We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solid choice for Copacabana”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hilton Rio de Janeiro Copacabana
Ranked #17 of 286 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed August 1, 2014

We used this hotel as our base for 10 days during the World Cup, which is longer than I spend in most hotels so we got to know it quite well.

Overall its a solid choice, the bedrooms arent spectacular but they are clean and relatively modern, the bathrooms felt a little older and more worn. The service was excellent throughout, the breakfasts were very good, and the location is great if you are looking to be on the Copacabana. Wireless access is good, and housekeeping, laundry etc are very prompt. Excellent and very warm rooftop pool with great views.

However, the structure of the hotel with many rooms, but spread between so many floors with few rooms on each floor, means that you can spend a really long time waiting for elevators, and sound insulation between rooms isnt great. The restaurant offerings I found relatively disappointing, wasnt impressed with the Italian restaurant on the ground floor, and when we ordered a burger from the poolside bar, we got a really poor burger, like one of those frozen patties you get at sports grounds, served along some cold fries, which was a bit surprising.

Overall though, the hotel coped really well with the crowds of the World Cup and I think they did a good job, and we enjoyed our stay here, its a good choice.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Richkangaroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RicardoKawa, Gerente geral at Hilton Rio de Janeiro Copacabana, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your stay at our hotel, especially during the World Cup and brought to our knowledge important impressions.
Surely we still have much to improve and we are seriously focusing on the mission of the Windsor Atlantica delight our customers.
We reiterate our thanks for their valuable collaboration and, already, look for a new opportunity to welcome you in Rio de Janeiro.

Cordially,

Ricardo Kawa
General Manager
Windsor Atlantica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,770)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

633 - 639 of 2,770 reviews

Reviewed July 26, 2014

Our 3 night stay after watching the World Cup was enhanced by the personal attention and service from Eduardo Olivera. Even though we stayed here only because Copacabana Palace was not available but thanks to Eduardo our suite had even better views of Copacabana beach.

A very good large hotel in a great location.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank ZM2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RicardoKawa, Gerente geral at Hilton Rio de Janeiro Copacabana, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for bringing to our knowlegement important impressions refering to your stay at our hotel.
We are really satisfied to know that our services had gone up your expectations.
Our receptionist Eduardo was very pleased with your compliments!
Thank you for your contribution and, since now, we are waiting for the next opportunity to receive you in Rio de Janeiro, where all our staff will be at your entire disposal to guarantee the excellence of our services.

Cordially,

Ricardo Kawa
General Manager
Windsor Atlantica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2014

I stayed at the Atlantica for a week as part of a business trip. I found the hotel excellent - the staff were, uniformly, very helpful; the room had a great view over the Copacabana; free wi-fi that was plenty fast for email and web use. The breakfast (included in the rate) was excellent, with lots of choice and fab omelettes cooked to order; both pools bars were good for drinks and casual dining; and the Italian restaurant on the ground floor was outstanding. As my flight back was a late evening flight, I was offered a late check-out to 2pm for free, or to 6pm for half the room rate, which is better than my travel service could manage. The Atlantica will be my first choice if I'm back in Rio.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
3  Thank Dullardd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RicardoKawa, Gerente geral at Hilton Rio de Janeiro Copacabana, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2014

Dear Mr. Dullard,

Thank you very much for bringing to our acknowledgement important impressions referring to your stay at our hotel.
We are really satisfied to know that our services had gone up your expectations and you had a good time in our hotel.
Since now, we are waiting for the next opportunity to receive you in Rio de Janeiro, specially on your vacation, where all our staff will be at your entire disposal to guarantee the excellence of our services.

Cordially,

Ricardo Kawa
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2014

The hotel is really nice and looks very luxury, also it has a really good location. Unfortunately, the service is not that good, not you would expect from a 5 star hotel. I stayed few times there and I never got anything that could make me feel special.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
Thank Gustavo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RicardoKawa, Gerente geral at Hilton Rio de Janeiro Copacabana, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2014

Dear Mr. Gustavo,

We would like to thank you for bringing to our attention important impressions regarding your visit.

We apologize for any inconvenience occurred during your stay regarding our services due to the high occupancy. Surely we still have much to improve and we are seriously focusing on the mission of the Windsor Atlantica delight our customers.

We reiterate our thanks for their valuable collaboration and, already, look for a new opportunity to welcome you in Rio de Janeiro.

Sincerely,

Ricardo Kawa
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights during the world cup. The hotel is gorgeous, the view of Ipanema is great! We got a 15th floor accesible oceanview room, could see the Fifa Fanfest from our window. Breakfast was great with nice choice and nice service from all team members. I highly recommend

Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank CesarSarz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RicardoKawa, Gerente geral at Hilton Rio de Janeiro Copacabana, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2014

Dear Mr. Sarz,

Thank you very much for your comments, especially about our location and services!
We are lucky to receive great events just in front of our hotel often.
Since now, we are waiting for the next opportunity to receive you in Rio de Janeiro, where all our staff will be at your entire disposal to guarantee the excellence of our services.

Cordially,

Ricardo Kawa
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2014

The hotel used to be a Les Meridiens, and it still keeps much of their standards, although on a lower end.
The location is fantastic, since it's situated in the best part of Cpacabana, not the buisiest.
Rooms are spacious and clean, although lacking some personality.
Breakfast is amazing, for variety, quality, and view!
Price is quite high, but considering also the wonderful breakfast was included I would say it's fair.
Lots of staff everywhere, included security.
Airconditioning was kind of noisy, and no air condition at all was in the elevators. In the summer, that could be a bit annoying.

Room Tip: Ask for a beachfront room, on a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Rosalita_65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RicardoKawa, Gerente geral at Hilton Rio de Janeiro Copacabana, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2014

Dear Mrs. Rosalita,

Thank you for your comments, especially about our location and the breakfast.
Since now, we are waiting for the next opportunity to receive you in Rio de Janeiro, where all our staff will be at your entire disposal to guarantee the excellence of our services.

Cordially,

Ricardo Kawa
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

We had a wonderful stay at this hotel. The staff are friendly and professional. Great views. Great breakfast. Highly recommend. Special thanks to Maria at reception for making sure we could keep the same room after we extended our stay in Rio.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank D S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RicardoKawa, Gerente geral at Hilton Rio de Janeiro Copacabana, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for bringing to our knowlegement important impressions refering to your stay at our hotel.
We are really satisfied to know that our services had gone up your expectations.
Our receptionist Maria was very pleased with your compliments!
Thank you for your contribution and, since now, we are waiting for the next opportunity to receive you in Rio de Janeiro, where all our staff will be at your entire disposal to guarantee the excellence of our services.

Cordially,

Ricardo Kawa
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Copacabana
Belmond Copacabana Palace
Belmond Copacabana Palace
#3 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
3,378 reviews
Sheraton Grand Rio Hotel & Resor...
#24 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
1,632 reviews
Copacabana
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
#1 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
2,489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Copacabana
JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro
JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro
#16 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
2,272 reviews
Ipanema
Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Ipanema
Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Ipanema
#45 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
1,767 reviews
Copacabana
PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel
PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel
#18 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
2,407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Rio de Janeiro Copacabana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Rio de Janeiro Copacabana

Address: Avenida Atlantica, 1020, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22010-000, Brazil (Formerly Windsor Atlantica Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#2 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#2 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#2 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#9 Spa Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#16 Luxury Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range: $193 - $615 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Rio de Janeiro Copacabana 5*
Number of rooms: 545
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the ultimate vacation on the world-famous Copacabana Beach. Hilton Rio de Janeiro Copacabana is the biggest hotel in town and offers 545 guest rooms - 85% of them with ocean view, 36 flexible meeting rooms, two sparkling swimming pools, a full-service wellness spa, restaurants and bars, and beachside service at Copacabana’s waterfront. In addition, the hotel provides an enviable location near, local attractions, multiple dining options within walking distance, downtown and international and local airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Rio de Janeiro Copacabana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windsor Atlantica Hotel Rio De Janeiro
Iberostar Rio De Janeiro
Iberostar Hotel Copacabana
Hilton Rio De Janeiro Copacabana Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing