We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rio de Janeiro”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel
Ranked #18 of 282 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
Rochester, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Rio de Janeiro”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Excellent location right at Copacabana Beach. Accessible to different restaurants, church, etc. Serving both hot and cold breakfast with a huge variety of fresh fruits. Pastries galore. Professional front desk staff and efficient waiters. Security at hotel lobby entrance.
A highly recommended hotel to stay in Rio.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xfizerpillman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luciana M, Gerente de recepção at PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear Guest,
We are really happy that your overall impression about the hotel was excellent.
It is a pleasure to hear that you were satisfied with our staff that is always doing their best to give to our guests a quality service.
Also thank you for your comments about our marvelous breakfast.
We will be informing for all our staff of your positive observations to motivate them even further.
We all look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit to Rio.

Sincerely,
Luciana Meda
Front Office Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,333 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,250
    803
    200
    58
    22
See reviews for
384
1,164
121
256
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (423)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Exmoor
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

A good choice of hotel particularly because of its location. The rooms were a good size and both clean and modern. Also liked the patio on the roof with bar and pool. We didn't eat in the restaurant so can't comment on the food but the breakfast had a good choice of food.
Not a lot of room in the lifts and sometimes had to wait longer than usual for one to arrive and then it could be full.
Unlike all the other hotel that we stayed at, we had to pay for Internet access which I felt was excessive (if you paid for an hour you had to use it at that time rather than roll over any remaining time to the following day). Also, it was the only hotel that didn't give you a complimentary bottle of water other than when you arrived. Small touches that can give the wrong impression particularly when you are paying quite a lot to stay there.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank exmoor-traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Read all of the reviews and they are pretty on point. Stayed here with my new wife on our honeymoon. 4 nights in rio! Everyone spoke english for us, great breakfest, good drinks, early check in! Thank you.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luciana M, Gerente de recepção at PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear Mr. Mark,
We are especially happy that you chose Porto Bay as your accommodation during your honeymoon. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed our services, it is pleasing to receive such comments as yours and to know we are caring for our guest properly.
We hope to welcome you again in your first anniversary and every other time you come back to Rio.

Warms Regards,
Luciana Meda
Front Office Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel last month for part of our Honeymoon to Brazil. It was a wonderful experience. The room was good size, clean, modern, and beautiful. And the view... wow the view!! We looked out over Rio and could see Christ the Redeemer way high up on the mountain top from our room :) They even surprised us with beautiful roses and rose petals throughout our room for a romantic setting - it was wonderful! The front desk staff, pool staff, restaurant staff, and cleaning staff were all so friendly and helpful. The location was excellent, just across the street from Copacabana Beach. We are very pleased with our stay here. We have great memories of our Honeymoon in Brazil, thank you Porto Bay Hotel and Staff!! :)

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Brittany V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

I recently enjoyed a Baazilian vacation which started with a few days in Rio, at the Porto Bay. The pros: great location (right at the top of Copacabana beach), great views (I had one of the "deluxe" corner rooms which offer 90 degree views of the oceanfront and down Copacabana beach), and a fantastic hot breakfast buffet. The cons: dated, cheaply done decor - reminded me of those 1980s off-white laminate kitchens with oak trim, not a whole lot of amenities (although the rooftop pool was very nice), not a lot of service (no real concierge service), and the price. The room I was in is advertised at about US $425, which seems rather a lot for a hotel with basic amenities and basic decor. The drinks and food at the pool bar were outrageous, running about $15 a drink or so.

This hotel needs some maintenance. If you are looking for a high end vacation and you are willing to pay for it, take your $425 next door to the Orient Express chain's FABULOUS Copacabana Palace. For $300 more a night, you will thank yourself..

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
302 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Our introduction to So America's hotels was Porto Bay Rio & it became the standard we used in the whole trip! This is one of the better hotels we stayed in. You can't beat the location, its right on Copacobana Beach and is walking distance to restaurants, shops, convenient stores, banks, etc... The staff was very friendly, helpful, and patient with tourists like us who want to explore Rio on our own! Breakfast was very good, lots of variety, lots of fresh tropical fruits as well. The bed was comfortable, room clean. And the view from the rooftop is fantastic!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank floRDMichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luciana M, Gerente de recepção at PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear Guest,
It is a pleasure to hear that you were satisfied with our service. We are glad to know that you enjoyed our breakfast and relaxed with the amazing view of Rio from the rooftop. Also, I would like to thank you for your lovely comment about the staff that is always offering their best to make each stay an unique experience to our guests.
We will be informing all the them of your positive observations.
We all look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit to Rio. Do not hesitate to contact me for any request.

Sincerely,
Luciana Meda
Front Office Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maplewood, New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

This Hotel is located right next to the Copacabana beach, and in walking distance to great restaurants and shops. Moreover, this hotel is a great starting point for all kinds of excursions. The service is perfect, and the drinks served at the rooftop bar just perfectly finish up a beautiful day in Rio.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with balcony on the higher floors (18th and up). These will give you a perfect vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Thomas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Copacabana
Hilton Rio de Janeiro Copacabana
Hilton Rio de Janeiro Copacabana
#15 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
2,665 reviews
Copacabana
Arena Copacabana Hotel
Arena Copacabana Hotel
#22 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
1,880 reviews
Copacabana
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
#2 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
2,397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Copacabana
Belmond Copacabana Palace
Belmond Copacabana Palace
#3 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
3,276 reviews
Copacabana
JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro
JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro
#19 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
2,179 reviews
Copacabana
Rio Othon Palace Hotel
Rio Othon Palace Hotel
#30 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
1,181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel

Property: PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel
Address: Avenida Atlantica 1500, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22021-000, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#6 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#10 Spa Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#13 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#17 Luxury Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right on Copacabana beach in the spectacular city of Rio de Janeiro, PortoBay Rio Internacional offers you the best of two worlds - the sensational city and a breathtaking view over the beach right on the doorstep... Step into Rio Internacional and feel at home - make the most of your stay! Look out over Copacabana beach and revitalise yourself with the sea breeze. The ideal location for an unforgettable holiday or to counter the stress of a day's work in Rio ... 117 apartments/rooms decorated in the best taste... a range of flavours at La Finestra and a roof-top pool with stunning views over Copacabana beach and Corcovado... The hotel PortoBay Rio Internacional offers free Wi-Fi throughout the whole hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rio Internacional Hotel
Hotel Porto Bay Rio Internacional
PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing