We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highly recommended” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel
Ranked #11 of 280 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
137 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

This hotel worked out really well for us. I have stayed in Copacabana before and didn’t like it (I preferred Ipanema) but the Porto Bay was such a nice experience I may have to revise my opinion. We were greeted by the very friendly desk staff and given a welcome drink of sparkling wine. They were nice enough to allow us to check in about three hours early, which is huge after a long flight. The hotel is very stylish and our room had everything we needed, including a safe, which is very important in Brazil. English language TV stations were few and far between. I believe the fitness center was open 24 hours a day but I could be mistaken about that. In any event, it was open when we wanted it to be. There is a bar on the rooftop by the pool with amazing views. The breakfast was plentiful and delicious. The desk staff was very helpful and even called a club we wanted to go to for reservations. They also called to check on the status of our shuttle to Paraty. The Porto Bay is very conveniently located in Copacabana and it’s easy to catch a bus or cab. I would recommend trying the public buses - they are a lot cheaper than cabs and a lot of fun.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank shario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luciana M, Gerente de recepção at Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear Guest,
It is a pleasure to hear that you were satisfied with our front desk staff that’s always doing their best to assist all the guests with their doubts and their needs. As a complementary service of our hotel, they always offer a welcome drink at the check in and we are happy to know that you enjoyed.
Also, I would like to thank you for your comments about our rooms. It's very important for us the well-being of our guests. We will be informing all the staff of your positive observations to motivate them even further.
We all look forward to welcoming you soon with another group on your next visit to Rio. If you require any special assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me.

Sincerely,
Luciana Meda
Front Office Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,187
    772
    191
    57
    21
See reviews for
358
1,118
120
245
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (407)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

Stayed for 3 nights before cruise. What a find. The ocean view by day and night was fantastic make sure you get corner room with huge windows higher floors.
Breakfast great. Clean room well laid out.
Only downside had no bar/ lounge room.
Had reception area and cafe bar. Great roof top swimming pool.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LaurenLNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luciana M, Gerente de recepção at Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear Mr. Laurent,
It is a pleasure to hear that you were satisfied with our service. We are glad to know that you enjoyed our breakfast and the amazing view of Copacabana from the room. Also, I would like to thank you for your comments about the cleaning of our hotel. It's very important for us the well-being of our guests. We will be informing all the staff of your positive observations to motivate them even further.
We all look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit to Rio. Do not hesitate to contact me for any request.

Sincerely,
Luciana Meda
Front Office Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbados
Level Contributor
114 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

The hotel was very clean and pleasant. We had a room on the 19th floor at the side but still had a good view down Copacabana Beach.
The room was a lot smaller than I expected but it was spotless inside and very comfortable.
We were directly opposite the lift (elevator) and didn't experience any noise from that. Though quite often one of the lifts seemed to be out of order and the other continued to go past our floor in both directions so you could have a 10 minute wait to get to the lobby.
Breakfast there was very nice, such a wide selection of food. We didn't eat in the hotel itself for dinner.
The pool on the roof was nice but again we didn't use it. We only looked at the view.
The area itself is good if you like the beach but we struggled to find anywhere local to get a decent meal.

My only complaint are the excursions. We booked two before we arrived with a company but the one we arranged to Petroplois through the hotel was not good. The guides English was not good so you couldn't hear what she was saying and the bus driver was a complete maniac. I am surprised we are still here to tell the tale.
The hotel booked me a car to go to a restaurant at Santa Teresa which cost 55 reals; strangely enough it only cost 40 coming back by using a taxi outside the restaurant. He also go completely lost going there (which apparently is not to uncommon)
The taxi they booked for us to take us to the heliport at the lake also dropped us at the wrong side of the lake so after a lot of searching we managed to get another taxi to take us to the correct place.
I'd probably stay there again as the staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BajanDreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luciana M, Gerente de recepção at Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Dear Guest,
Your comments in relation to your stay at the Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel are very important for the improvement of our services.
We greatly appreciate your thoughts and opinions regarding our exceptional breakfast, marvelous view of Copacabana Beach and very friendly staff.
In reply to your comments regarding the taxi services in our city, I would like to explain that, our hotel offers executive cars with fixed prices, safer and more comfortable. Because of this services, the charges are little bit higher than yellow cabs. Our concierges are trained to offer all the options available, then you can have the chance to choose the best option considering price, comfort and convenience.
In relation to the information that you highlighted about the tour, please accept our sincere apologies.
It was the first time that we receive any complaint like yours regarding this tour.
I already contacted the agency and informed them about the driver and the guide.
I would like to inform that, our guest’s satisfaction is our primary concern, so we will focus on the concierge's daily training, and we are considering other tour companies, reinforcing the quality of our standards.
Sincerely,
Luciana Meda
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

The hotel is very well located in Copacabana, the staff is very friendly, attentive, professional and speak English. Great breakfast with beach views. There's a pool bar on the top floor which is very pleasant and has great views from the beach, the Corcovado mountain and the sugar loaf. Amazing views from the room too. Well recommended!

Room Tip: There are corner rooms available with window so you have a great Copacabana Views from the bed! Othe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leletisha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luciana M, Gerente de recepção at Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Dear Guest,
I would like to thank you for choosing our hotel as your accommodation choice during your recent stay in Rio and for taking the time to complete your review.
We are glad to learn that you enjoyed your room with a beautiful view for the Copacabana beach and our exceptional breakfast.
Also I would like to thank you for your lovely comments about our staff that is always doing their best to offer a good service as our primary concern is our guest’s satisfaction.
We hope to welcome you again very soon.

Sincerely,
Luciana Meda
Front Office Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thatcham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

Excellent location to enjoy Copacabana beach. Metro, bus and cabs easy to use and cheap. Hotel staff were happy to help with maps and advice. Breakfast, which spoilt you for choice, is on the 4th floor and looks out onto the beach. Beds were the most comfortable we have ever had. There are no hot drinks facilities in your room which was a disappointment. One criticism of the hotel is the two,VERY small, inadequate lifts, which serve numerous floors and you can wait for some 5 mins or so before one arrives. One morning we were aloud to use the staff elevator because of the queue in the breakfast room. (There didn't appear to be any stairs available to guests or we would have used them). Enjoyed the beach bars in the evening but be prepared to have an extra charge on your bill if they have entertainment. It wasn't a lot (about 10 rias - around £3) but they don't tell you upfront. We enjoyed our stay

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luciana M, Gerente de recepção at Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Dear Ms. Wendy,
Thank you for choosing our hotel as your accommodation choice during your recent stay in Rio.
It is a great pleasure to hear that you were satisfied with our front desk staff that's always doing their best to assist all the guests with their doubts and their needs.
Also thank you for your positive comments about our marvelous breakfast, rooms and our comfortable beds.
We have reviewed your feedback in details and we can assure you that the necessary steps have been taken to consider improvement in those aspects.
We hope to have the opportunity to host you again very soon!

Sincerely,
Luciana Meda
Front Office Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Lazio, Italy
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

We have been in this hotel for 3 nights. Large and clean rooms, some with a view on the ocean. Considering we were in Rio, where it is difficult to find a good hotel, this hotel deserves 5 stars, even if it should be rated 4. The breakfast war really good, the best one we had in Brazil. The reception is small and some rooms are noisy, but you can stay very good here. Pay attention to the prices: they can vary very much and can also double in few days! So it is better to book many months or weeks in advance

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adrew824
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luciana M, Gerente de recepção at Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Dear Mr. Adrew,
Thank you very much for your comments in relation to your stay at Porto Bay Rio International Hotel.
For the front desk staff and whole team the most important is your satisfaction.
Our Housekeeping Manager will be very pleased to read your comments about the cleanliness of the rooms and our Chef will be so proud as well, to hear such lovely comments about our breakfast service.
Thank you once more for choosing Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel. We hope to have the opportunity to host you again very soon!

Sincerely,
Luciana Meda
Front Office Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miramar Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
203 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

I picked Porto Bay Rio after I read on TripAdvisor that the Copacabana Hotel was under renovation (which is still going on). I wasn't disappointed at all. Although arriving early, the front desk located a room that was soon to be ready. My room was business like, average and very clean. The views from the rooftop pool are the best. The service in the hotel is top notch. I needed some sun screen and the bartender made a call to a bellman who walked down the block to a pharmacy and bought some. They weren't asked but did it on their own. I'd choose this again for a business trip but would probably stay elsewhere if I brought my wife.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank USShredder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luciana M, Gerente de recepção at Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Dear Guest,
We are delighted to know that you enjoyed our services, it is pleasing to receive such comments as yours and to know we are caring for our guest properly.
We will be informing for all our staff of your positive observations to motivate them even further.
We all look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit to Rio.

Sincerely,
Luciana Meda
Front Office Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Copacabana
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
#3 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,290 reviews
Copacabana
Windsor Atlantica Hotel
Windsor Atlantica Hotel
#9 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,539 reviews
Copacabana
Arena Copacabana Hotel
Arena Copacabana Hotel
#14 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Copacabana
Belmond Copacabana Palace
Belmond Copacabana Palace
#4 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,126 reviews
Copacabana
JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro
JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro
#15 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,008 reviews
Copacabana
Rio Othon Palace Hotel
Rio Othon Palace Hotel
#47 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel

Property: Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel
Address: Avenida Atlantica 1500, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22021-000, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#6 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#6 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#10 Luxury Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#13 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right on Copacabana beach in the spectacular city of Rio de Janeiro, PortoBay Rio Internacional offers you the best of two worlds - the sensational city and a breathtaking view over the beach right on the doorstep... Step into Rio Internacional and feel at home - make the most of your stay! Look out over Copacabana beach and revitalise yourself with the sea breeze. The ideal location for an unforgettable holiday or to counter the stress of a day's work in Rio ... 117 apartments/rooms decorated in the best taste... a range of flavours at La Finestra and a roof-top pool with stunning views over Copacabana beach and Corcovado... The hotel PortoBay Rio Internacional offers free Wi-Fi throughout the whole hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Despegar.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rio Internacional Hotel
Hotel Porto Bay Rio Internacional
Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing