We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room with a view”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel
Ranked #18 of 282 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
Florida
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Room with a view”
Reviewed December 24, 2011

As we pack to head toward our cruise I can look out our wraparound window and see all of Copacabana beach from our comfortable modern room. Service was as good as the view and everybody was always smiling. My only complaint was not about the hotel but hat to reach most recommended restaurants we had to take a cab to Ipanema. It would be nice if some better restaurants could open up on this side of town. again however if getting around is not a problem, pPorto bay is a lovely choice on Copacabana

Room Tip: Get either room with balcony or with wrap around window and highbfloor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,333 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,250
    803
    200
    58
    22
See reviews for
384
1,164
121
256
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (423)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2011

We have arrived in Rio 18th December( today) and were looking forward to catching up on emails from home with the free wifi we thought the hotel offered. On arrival we were informed that this is not the case and a large charge is present. Very disappointing! Spoils things really. Have been looking on trip advisor today to see other guests reviews and find that the wifi is the general complaint from everyone but never mentioned in the management replies. Our room is lovely though and we were able to check in early which is a bonus. The pool area is a little small but has a fabulous view. Unlike other guests we were not offered a glass of bubbly but never mind. We hope to enjoy our stay.

Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank aidlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2011

we had a great week there! it was fairly expensive but then all hotels and pretty much everything in brazil and in rio are! the location was just perfect, the staff were lovely, very helpful and friendly, the breakfast was fantastic, our room which was on the 12th floor and facing the beach was amazing with a breathtaking view and the pool area was so chilled and relaxing! :))) the only bad thing i could complain about would be that the lifts were rather small and we had to wait for them at times but other than that it was a great hotel to stay at and really made our stay in rio all the better!!! just a tip tho, keep your things close to you at all times and if you decide to hire a bike to ride around this amazing city on then DO NOT put your bag in the basket on the front..... I did and had mine stolen out of the basket by a man riding past me on his bike and lost the lot! but the police were quick on the scene and very helpful and we still had an amazing time there!

Room Tip: when booking through the travel agent request a room with a balcony on a higher floor and facing the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hazeljp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2011

Reserved with months in advanced and requested an early check in as my very long flight was arriving first thing in the morning.To my surprise, the request was not honored because I had not paid the "extra night". Since I felt I had to go to a bed immediately, I was given the choice of a downgrade for the same price, and that's what I got, with no chance to get my original room later.
Also, internet connectivity is beyond expensive and complicated, and chair in room was in sad condition.
Otherwise, room was nice, breakfast buffet was plentiful, location was best.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JackGMiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 6 Contributor
80 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2011

Excellent hotel at a good price.

Right in Copacabana beach, with beautiful views!
The rooms are spacious and comfortable.

The pool at the rooftop is spectacular! While you are swimming we can take a dip looking at the beach of Copacabana and Ipanema!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susy03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santos, SP
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2011

I'm used to stay in hotels in Rio at an average of 10 days per month along the year, and I use to stay in a few hotels in which I am considered an "habitué". One of these weeks, as all my "normal" hotels were fully booked, my agent suggested this one. It was a good choice, as the prices in Rio (even downtown, not very recommendable) are nowadays astronomical compared to the rest of the world, and the Porto Bay, despite of the good location (at the beach front, Copacabana) and the good installations and service, had a very fair price.
Little cares like offering a glass of sparkling wine upon arrival also count.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarcusMoreira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bozeman, Montana
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2011

Absolutely incredible staff especially the front desk from booking through chechout. Organized airport transfers and in town tours. Wonderful restaurant, especially the large and all inclusive breakfast. New, clean, bright rooms with high quality linens and great bed and bathroom. Again, the entire staff has our highest praise. Would choose this hotel over any of the other hotels in this category.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mbgaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Copacabana
Hilton Rio de Janeiro Copacabana
Hilton Rio de Janeiro Copacabana
#15 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
2,665 reviews
Copacabana
Arena Copacabana Hotel
Arena Copacabana Hotel
#22 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
1,880 reviews
Copacabana
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
#2 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
2,400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Copacabana
Belmond Copacabana Palace
Belmond Copacabana Palace
#3 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
3,276 reviews
Copacabana
JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro
JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro
#19 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
2,180 reviews
Copacabana
Rio Othon Palace Hotel
Rio Othon Palace Hotel
#30 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
1,181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel

Property: PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel
Address: Avenida Atlantica 1500, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22021-000, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#6 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#10 Spa Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#13 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#17 Luxury Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right on Copacabana beach in the spectacular city of Rio de Janeiro, PortoBay Rio Internacional offers you the best of two worlds - the sensational city and a breathtaking view over the beach right on the doorstep... Step into Rio Internacional and feel at home - make the most of your stay! Look out over Copacabana beach and revitalise yourself with the sea breeze. The ideal location for an unforgettable holiday or to counter the stress of a day's work in Rio ... 117 apartments/rooms decorated in the best taste... a range of flavours at La Finestra and a roof-top pool with stunning views over Copacabana beach and Corcovado... The hotel PortoBay Rio Internacional offers free Wi-Fi throughout the whole hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rio Internacional Hotel
Hotel Porto Bay Rio Internacional
PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing