concern. We have noted some points that we have to improve and we will focus on our daily training. We also greatly appreciate your thoughts and opinions regarding the hotels from our group. We all look forward to welcome you again on your next visit to Rio. Do not hesitate to contact us for any request.

Warm Regards from Porto Bay,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago Illinois
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2013

If you want to stay in the heart of Copacabana and not pay as much as the Copacabana Palace then this is your hotel. Beautiful boutique hotel. Stayed in suite on top floor with a beautiful view of the ocean all for as much as an ordinary interior room at the "Palace". Had no problems walikng the avenue in the evening. Great breakfast included every morning. Would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: All rooms have balconies but request an ocean front. It will be worth the view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DOCJR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortobayRI, Gerente de relações públicas at Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and the beautiful view from your suite. We all look forward to welcome you again on your next visit to Rio.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013

We stayed at Porto Bay in November 2012. We had travelled for several hours and there were three people in reception who were all laughing when we arrived. I checked in and said we needed to pick up our luggage which had been stored prior to travelling to the Amazon. The lady then contiuned to laugh with her colleagues about whatever amused them and completely forgot about us as after five minutes of waiting to the side another one asked how can we help you. I thought we were waiting for the bags. It is great to have a laugh but unprofessional behaviour for a £ 250 a night hotel. I would say laugh with the customers but if you are hysterical then go somewhere else till you calm down as this came across very unprofessional.

We were then shown to a balcony room but were shown to a panormic view room. I went down and asked if we could move but were told not till tomorrow night. The same receptionist who forgot about us said that when they get the bookings it does not say balcony or panoramic - really ? How on earth do all the websites sell the two different rooms then ? Must be very confusing when everyone arrives with randomly assigned rooms - I thought she was lying and was going to take it up with someone but thought you know what its late, travelling for several hours etc so left it. In the end we ended up staying in the panoramic room because the view was literally sensational. I could see right round from the beach all the way to Christ Reedemer. With the curtains open it was a view I still have imprinted in my mind. The bed was extremely comfortable so no complaints whatsoever with the room.

Going to breakfast was a bit farcical, what this hotel has against it is its size, its on a tiny corner plot and what happens is at peak times the lifts are busy / cramped, you have to wait etc. At breakfast there was a queue when we had finished, I really felt sorry for these guests as this is not a cheap hotel at £ 250 why should they have to wait ? I also noticed that whoever was managing the situation was doing a horrific job. Because the views are towards the beach some selfish couples sit across two tables next to each other both facing the sea which means if there were two of you you would have to sit facing one of this couple which meant no people were using these empty seats. The concierge did nothing to say to these people to only occupy one table yet there was a queue ? And this was happening on quite a few tables. Come on - use your common sense.

The only other things was the gym at the top was only an aerobic gym, no resistance equipment, for £ 250 a night I would have thought it would be better equipped but as people say the standard in Brazil is lower - I don't necessarily agree. The things above are easy to fix, the most important is ensure your staff are doing a better job. Equipment can be bought for the gym. The rooms are lovely. I only ranked this hotel down because the service I experienced was bad and I hope it was an isolated incident. The front of houe staff really must be the best as they create the first impression.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peter a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortobayRI, Gerente de recepção at Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Porto Bay Rio International Hotel. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconveniences you may had have.

We would like to inform you that we will look into the matter. About the rooms, we do have two types of deluxe rooms, they are both front view,

But one with balcony and other with the panoramic view, they are both the same price. We always give the option to change the room if you have any preference, but we are glad to know you enjoyed it!

We also would be very pleased to have the opportunity to welcome you in your next visit to Rio, and hopefully change the impression you had about your last stay.

Best regards from Porto Bay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
101 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

We found the room itself to be pretty much what we expected, smallish, but modern and clean. We paid for a sea view and got it. The bathroom was adequate, but not pristine (a tropical climate poses challenges when it comes to mold in some of the crevices). We visited in the summer, and were thankful for an efficient, and quiet, air-conditioning system. The room's balcony was a nice spot to take in a bit of the sights and sounds of Copacabana at leisure. The rooftop pool deck was pleasant, and the rooftop bar stayed busy much of the day. The fourth-floor restaurant offered a decent view of the beach, and the (included) breakfast was quite good. However, I'd recommend against eating other meals there; the food at lunch was sub-par, discouraging us from even considering having supper there.

The front desk staff was helpful. However, the off-the-shelf package tour they sold us for a half-day's sightseeing was lowest-common-denominator tourism; private guided tours are worth the extra expense if you can afford it. We had a great dining experience at the nearby Churrascaria Palace restaurant - a real highlight of our visit to Rio.

Room Tip: Ocean-view rooms are worth the effort and expense to obtain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lever212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortobayRI, Gerente de relações públicas at Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing our hotel as your accommodation choice during your recent stay in Rio.
It is a great pleasure to hear that you were satisfied with our front desk staff, offering you all of the tours options. Also thank you for your positive comments about our rooms and our pool area.

We hope to have the opportunity to host you again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Spent 2 wonderful days here overlooking Copacobana beach ( the start of a 23 day tour ) Superb position -excellent service from Staff always ready to help in any way - food magnificent - room service fantastic- restaurant wonderful --- could we have been so lucky , I think not its there - take advantage

Room Tip: how about Room 1804 :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roy055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortobayRI, Gerente de relações públicas at Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear guest,

The entire staff of Porto Bay Rio Internacional is very pleased to hear that your overall impression about the hotel and our service was excellent. We are glad to read that you enjoyed our restaurante and our service. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again soon.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Copacabana
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
#3 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,345 reviews
Copacabana
Hilton Rio de Janeiro Copacabana
Hilton Rio de Janeiro Copacabana
#13 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,591 reviews
Copacabana
Arena Copacabana Hotel
Arena Copacabana Hotel
#21 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Copacabana
Belmond Copacabana Palace
Belmond Copacabana Palace
#4 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,192 reviews
Copacabana
JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro
JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro
#19 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,083 reviews
Copacabana
Rio Othon Palace Hotel
Rio Othon Palace Hotel
#39 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel

Property: Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel
Address: Avenida Atlantica 1500, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22021-000, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#6 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#8 Spa Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#13 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#14 Luxury Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right on Copacabana beach in the spectacular city of Rio de Janeiro, PortoBay Rio Internacional offers you the best of two worlds - the sensational city and a breathtaking view over the beach right on the doorstep... Step into Rio Internacional and feel at home - make the most of your stay! Look out over Copacabana beach and revitalise yourself with the sea breeze. The ideal location for an unforgettable holiday or to counter the stress of a day's work in Rio ... 117 apartments/rooms decorated in the best taste... a range of flavours at La Finestra and a roof-top pool with stunning views over Copacabana beach and Corcovado... The hotel PortoBay Rio Internacional offers free Wi-Fi throughout the whole hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rio Internacional Hotel
Hotel Porto Bay Rio Internacional
Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing