We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$200
JW Marriott
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Miramar Hotel by Windsor(Rio de Janeiro)(Great Value!)
$206
$112
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$245
$231
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Ipanema Inn(Rio de Janeiro)(Great Value!)
$110
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$230
$184
Sheraton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Belmond Copacabana Palace(Rio de Janeiro)
$324
$313
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Rio Othon Palace Hotel(Rio de Janeiro)(Great Value!)
$103
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
$173
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Arena Copacabana Hotel(Rio de Janeiro)(Great Value!)
$119
$85
Official Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
$500
$442
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Reviews (2,553)
Filter reviews
2,553 results
Traveler rating
1,356
883
220
67
27
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,356
883
220
67
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsporto bay hotelrooftop poolcopacabana beachchrist the redeemersparkling winetop flooroverlooking the beachexcellent hotelpanoramic viewcorner roomsugarloaf mountainwelcome drinksugar loafour honeymoonbreakfast roomstayed here for nightsbreakfast was excellent
Filter
Updating list...
1,188 - 1,193 of 2,553 reviews
Reviewed July 28, 2011

I recently stayed in this Porto Bay whilst on a business trip. The hotel is brilliantly situated opposite Copacabana Beach. The staff were simply amazing and nothing was too much trouble for them. There is also a fantastic beach service and I would heartily recommend this hotel. I stated in a deluxe room with balcony and I foudn it to be very comfortable and the veiw was great. Breakfast was simply out of this world!!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lancellot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrontDesk_10, Front Office Manager at PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2011

Dear Guest,
In the name of the whole time I would like to express our gratitude
for your comments at Trip Advisor.
We are really happy to learn that your overall impression about the
hotel was excellent and we greatly appreciate your lovely comments
about our staff that we will certainly share with them.
Thank you once more for your choosing Porto Bay Rio Internacional
Hotel and if you require any special assistance during your next stay,
please do not hesitate to contact us.

Sincerely,
Luciana Meda
Front Office Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2011

The hotel was nice. Right across from the beach and they have chairs/umbrellas, and security. They need it because the beggars that bother you every ten minutes, no joke, every ten minutes. The beach is what makes this place, without it, it would be a slum near the ocean.

If the area was nicer, i would rate this hotel a 3.5

Room service and food prices were somewhat high. Wifi at $40 REAL per day is criminal! The breakfast buffet is lacking, it needs an upgrade. The car service from airport is an executive sedan with english driver, half correct. A small Chevy wagon, not an executive sedan, for $110 Real.

We setup a four hour private driver in executive sedan for our first day, it was beautiful out so we wanted to see the Christ statue when we could. What a mishap. The guy picks us up, nice guy, but after a few miles i find out he is somewhat quiet because he can't speak more than ten words of English. We were 5 minutes away from the statue so i figured, what the heck.

As we get there, it is packed, so he tell's me get out here. I ask him what do i do? He says, buy a ticket. I say, for what. He said, bus. I said what bus, he said train. This conversation goes on like this for awhile. Then i was about to get out and risk it, i ask him where he will be parked, since there are NO spots anywhere, he says, I park here. "In the middle of the road, really?)

I told him to drive us back to the hotel. They were helpful and didn't charge me but my afternoon was ruined, so we went to the beach.

I booked a trip to Buzios the next day and then re-booked the 4 hour trip for monday. The lady at the desk showed me the weather and said, all the days look good. I know she can't control the weather but if the driver i asked for, Junior, was called, maybe this wouldn't have happened.

The hotel desk staff recommended La Fuddicia Italian restaurant across the street. Righhhtt. We each had lasagna, mediocre at best, with a coke and one bruschetta for $120 USD. Ended up cancelling Buzios because i was sick, from the Italian place. How do i know, because all i had before that was bottled water and nutrigrain bars and the hotel's breakfast rolls/fruit.

That monday tour ended up being foggy, complete waste of my time. If only the first one was setup properly.

Also, the area is crap. 8 year old beggars selling candy in traffic. The beach peddlers. The street walkers and homeless. I didn't feel safe in this town, copacabana or ipanema, and i am a police officer in the USA.

I would not go back to this hotel ever again, and definitely would not go back to Rio De Janeiro ever. If you haven't booked yet, save your money. Go to Portugal if you want people with attitude speaking Portuguese. If you want South America, try Buenos Aires.

*watch the elevator, slow and the door closes fast.

Good stuff - pool is nice but not heated, view is nice from balcony.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mikeyhand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrontDesk_10, Gerente de recepção at PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2011

All your comments are very important for the improvement of our
services and we will focus on them.
On behalf of the Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel, please accept our
sincere apologies for any inconveniences you may had have in our city.
We were delighted to have you as guest and we also would be very
pleased to have the opportunity to welcome you in a possible visit to
Rio and hopefully change the impression you had about your last stay.

Sincerely,
Luciana Meda
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2011

We stayed here for four nights to round off our epic RTW trip. Our room was comfortable, with great views of Copacabana Beach and Christ the Redeemer. The hotel is right on the front, with the beach just across the road, which is great in the day, but the area is a bit seedy at night. We've been told since that Ipanema probably would've suited us better, with nicer shops, bars, and restaurants. The hotel has a swimming pool on the roof, with great views, and a 'beach club' with free towels and beds for guests. The service generally was ok, nothing to shout about, but I got the impression that this hotel was more geared to the business traveller, and they weren't really interested in the tourist market. They charge here for WiFi, too, and it's not a 'nominal fee', either, it's extortionately expensive, which is ok if you're a business traveller and can charge it to 'expenses', but bloody annoying otherwise! We asked for a late check-out, too, as our pick-up wasn't until 7pm, and the best they could do was an extension from 12pm until 1pm, with no offer of facilities for showering or changing after we'd spent the afternoon on the beach, though they did store our valuables and luggage.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jeff c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrontDesk_10, Gerente de recepção at PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2011

Dear Client,
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Porto Bay Rio International
Hotel and sharing your experience here at Trip Advisor.
We do welcome all suggestions, so that we can focus more accurately on
improving our standards.
Unfortunately at the day of your departure the hotel was fully booked
and we had other guests waiting for rooms. The building offers a sauna
shower, bathrooms on the 20th floor and the storage place to luggage.
These are used when we do not able to provide a late check out to our
guests.

Warm Regards from Porto Bay!

Luciana Meda
Front Office Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2011

A brief 3 day stay between ecolodges on our 4 week trip to Brazil. Planned as a comfortable break and it worked. A good quality if rather standardised hotel with very nice reception and porters. Not so sure about the breakfast receptionist, having on the first day stopped to 'sign in' and made to feel small and to believe this was completely unnecessary then on the third day the same member of staff then challenged us for our room number. The Breakfast itself is incredible, especially the selection of fresh fruit. Only let down by fruit juices which wouldn't be acceptable in UK supermarkets for their economy ranges.
The room was nice, high up with an acceptable side view of the beach and hotels alongside. However, more than a single upright chair would seem appropriate for a room of this type and price - a couple of comfortable chairs should be provided. The bed was supremely comfortable, though why it had to be quite so big was beyond us! Shower etc. excellent and included a hair dryer with a cord long enough to make it usable! Clothes storage was limited - fine for a few days but I would NOT have found it at all acceptable to have had to continue to mainly live out of a suitcase if I was staying for a longer period. The third bed became the main place for storing and sorting clothes.
After arriving we immediately looked at the top floor bar and swimming pool at 18.30 and there was no sign it had ever been open (advertised as closing at 20.00) so we didn't go up again until the final morning when we realised it was open during the day.
As others have said, the internet charges were simply ridiculous. Fortunately we did not need this and, if we had, there is an internet cafe close by. But a hotel of this quality charging anything for internet access is unacceptable.
I am surprised that others found it difficult to find suitable restaurants and bars nearby. The porters advised us of a very good, and reasonably priced, Italian restaurant just a couple of blocks away and we found other equally interesting restaurants - not least a North African Arab one facing the small park.
The guidance on how to go out and about was quite limited, but we were fortunate to find the Tourist information point which is a few hundred metres away along the front (turn right). They explained that the metro etc. was close by. We didn't use them as we found the beach, the broad walk and the very interesting forts at either end of the beach occupied us for the couple of days we had.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulBartlett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrontDesk_10, Gerente de recepção at PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2011

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your comments in relation to your stay at
Porto Bay Rio International Hotel.
We greatly appreciate your thoughts and opinions regarding our
exceptional breakfast, view of Copacabana Beach and front desk
friendly staff.
We have reviewed your feedback in details. Your remarks have been
carefully noted and we can assure you that the necessary steps have
been taken to consider improvement in those aspects in the future.
We hope to welcome your again in a near future.

Sincerely,
Luciana Meda
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2011

The room was correct and clean. People at the reception were extremely kind and effective. In special, Lucinda gave us very good advices on restaurants were to go.

The only slight critic is that the elevators are too small and are always very busy, specially at breakfast time.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Isidro l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrontDesk_10, Gerente de recepção at PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2011

Dear Guest,
In the name of all our front desk staff and my self, I would like to express our gratitude for your comments at Trip Advisor. These words renew our efforts to cater even better services.
We hope to welcome you again in a near future and if you require any special assistance, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Sincerely,
Luciana Meda
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews