We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's not luxury but for Rio has a very good value for money...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Golden Tulip Ipanema Plaza
Ranked #110 of 282 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“It's not luxury but for Rio has a very good value for money...”
Reviewed August 31, 2012

The hotels in Rio are very expensive and some very outdated. The Ipanema Plaza has a very good value for money.
When you arrived they informed us that we have been given an upgrade what was nice.
This hotel, contrary to some I've been in Rio, doesn't have nice common areas but the room was very nice and spacious with updated decor - and for me room is more important than common areas. From what I see in other reviews there are probably different types of rooms. The pool area is really outdated and it's a pity because it has lots of potential!

Plus:
- Location - very central and you can walk to the beach and lots of stores and restaurants
- Spacious rooms with nice decor
- Free wifi (they said it was free for my type of room despite de annoying fact that needed constant login)

Minus:
- Poor breakfast
- the concierge was always trying to impose on us the hotel taxi when we specifically ask for the normal yellow cab
- Outdated pool area

Room Tip: ask for the renovated rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paulacns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iplaza, Gerente de relações públicas at Golden Tulip Ipanema Plaza, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments in relation to your stay at Ipanema Plaza Hotel.
We are sorry for the inconvenients and we hope making better next time. Will be a plesure to have you here again betimes!
Do not hesitate to contact us for any request.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    525
    275
    117
    78
See reviews for
192
476
89
170
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelos, Portugal
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

...too expensive for what is supposed to be a luxury hotel! The first impression is ok but once in your room you´ll find out this is not definitely a 4-star hotel. Poor and old decoration , curtains and floor a bit dirty! And no free wifi!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mribeir0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iplaza, Gerente de relações públicas at Golden Tulip Ipanema Plaza, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Dear Client,

Thank you to give us your feedback!

Your comments will help us to evaluate our efforts and improve the services extended to our guests. Your observations were considered and for sure your opinions will contribute with our quality standard.

We are sorry for the inconvenients and we hope making better next time. Will be a plesure to have you here again betimes!

Warm Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012

The room was largish and bed was huge. No view from our room so we asked to move and they offered us something else but the room was not as nice so we stayed. Location was good and more importantly it felt very safe. In fact rio was a huge surprise, a wonderful city and very safe, for us at least. We hired bikes and rode around the lagoon and beaches and is a good way to get around. The food and sushi in particular was lovely at the hotel and fairly reasonable in price. As others have commented, don't expect a 5 or even 4 star hotel. BreAkfast was plentiful but just ok. The bathrooms definatley need upgrading into the 21st century but overall not bad. We were advised by our tour operator Imagine Latin America that the hotels in rio are fairly substandard unless you are willing to pay top dollar.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pbwashere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iplaza, Public Relations Manager at Golden Tulip Ipanema Plaza, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Dear Client,

Thank you to give us your feedback.
Your comments will help us to evaluate our efforts and improve the services extended to our guests.

Warm Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Chose this hotel after reading favourable reviews about it on TripAdvisor.

When we got here, we were surprised at how old everything was. Yes it is very close to the beach, about a block away... It is also within walking distance of Rio Metro's Ipanema station. But the room and hotel itself was quite in need of some fixing.

The climate control system within the room was really old fashioned and the air that came out was quite humid and warm. Perhaps the thermostat was spoilt. The fixtures and bed were also a little creaky. Nevertheless, the room was quite big and spacious.

What surprised me the most was that the lights in the corridors would turn off automatically and only come on when triggered by motion sensor. I totally understand that it's supposed to save electricity and so forth, but it made the hotel seem cheap. There are better ways to save electricity, perhaps by using LED lights. Moreover, sometimes the motion sensor was slow and you would have to take quite a few steps in the dark before the lights came on.

The lighting situation summed up the hotel experience, functional but cheap and worn. Yet, the price I paid for the room was not exactly what I'd call value for money. This hotel is not worth the price.

Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Estrellita_21_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iplaza, Public Relations Manager at Golden Tulip Ipanema Plaza, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Dear Client,

Thank you to give us your feedback!

Your comments will help us to evaluate our efforts and improve the services extended to our guests. Your observations were considered and for sure your opinions will contribute with our quality standard.

Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2012

our brazilian friend reccommended ipanema rather than copacabanna as an area to stay and having stayed in ipanema and visited copabanna i would agree, it seems a nicer more sophistcated area.

this hotel is the location if you want to stay right in the middle of the Ipanema. its a block off the beach front. the rooms are decent as is service in general in the hotel. its busy most of the time. Expect to wait until check in time to get your room. the Pool is on the roof and is quite small but adequate you get a good view of CTR from the pool. very good breakfast in the morning with loads of options.

the hotel resturant was pretty good, highly reccommend the apple pan cake and ice cream for dessert

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tompkinscop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iplaza, Public Relations Manager at Golden Tulip Ipanema Plaza, responded to this review, July 20, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your opinion about the Hotel. We are pleased to note that you have enjoyed your stay and look forward to receive you here again soon.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

The hotel is in an excellent location- situated immediately in front of the Ipanema beach and close to lively shopping and great restaurants.

As many other travelers have indicated, the rooms are quite outdated and in need of repair. For example, the furniture and tvs are old, the bathroom tubs are old and our bathroom door was decaying and rotted at the bottom. It can be very disappointing, given the high rates that the hotel charges and the four star rating. I would suggest that travelers check out other hotel options that give you more value for your money.

We also found that the hotel staff would suggest private driver for everything (and possibly were getting "kick backs" for arranging the drives). I suggest that you take taxis with meters everywhere, as there is no need to pay more for a private driver.

Room Tip: Pay extra and stay on the Ipanema floor. It may actually be worth the money!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunflower_2299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iplaza, Public Relations Manager at Golden Tulip Ipanema Plaza, responded to this review, July 20, 2012
Dear Client,

We would like to apologize for the bad impression and thank you for giving your sincerely opinion.

Your comments will help us to evaluate our efforts and improve the services extended to our guests. Your observations were considered and for sure your opinions will contribute with our quality standard.

We are sorry for the inconvenients and we hope making better next time. Will be a plesure to have you here again betimes!

Warm Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, FL
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2012

This is a great hotel if you are visiting Rio for Business or leisure!!!
I was there for Business and stayed for a week...love how close it was to the beach, SAFE, great service and value for the money.
Breakfast is included in your daily stay with a vast variety of everything you can think of...traditional big Brazilian Breakfast!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FAB101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iplaza, Gerente de relações públicas at Golden Tulip Ipanema Plaza, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for posting your opinion about us. We are pleased to note that you have enjoyed your stay and looking forward to receive you here again soon.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Ipanema
Arena Ipanema Hotel
Arena Ipanema Hotel
#31 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
241 reviews
Ipanema
Sol Ipanema Hotel
Sol Ipanema Hotel
#69 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
1,148 reviews
Ipanema
Ipanema Inn
Ipanema Inn
#12 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
1,397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ipanema
Mar Ipanema Hotel
Mar Ipanema Hotel
#83 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
1,185 reviews
Ipanema
BEST WESTERN Premier Arpoador Fashion Hotel
BEST WESTERN Premier Arpoador Fa...
#5 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
268 reviews
Ipanema
Vermont Hotel
Vermont Hotel
#99 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Tulip Ipanema Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Tulip Ipanema Plaza

Property: Golden Tulip Ipanema Plaza
Address: Rua Farme de Amoedo 34, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22420-020, Brazil (Formerly Ipanema Plaza Hotel)
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Ipanema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#50 Luxury Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Tulip Ipanema Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Golden Tulip Ipanema Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ipanema Plaza Hotel Rio De Janeiro
Golden Tulip Rio De Janeiro
Rio De Janeiro Golden Tulip
Golden Tulip Ipanema Plaza Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing